We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style & substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Ranked #33 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I really enjoyed my stay- this is a very romantic, chic hotel. Design is modern but still very comfortable. The bed is amazingly comfortable. The hotel is in an old building that has been completely refurbished so it has the charm and style of old with the amenties of new. Free internet was great, really topnotch shower, and the absolute best hairdryer I have ever had at a hotel! It was professional grade. I was there on business and business travelers should ask for a room with a desk as mine did not have one. I thought the front desk staff that worked the night shift at the hotel were especially warm and helpful, especially with my late night calls to get internet passwords, wakeup calls, morning taxis, etc. The location could not be better.

Room Tip: Ask for rm 410! But only if you are solo or with a significant other as the tub is in the open part...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
Thank sfbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Hospes' location is great. Close to good shopping in Salamanca district, to trendy Chueca and to the museums. Different kinds of restaurants are very near. Try Recoletos Street, and you will find all sorts of choices, from trendy La Cesta to Moroccan Al Munia. The front view to Puerta de Alcala is Madrid at its best, makes you want to start out walking and enjoy it. The staff at the Hospes is very helpful, we arrived on an early transatlantic flight, at 8:00 am, earlier than check in time and they let us use the relaxing beds at the spa so we could take a nap to help us with our jet lag until our room was ready. The rooms are weill appointed, though as in other hotels I find there are too many digital lights (phone, tv, night lights) for my liking as I prefer to sleep in a very dark room. They have a two level room which we were originally assigned but we found its low ceiling somewhat oppresive and upon our request they immediately changed it to a one level room.

Room Tip: Two level rooms with beamed low ceilings are a bit claustrophobic and you have to go up a stair to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megustaviajar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Modern, Small and hipe hotel in puerta de Alcala. Great Service, close to atocha.
Aree is really nice as you are close to the main points, but without the traffic and noise.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpremoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

A truly wonderful hotel with warm and welcoming staff who could not do enough for you. We stayed here in early September in a beautiful suite on the top floor.

As this was part of our tour of Spanish cities, we had been very careful in our choice of hotels, yet this hotel was still the best we stayed in by some distance.

If you are looking for a small 5* + hotel this is the place to go in Madrid. We shall return!

If only for the excellent chilled glass of champagne on arrival

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Very hip, wonderful mod furnishings. Incredibly kind and helpful staff that figured out how to accommodate our family of four by giving us the room with the fold-out sofa (surprisingly comfy). Very close to the Retiro Park and two great playgrounds within it. Was a great balance of hipster for mom and dad and close to playground for kids.

The only negative is that the pool was very, very small and located in a very tight space in the basement so you couldn't even really hang out by it. It was also pretty warm, so not good for children or much use at all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeepBeepBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This was the 3rd hospes we stayed in(after cordoba & Seville) and all were excellent.this was the best
great location rooms & service.
Had one breakfast & one dinner and both great.
The hotel gave us good suggestions for restaurants ( including dassa bassa see sep review).
There is also a spa in which I had a nice massage.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustralianJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Modern, efficient, beautiful old building on the outside. Excellent position opposite the Retiro park an a smart, clean area of Madrid. Had a deluxe room, the design of which was a little "quirky" - very large room but no drawer units for clothes; open plan wardrobe; no desk or obvious place to use/charge laptops etc. However, very comfortable. Breakfast somewhat pricey/ lovely outside terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#9 of 438 in Madrid
849 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,059 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 438 in Madrid
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#16 of 438 in Madrid
479 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#46 of 438 in Madrid
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Address: Plaza Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
#19 Family Hotel in Madrid
#27 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £160 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelClick, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing