We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel In Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Ranked #40 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Hotel is very nice and the staff are the best we have seen in all of Europe. It was our 47th. wedding anniversary and the front desk and kitchen staff made us feel very welcome. They sent up a cake and flowers the night we arrived. For our entire stay they took care of us. The food was above the rest. We ate dinner and lunch outside facing a beautiful park. The tour bus,taxi,and city bus stopped out front. We want to go back to this Hotel . One morning at breakfast the Hotel chain CEO stopped at our table on his way out after a meeting and talked to us for 15 plus minutes. He had many stories and made us feel most very welcome. Of course my wife kept saying " you have told every one in this place that we came to Madrid for our Honeymoon 47 years ago" I truly think they would have been just as nice if I had not told them.they were nice to everyone else. Go enjoy this special location in Madrid. My name is David Heaphy

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hafey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We only stayed here one night, but really liked it. The front desk was very personable, and you are treated to a glass of Champagne while you check in. The room was surprisingly large, and well appointed. It had a bed, sofa large shower, separate bathtub. You can walk to virtually everything. there are very hip bars right outside the front door that were always busy. Major shopping is right around the corner. The hotel itself is small, and there seems to be two "wings", although the are very close to each other. WiFi is complimentary.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdh528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

While it is true the location is very convenient to many of the sights in Madrid this is also true of many hotels in Madrid. I think this place is overpriced and is not outstanding in service.
The room I had was 107. It was quiet and large with no view. Premium price for not so premium price. There can be noise from guests coming and going in the hallway. The place seems to be lacking that special extra that would make it 5 star.
The worst part of the room was the moldy smelling shower. This is a design problem. The floor of the shower is a platform of marble slabs, the water drains under thes slabs. There is no way to clean a shower floor like this hence the smell. The mattress is worn out and needs to be replaced. The AC was good and not too loud. Think I paid 5 euros for a bag of chips and the bottled water was not free. Wifi was included.
Over all the Ritz or Westin are better choices. I was not impressed with this place.

Room Tip: Do not eat at the restaurant associated with the hotel. I have to say this was one of the worst meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert4704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This Hotel was fantastic, the location was walking distance from all major attractions. The Room we stayed in was large, stylish and most importantly very clean. The breakfast was NOT included but coffee and breakfast were right at the doorstep outside, literally. Highly recommend this hotel for what you get the rates are very reasonable. The beds were so comfy that it made it hard to get out of them in the morning.

Room Tip: Turn right outside and keep walking you will come to just about everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bornabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Popped over to Madrid for three days to see family and stayed here. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly especially Jaime who welcomed me at the door and made a point of being very helpful throughout my stay. Room was lovely. Everywhere was very clean and looked attractive and had a fairly relaxed boutique feel. Location is superb and walking distance to a lot of the places many would want to see here incl Retiro Park (opp hotel), Prado, etc. Bed comfy, room quiet and slept well. Would stay here again

Room Tip: 306 v good and quiet but looks on to internal courtyard - still pleasant view but some may want to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espealevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Hotel Hospes is a gorgeous hotel. The staff while a little remote and not particularly friendly they are accommodating. When we arrived we were given a room the faced internal courtyards, we complained were given an amazing room with a view of the park. Room 101. The hotel pool is tiny and almost subterranean but I was the only one in it when I used it and it was very relaxing. We did not eat in the hotel but sat on the terrace and had a drink which was very pleasant. The bar and restaurant next door is very popular and stays open late. We were not at all bothered by noise. A bus tour of the city leaves right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maprik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Wonderful hotel with a fabulous staff in the best location in Madrid. I had a beautiful room. Service at the hotel was excellent. There is also a little (and i mean little) gym and indoor pool at the hotel. They were a bit confining though. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: i had a room on the back side that was nice and quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#6 of 443 in Madrid
884 reviews
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#17 of 443 in Madrid
496 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 443 in Madrid
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Barrio Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 443 in Madrid
650 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#53 of 443 in Madrid
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Address: Plaza Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
#34 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £165 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing