We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Ranked #34 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel and thought it was great apart from the spa which was so so. The location is perfect, right next to the park and walking distance to all the sites, and if you don't like walking the metro is just round the corner. We had breakfast one of the days and it was very nice, buffet style as well as eggs however you want them. Our room was a good size with a large shower and nice decor, only bug bear was slightly noisy plumbing in the night, only occasionally though. The spa has a very small pool which they call a jacuzzi but is only luke warm at best. The steam room again is small but worked better than expected. The gym has a running machine, cross trainer and bike, with free weights up to 10kg, would be good if they went to 20kg. We found the staff amazing, very helpful and friendly. We went for a run one morning and when we returned they had bottled water and towels ready. We'd definitely consider staying here again, even more so if they revamped the spa and gym.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jdsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your kind feedback on your recent visit to The Hotel Hospes Madrid. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the experience and how highly you valued the rooms, the breakfast, the location and the service from our teams.
I am really concerned regarding your disappointment with the spa and the gym, for that reason we are going to provided heavier weights in our gym. Your opinion matters a lot for us.
Thank you again for taking some of your valuable time to share a comment with us.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon during your next stay in Madrid.

Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

The perfect location, expansive rooms, and personal customer service made this a memorable and favorable stay in Madrid. A great place for a unique meeting or personal getaway - loved the view of Plaze de la Indepencia from my room balcony and access to Retiro Park and many wonderful cafes, restaurants, and museums. The staff were very helpful and accomodating - special thanks to Lucia!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Rachel,
Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for sharing such a flattering comment with us.
We are very pleased to read that our hotel and staff pleased you so much. I will personally thank Lucia our Sales Manager and the rest of the staff for the special welcome they gave you and for having made you feel so comfortable.
Thank you again Rachel for sharing your experience with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment you get through the automatic doors at Hospes all the traffic noise from the busy road outside disappears. The clean, modern decor is beautifully done and the staff are friendly and polite. I loved the room, particularly the luxurious bathroom which is what you want in a hotel! Shame the shower design leads to a bit of a damp smell, but a small complaint. Recommended to friends who stayed there recently and agreed. Great hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hayley_GLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest,

First of all thanks a lot for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for sharing a positive comment with us.
I am happy to know that our hotel pleased you so much and that your stay went that well. We wish to welcome you back again for your next stay in Madrid.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and for recommending our hotel.

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is in a great location in the Plaza de la Independencia across from Retiro Park. It is in Barrio Salamanca with many dining options. The beds are very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are inconsistent in size. Some are very spacious and some are very small. Storage can be an issue, because there are no drawers, but the biggest drawback is that the bathrooms are completely open to the bedrooms. If you are not traveling with a spouse or significant other, it can be uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment! I am really pleased that you have chosen our hotel and to see that our staff, our location and services made your stay memorable.
Our bathrooms have a very unique style characteristic of Hospes. We regret any discomfort you may have had.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Miguel A. Molina
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is truly a gem! Bit on the pricey side but very has nice facilities, incredible staff and fantastic location. My wife and I stayed for four nights at the Hospes on our first trip ever to Madrid. The hotel staff made this a very positive and memorable experience for us. Special thanks to Maria, Gabriela, Julio and Cesar who clearly understand hospitality and guest service. They took care of us the whole way right from getting cabs to making all kinds of restaurant and show reservations for us. We really appreciated this a lot since we dont speak Spanish, which can make travelling in Spain somewhat challenging. Highly recommend this hotel for both business and liesure - I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashmanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Mr: Ashmanian,
First of all I would like to thank you for your positive comment about your last stay in our Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay a lot and that our staff made you feel comfortable.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back during your next stay in Madrid.
Best Regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is very well situated for the city centre and attractions but also near Retiro Park which is a lovely wide open space to relax in. The hotel is well appointed, the beds are especially comfortable, breakfast very good and the staff could not be more helpful. only drawback was the spa which is very small and the pool is freezing so not conducive to relaxing. Steam room also very small and changing facilities very limited. we had a lovely massage which was part of a deal to include luck or dinner in the hotel restaurant - well worth looking into.

Room Tip: we were in a room on a central atrium which was tall and narrow so the room tended to be a bit dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniepannie510815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you a lot for your positive comment about our Hotel Hospes Madrid. I am very happy to see that you had a good stay in our hotel.
I regret your disappointment in our spa. I will take measures so that this incident doesn’t happen again.

Thank you again for your comment and for helping us to improve our services.
Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just got back from a girls weekend in Madrid. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. The hotel staff was amazing and so helpful. Lucas greeted us at the door, taking our coats and offering us a drink right away. We were clearly exhausted and he took no time to get us settled in. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The whole staff was extremely helpful.
If you are looking to visit Madrid, I highly recommend this hotel. It's close to the metro and is located right across from the park. I have traveled a lot in europe and this hotel is by far one of my favorites. Would definitely go back if I return to Madrid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment about your last stay in our hotel Hospes Madrid and for recommending our hotel for business traveller. Your opinion matters a lot for us.
It would be with great pleasure that we shall welcome you again to our hotel during your next stay in Madrid.

Best Regards

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#9 of 440 in Madrid
850 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 440 in Madrid
1,071 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#16 of 440 in Madrid
482 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#35 of 440 in Madrid
2,222 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 440 in Madrid
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Address: Plaza Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
#19 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £158 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing