We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a weekend stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Ranked #27 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect for a weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hospes for the weekend and thought it was terrific. The location is really great, based in a lively location where you can sit outside and have a few drinks people watching! Everything is within walking distance and it is well positioned for the park (2 mins), up market shops around the corner (2 mins), musuems (10 mins), centre of town (15-20 mins) and even the royal palace (30 mins). Taxis are pretty cheap in Madrid anyway so getting around is not a problem. I was in two minds about booking this hotel as I was staying in another business chain hotel during the week and I am so glad I decided to book into the Hospes. My previous hotel was souless and unbelievably, had no air condition till May! So it was such a pleasure to check into the Hospes that had real character. The room we had was so nice - very modern but boutique in style - I much prefer this to the international chains. The bed was very comfortable and there was lots of room. The bathroom was also very nice. Also, air conditioning worked well! Only strange thing was that there was a large cupboard to hang clothes but little, to no drawers to put away our clothes. Not a problem for a weekend stay but may be annoying if you have a big bag of cothes that you want to unpack. Free WiFi was a big plus even though it was a bit slow. Staff were very friendly and helpful, taking care of restaurant bookings (even changing it for us when we wanted somewhere different), Flamenco show and recommending where to walk/visit. Overall, if you are visiting Madrid as a tourist, I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen The Hotel Hospes Madrid and for your wonderful and kind words following your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a memorable moment in our hotel and that you loved its facilities, location and staff.
Thank you also for saying that our hotel has a real character and for highly recommending it.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again for your next stay in Madrid.

Warm regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    190
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
105
355
35
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We often visit Madrid and have stayed at a number of hotels in the past, most of them very good, but none as good as this.
The Hotel is a converted historical residential building on the Plaza de Independencia, right by the Puerta de Alcalá; so very central. The character of the rooms, with high decorated ceilings has been very well retained, together with beautifully integrated modern accessories, bathrooms en suite, a very comfortable bed and impressively sound-proofed large windows and balcony onto the Plaza itself.
Downstairs there is a spa area, very friendly service and a busy "chriinguito" bar on the pavement outside, from where to watch life go by. I think it is fair to say that the hotel does not major on restaurant eating, but there are so many good places to eat in Madrid - even for breakfast.
EWe enjoyed this hotel and will stay there again.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the plaza de Independencia (rather than the courtyard) had a nice view and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review of your recent stay at the Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your time in our hotel and I am very delighted to read that you found the service and the staff amazing. It is really flattering to read that you consider our hotel as that best in Madrid!
Indeed I am really glad and proud that you loved the architecture and decorations as well as our services and team.
Thank you again for posting such a complimentary comment on trip advisor.
I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Madrid.

Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Me and my family, stayed here for a couple of days. From the start to our departure everything was amazing, the staff were extremely helpful and beyond accommodating, the food was extrordinary and all around just incredible! I really appreciate the setting, the rooms ! The only negative is that we couldn't stay more, if we are in Madrid again we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen The Hotel Hospes Madrid and for sharing such an amazing review with us.
I am delighted when I read that everything during your stay has been wonderful! I will personally thank our staff members for having made your visit such a marvellous experience.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.

Sincerely,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel looks and feels great as soon as you see it. The location is fantastic, lots of restaurants, cafes shops and lovely streets to explore all round it. There is an area to sit out at the front which has a great buzz to it, the staff are extremely friendly, and the room was very modern and clean - oh, and the room service to bring coffe in the morning was quick and the coffee delicious... can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank za1782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a flattering comment with us!
Your experience sounds faultless, we are so pleased and proud to have exceeded your expectations and so thankful that you chose to share your enjoyment. Your loyalty is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay in Madrid to have once again such an amazing stay.

Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel has great reviews and mine will only add to them. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. The hotel was an oasis in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Our room was number 400 on the top floor. The view was awful it looked onto other windows into a central courtyard. We were happy to sacrifice the view for peace and quiet - not sure you would get that facing into the triad lower down the floors. We didn't use the gym or spa so can't comment on those facilities. Breakfast was good as was the dinner we had outside. Would definitely go back if we were in madrid again.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up would be quieter especially if not road facing but you do sacrifice this fir a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoshbirdCrowthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback following your recent stay at The Hotel Hospes Madrid.
We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the location of our hotel and with the room facilities. I am also glad our restaurant pleased you and that you found our staff very friendly and attentive. I will personally share your comment with our concerned team members. We sincerely apologize for the view from your room but we are happy you enjoyed your stay in a quiet and peaceful environment.
Thank you once again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to our intimate hotel.

Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

On a whim I decided to spend a long weekend in Madrid, and several friends recommended Hospes Madrid. From the moment I arrived until I left for the airport the entire staff went well beyond the service one would find at better known properties.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for well appointed public and hotel rooms, as well as 5 star service.

Room Tip: I would suggest a high floor overlooking the Plaza. Heavy drapes and well insulated windows keep an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aeromfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your recent stay at the Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I am very delighted to read that you found the service and the staff amazing.
It is very much appreciated to see this feedback and we certainly hope to welcome you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.
Thank you again for this flattering comment and for recommending our hotel.

With kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Hospes for a weekend in Madrid. The location was absolutely perfect for us. The staff was kind and the rooms were nice. Our room unfortunately looked into an air shaft in all directions, though we were on the top floor, so that would really be the only negative.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for taking some of your time to share a positive comment with us.
I am very pleased to know that your had a very satisfying stay in our hotel and that you found our staff kind and our rooms nice.
Nevertheless I am also concerned regarding your disappointment with the air shaft you had in the room. For that reason I will make sure that this inconvenience will be arranged very soon so that this doesn’t happen again.
Thank you again for sharing this comment with us and for helping us improve our services.

Sincerely,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#42 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#25 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#10 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Property: Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Address: Plaza Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
#19 Family Hotel in Madrid
#22 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing