We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Ranked #34 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed two nights over a weekend. Lovely room on the back of the hotel, spacious with a pleasant outlook - nice and quiet at night. Breakfast was great - with a good choice of 'European' and typical Spanish food. We sat out in the Terrace bar and enjoyed the shade of the trees for breakfast and then again later in the evening with a Gin and Tonic from the wide selection.

Location was great, either for walking or the City Tour bus stopped outside on either of its two routes.

The staff couldn't do enough for you in a polite cheerful manner.

Excellent. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicG301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you a lot for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for sharing your experience with us.
We are really pleased to read that everything went perfectly during your stay and that you would stay again.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Madrid.
Sincerely,
Miguel A. Molina
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the room, spacious and stylish...lovely touches. Staff were friendly and professional. We enjoyed our lunch sitting outside, food and service was super. Would happily return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dancingjuicylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you a lot for having chosen Hospes Madrid and for sharing such a great review!
I am really happy to read that our rooms, staff and terrace pleased you so much. I will personally congratulate the team for the good attention they gave you.
I thank you once again for your comment and also for recommending our hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.
Kind regards,
Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hospes Hotel with my husband.Excellent location and easy walking distances to most attractions,great place to sit and watch the world go by.Rooms well appointed and breakfast very good quality.
The hotel staff however are what made me give this a five star rating, they were very welcoming and friendly.A brief conversation in passing with a staff member in the lift resulted in a recommended a little hidden alleyway full of delightful restaurants to eat in at night that we would never have found by ourselves.
We asked to move rooms due to an oversight on our behalf when booking as I needed a bath due to mobility problems and the room we were given had a shower. The staff saw to this as soon as possible and returned from our day out to find all our luggage moved and our room upgraded at no extra cost.
I have no hesitations on recommending this hotel and only wish our stay could have been longer.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for sharing such a review !
We are really pleased to read that you loved our hotel and our team. I will personally congratulate them for having made you feel comfortable.
Thank you again for this review and for recommending our hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon in Hospes Madrid.

Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely boutique 5 star hotel. Great location to Salamanca and the park.
Well appointed rooms. Very nice spa facility.friendly staff.
All in all given its 5 star rating and location it was also great value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryanbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for having taking some of your valuable time to share such a comment with us.
I am really pleased you have found our facilities and staff nice and friendly.
Thank you again and I hope we will welcome you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.

Sincerely,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I just spent nearly a week here for our delayed honeymoon. The hotel was recommended by a local friend and we are glad we took their last minute advice. Our room was spacious, modern and uber comfortable. Loved the rain shower, plush bed and large windows. that made the room feel bright and joyful. We had a feeling of privacy and calmness in the hotel which was welcomed as we jam-packed our days visiting everything Madrid had to offer. The hotel was a quiet retreat from all the hustle and bustle outside. The location was key as we could easily walk to the museums, the park across the street, shopping around the block and metro less than one block away. But what we will take away more than anything is the exceptional service. It was just the right dose of personalized attentiveness and guest privacy. They really listened to us and made the effort to anticipate any of our potential needs. For example, we were running in a half marathon so asked the day before for location of a supermarket to get some things for breakfast as room service didn't start till 7 am. They quickly modified their staffing, asked us to make our selections and confirmed 6 am delivery ... then to our surprise when we got in the room they had left us a runner's snack pack wishing us well. Everyday they did something to facilitate our stay. Whether it was booking show reservations, recommending off the beaten path must see places in the city, helping us schedule our days or delivering our post cards .... in a few short days they gained our trust. We will most certainly return to his hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatriceThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid for your last stay in our city and for having taken some of your valuable time to share a such a comment with us.
We are greatly pleased to know that you have found our services and staff outstanding.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.

Warm regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a Deluxe room.

Negatives:
- Too many lights all over the place in the room: they were complicated to control and unnecessary. - There weren't enough lights in the corridor of the room, so you couldn't see into the minibar, the wardrobe or the mirror for getting dressed, drying your hair, etc.
- The monsoon style shower head was underpowered.
- We didn't enjoy our meal in the restaurant, which we took on the terrace. We felt it was overpriced for what it was and didn't feel that comfortable. Don't order cocktails - they are pre-mixed and are therefore a rip-off at 12 euros a pop.
- We weren't very impressed with the complimentary toiletries provided in the room. They weren't very nice to use.
- We didn't use the spa area at all during our stay. We would have used the sauna, but it was locked and couldn't find anyone to unlock it.
- The bar area was always unstaffed whenever we popped in.
- The lack of signing anywhere and general desertion didn't make the hotel feel very welcoming.
- The staff weren't interested in chatting to us or helping us organise stuff - this does contradict other people's reviews, though.

Positives:
- Really excellent breakfast - Spanish style as you would hope, with lots of meats and cheese.
- Lovely bar/terrace area on the pavement looking onto the Puerta de Alcala. Better for people watching rather than good though, as said above.
- Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel is a huge bonus. And it was of decent enough speed.
- Location: Right opposite the Retiro Park which is gorgeous. Very close to the Metro. Within walking distance of the Prado.
- Very good housekeeping staff.
- Comfortable bed.
- Very quiet room, which is surprising given it's location next to the Plaza de la Independencia and next to the busy bar, Ramses.
- The Sushishop restaurant/take-out place around the corner - incredibly delicious and good value sushi.
- The room was spacious. It is open plan, which may not work for some. The bedroom area opens directly onto the bathroom, which has a huge egg-shaped bath, a separate shower and a toilet cubicle with bidet.
- The hotel felt very quiet, and the only time we ever saw other guests were a couple of tables at breakfast. This was despite a staff member telling us they were fully booked, so we were impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you a lot for sharing a comment with us and for having chosen the Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am pleased to read that generally, your stay has been satisfying. Your opinion matters a lot so I will fix the little discomforts you had so that these don’t happen again.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon in our hotel.
Sincerely,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Tried this property for a change as I visit Madrid fairly frequently, overall I liked it and will return. The highlights include a fairly spacious room, surprisingly quiet giving the busy location set in a peaceful block that feels like a mansion block. The staff are very helpful and the location is absolutely perfect for the central Madrid hot spots, day or night. The bar and breakfast facilities aren't great but there are so many options within minutes walk. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the comment you’ve posted about your stay in our Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am very happy to see that our hotel’s room, staff and location satisfied you a lot.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#7 of 441 in Madrid
874 reviews
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#16 of 441 in Madrid
489 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 441 in Madrid
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 441 in Madrid
1,111 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#27 of 441 in Madrid
578 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#36 of 441 in Madrid
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Address: Plaza Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £163 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing