We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Ranked #26 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely boutique 5 star hotel. Great location to Salamanca and the park.
Well appointed rooms. Very nice spa facility.friendly staff.
All in all given its 5 star rating and location it was also great value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for having taking some of your valuable time to share such a comment with us.
I am really pleased you have found our facilities and staff nice and friendly.
Thank you again and I hope we will welcome you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.

Sincerely,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    196
    52
    15
    15
See reviews for
114
365
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I just spent nearly a week here for our delayed honeymoon. The hotel was recommended by a local friend and we are glad we took their last minute advice. Our room was spacious, modern and uber comfortable. Loved the rain shower, plush bed and large windows. that made the room feel bright and joyful. We had a feeling of privacy and calmness in the hotel which was welcomed as we jam-packed our days visiting everything Madrid had to offer. The hotel was a quiet retreat from all the hustle and bustle outside. The location was key as we could easily walk to the museums, the park across the street, shopping around the block and metro less than one block away. But what we will take away more than anything is the exceptional service. It was just the right dose of personalized attentiveness and guest privacy. They really listened to us and made the effort to anticipate any of our potential needs. For example, we were running in a half marathon so asked the day before for location of a supermarket to get some things for breakfast as room service didn't start till 7 am. They quickly modified their staffing, asked us to make our selections and confirmed 6 am delivery ... then to our surprise when we got in the room they had left us a runner's snack pack wishing us well. Everyday they did something to facilitate our stay. Whether it was booking show reservations, recommending off the beaten path must see places in the city, helping us schedule our days or delivering our post cards .... in a few short days they gained our trust. We will most certainly return to his hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatriceThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid for your last stay in our city and for having taken some of your valuable time to share a such a comment with us.
We are greatly pleased to know that you have found our services and staff outstanding.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.

Warm regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a Deluxe room.

Negatives:
- Too many lights all over the place in the room: they were complicated to control and unnecessary. - There weren't enough lights in the corridor of the room, so you couldn't see into the minibar, the wardrobe or the mirror for getting dressed, drying your hair, etc.
- The monsoon style shower head was underpowered.
- We didn't enjoy our meal in the restaurant, which we took on the terrace. We felt it was overpriced for what it was and didn't feel that comfortable. Don't order cocktails - they are pre-mixed and are therefore a rip-off at 12 euros a pop.
- We weren't very impressed with the complimentary toiletries provided in the room. They weren't very nice to use.
- We didn't use the spa area at all during our stay. We would have used the sauna, but it was locked and couldn't find anyone to unlock it.
- The bar area was always unstaffed whenever we popped in.
- The lack of signing anywhere and general desertion didn't make the hotel feel very welcoming.
- The staff weren't interested in chatting to us or helping us organise stuff - this does contradict other people's reviews, though.

Positives:
- Really excellent breakfast - Spanish style as you would hope, with lots of meats and cheese.
- Lovely bar/terrace area on the pavement looking onto the Puerta de Alcala. Better for people watching rather than good though, as said above.
- Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel is a huge bonus. And it was of decent enough speed.
- Location: Right opposite the Retiro Park which is gorgeous. Very close to the Metro. Within walking distance of the Prado.
- Very good housekeeping staff.
- Comfortable bed.
- Very quiet room, which is surprising given it's location next to the Plaza de la Independencia and next to the busy bar, Ramses.
- The Sushishop restaurant/take-out place around the corner - incredibly delicious and good value sushi.
- The room was spacious. It is open plan, which may not work for some. The bedroom area opens directly onto the bathroom, which has a huge egg-shaped bath, a separate shower and a toilet cubicle with bidet.
- The hotel felt very quiet, and the only time we ever saw other guests were a couple of tables at breakfast. This was despite a staff member telling us they were fully booked, so we were impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you a lot for sharing a comment with us and for having chosen the Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am pleased to read that generally, your stay has been satisfying. Your opinion matters a lot so I will fix the little discomforts you had so that these don’t happen again.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon in our hotel.
Sincerely,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Tried this property for a change as I visit Madrid fairly frequently, overall I liked it and will return. The highlights include a fairly spacious room, surprisingly quiet giving the busy location set in a peaceful block that feels like a mansion block. The staff are very helpful and the location is absolutely perfect for the central Madrid hot spots, day or night. The bar and breakfast facilities aren't great but there are so many options within minutes walk. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the comment you’ve posted about your stay in our Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am very happy to see that our hotel’s room, staff and location satisfied you a lot.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We just spent Easter weekend in Madrid traveling with our two young sons (ages 3 and 1). We stayed in a double room, and it was modern, sleek, and very large- large enough for an extra bed and a baby cot in addition to the couches in the room. Very comfortable. The air con was also comfortable, the bed was huge, and the bathroom was luxurious. The location is superb, right on the corner of Retiro Park, a 5 minute walk from the museums, and a 15-20 minute walk from the Old Town area, though getting a cab at the hotel is no problem at all. The breakfast laid out is a very impressive spread- I didn't need lunch after, and we did have one late lunch at the hotel's cafe. I would say it is better suited for drinks and people watching than the food, as there are so many great places to eat in Madrid. Finally, the staff was so warm and hospitable, and treated our children like little princes. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and provide information to us about what would be good to do with the kids. We were really pleased with the hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaNDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you a lot for sharing a positive comment with us and for having chosen the Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am pleased to read that everything has been perfect during your last stay in our hotel. I will personally thank the staff for the good attention they gave you.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hospes for the weekend and thought it was terrific. The location is really great, based in a lively location where you can sit outside and have a few drinks people watching! Everything is within walking distance and it is well positioned for the park (2 mins), up market shops around the corner (2 mins), musuems (10 mins), centre of town (15-20 mins) and even the royal palace (30 mins). Taxis are pretty cheap in Madrid anyway so getting around is not a problem. I was in two minds about booking this hotel as I was staying in another business chain hotel during the week and I am so glad I decided to book into the Hospes. My previous hotel was souless and unbelievably, had no air condition till May! So it was such a pleasure to check into the Hospes that had real character. The room we had was so nice - very modern but boutique in style - I much prefer this to the international chains. The bed was very comfortable and there was lots of room. The bathroom was also very nice. Also, air conditioning worked well! Only strange thing was that there was a large cupboard to hang clothes but little, to no drawers to put away our clothes. Not a problem for a weekend stay but may be annoying if you have a big bag of cothes that you want to unpack. Free WiFi was a big plus even though it was a bit slow. Staff were very friendly and helpful, taking care of restaurant bookings (even changing it for us when we wanted somewhere different), Flamenco show and recommending where to walk/visit. Overall, if you are visiting Madrid as a tourist, I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen The Hotel Hospes Madrid and for your wonderful and kind words following your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a memorable moment in our hotel and that you loved its facilities, location and staff.
Thank you also for saying that our hotel has a real character and for highly recommending it.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again for your next stay in Madrid.

Warm regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We often visit Madrid and have stayed at a number of hotels in the past, most of them very good, but none as good as this.
The Hotel is a converted historical residential building on the Plaza de Independencia, right by the Puerta de Alcalá; so very central. The character of the rooms, with high decorated ceilings has been very well retained, together with beautifully integrated modern accessories, bathrooms en suite, a very comfortable bed and impressively sound-proofed large windows and balcony onto the Plaza itself.
Downstairs there is a spa area, very friendly service and a busy "chriinguito" bar on the pavement outside, from where to watch life go by. I think it is fair to say that the hotel does not major on restaurant eating, but there are so many good places to eat in Madrid - even for breakfast.
EWe enjoyed this hotel and will stay there again.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the plaza de Independencia (rather than the courtyard) had a nice view and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review of your recent stay at the Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your time in our hotel and I am very delighted to read that you found the service and the staff amazing. It is really flattering to read that you consider our hotel as that best in Madrid!
Indeed I am really glad and proud that you loved the architecture and decorations as well as our services and team.
Thank you again for posting such a complimentary comment on trip advisor.
I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Madrid.

Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#42 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#24 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#10 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Property: Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Address: Plaza Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
#19 Family Hotel in Madrid
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing