We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great room in a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Ranked #26 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great room in a great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had very good service at the Hospes and loved our room. The bed and linens were super comfy and the raised platform bedroom, complete with gorgeous bathtub and huge marble shower, were fantastic.
Complementary juice/wine/cava in the lobby are a nice touch.
Great choice for a stay in Madrid and a great location.
The pool is very small and in a dark interior room so it wasn't of use to us- don't expect sunbathing areas here but there is a small spa that you could make use of.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    192
    52
    15
    15
See reviews for
113
360
36
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this excellent hotel for two nights and were very impressed immediately we stepped in.

The hotel is excellently located at plaza de la independencia with access to the musuem triangle, retiro park and good shopping at Salamanca. It is also very close to the ever busy Gran Via area.

You are welcomed with drinks from champagne, fruit juice and water. Receptionists and other staff are very polite and willing to help and answer all your questions.

The interior decor of the hotel is most impressive and I couldn't stop taking pictures. The rooms are very spacious. Incidentally we stayed in the Dreamers room which is the smallest room in he hotel but at 29sqm is much bigger than the most of the rooms you get in hotels in Europe.

The room though it didnt face the beautiful plaza was very well decorated with lots of marble finishing. Really found it hard to appreciate other reviews that complained that the room and bathroom were not demarcated. This is far from reality. The only thing you can see from the bed are the wonderful marble sinks which are just ahead of a thick glass demarcating the shower and toilet area. I must say the shower is the best I have used. Very good pressure and lots of space in the shower area.

I strongly recommend this hotel if you want luxury at a good price in an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dupri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMBRIDGE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked this hotel for a weekend stay in Madrid based on trip advisor reviews and was really thrilled with our choice. Location is perfect - walkable to everywhere you could want to go and absolutely in the heart of lovely old Madrid. Staff really friendly and charming. But what really surprised me was how nice our rooms were (and we were only the Dreamer category). My son had an exterior facing room on the second floor which was absolutely stunning. Very mild road noise but not a major problem. We opted for an interior room expecting to have one of those non views out the back. Actually we had a lovely view across rooftops with plenty of sunlight streaming in. Both lovely with great bathrooms (open plan note). Spa is small and not quite as special as the pictures but does the trick very nicely if you want a quick steam and plunge. We didn't opt for breakfast in and found a great place nearby (turn down Serrano and then take first right - has pretty painted iron tables outside it and a great breakfast menu with fresh juices etc). Restaurant recommendation Tenten - taken there by some local friends and clearly the place to be seen. Very chic! All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cranmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Really loved this hotel. Nothing to fault. Nothing too much trouble for all of the staff, even providing us with white napkins to take with us to the Bullfight. Room and bathroom fabulous. Loved the bath! Choice of wonderful restaurants on the pavement right outside the hotel overlooking Plaza de la Independezia and Retiro Park (walk in the Park a must do).Sightseeing bus stop also in front of hotel. Five minute walk to Prado. Breakfast room and food choices excellent. Unfortunately did not have time to take advantage of welcome massage and use of Spa facilities. Next time! Also stayed in Hospes hotel in Seville and really like this chain.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is truly in one of the best locations in Madrid. Very close to metro, close to Retiro park, all the museums, restaurants, cafes.
Luxurious room with turn down service. My room was very large and bright and I paid for the cheapest available room on Orbitz. I did not have a view of Puerta de Alcala but I had a nice bright view of a courtyard. The bathrooms are wonderful. I read some negative reviews from guests about the bathroom being too open and I'm not sure what bothers them. The toilet and shower have doors. The only thing open to view are beautiful marble sinks.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The first few days they didn't have a room key for me because the last guest had lost it. That was a little bit of an annoyance but one of the staff at the desk, Tiago, was able to replace it without any problems after a couple of days. I didn't have a converter for my iphone but they had one. Also they were kind enough to stamp my postcard with no charge.
Best tip is bus to airport that has a main stop at Plaza Cibeles (not even a 5 minute walk from this hotel). Costs 5 euros and runs every 15-20 minutes. No reservations needed.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 206. i read other reviews about some rooms being too dark and having a very bad view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellera781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel in a great location -- we hope to back to this location or one of the other locations in Spain. The hospes is a luxury boutique hotel --walk to the prado and the Salamanca neighborhood. The rooms were lovely and the staff outstanding. A great experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Opinioned_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Loved this place, it was like a home away from home!
The room although small was cosy, but the bathroom definitely made up for it! Lovely deep roll top bath and rain shower wet room! Just what you need on a cool winter/ spring evening!
The hotel f&b outlets were good enough, continental breakfast buffet with a small (but good) selection of items. The decor of theplace was stunning and i loved the quirkiness of the tiny corridors andto top it off it's next door is the Philippe Starck venue - Ramses, which is great for people watching, although quite pretentious!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viciousb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#42 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#25 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#10 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#28 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Property: Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Address: Plaza Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
#19 Family Hotel in Madrid
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing