We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful oasis in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Ranked #26 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis in Madrid”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I would highly recommend this Hotel for people wanting something special. The staff, in particular the concierge Ilian, were amazing. We had trouble finding a restaurant Ilian had recommended so he walked us there!! We had room 404 which is a two story room - perfect for those people travelling with children as you have a completely separate space plus a view of the Piazza. Also perfect for people who want to entertain people in their room as you can hide the suitcases and mess upstairs. The hotel is also located in a great part of Madrid - close to Salamanca which is a lovely shopping and dining area (much nicer and quiter than Gran Via which should be avoided at all costs) and the Park Retiro (which has the lake you can row on and a great kids playground) and a short walk to the Prado.

Room Tip: Room 404 - we were told it was the best room in the hotel by the staff. It is a two story room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you a lot for sharing your opinion about our Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am very pleased to learn that our services and staff made you have a “great experience”.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    195
    52
    15
    15
See reviews for
114
365
37
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This has to be not only one of the best hotels in Madrid but one of the best city hotels in the world. The Hospes is super chic: with the most enormous rooms, the biggest beds in the world EVER, bathrooms you can have a football match in and right in the centre of Madrid. This really is one of our favourite hotels that we've ever stayed at and would recommend it again and again to anyone staying in Madrid. Also fantastic value. Lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you a lot for sharing a positive comment with us and for having chcosen the Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am pleased to read that everything everything has been perfect during your last stay in our hotel. I will personally thank the staff for the good attention they gave you.
Thank you again and I hope that you will finally try the breakfast during your next stay in our hotel.
Sincerely,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I recently took my wife to Madrid for her 30th birthday. I researched Hospes in good detail so I knew we were in for a treat but I didn't realise how big a treat it would be until we arrived.
The hotel is ideally located for transport links, shopping and countless restaurants but the striking thing about Hospes is the staff. Nothing was too much for them, particularly Llian who constantly went out of his way to help us during our stay.
I couldn't rate the hotel any higher and would love to return one day!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammyo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for having chosen Hospes Madrid and for sharing such flatering review with us!
We are very pleased to read that you found our Hotel, its location and our team striking!
I will personally congratulate the team and specially Ilian for the great job he did with you.
Thank you again for the magnificent comment and for your loyalty.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in our Hotel.
Sincerely,
Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I totally recommend this Hotel! The people spoke really good english and were very friendly. Llian, the bellman, deliver exemplary service and was very helpful trying to make our stay as comfortable as possible. This hotel is in the perfect location of Madrid!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you very much for having chosen Hosps Madrid and for taking some of your valuable time to share a comment on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to know that our hotel and staff pleased you so much. I will personally congratulate the team and especially Ilian for the good attention they gave you.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for you nxt stay in madrid.
Kind regards,
Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed two nights over a weekend. Lovely room on the back of the hotel, spacious with a pleasant outlook - nice and quiet at night. Breakfast was great - with a good choice of 'European' and typical Spanish food. We sat out in the Terrace bar and enjoyed the shade of the trees for breakfast and then again later in the evening with a Gin and Tonic from the wide selection.

Location was great, either for walking or the City Tour bus stopped outside on either of its two routes.

The staff couldn't do enough for you in a polite cheerful manner.

Excellent. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicG301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you a lot for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for sharing your experience with us.
We are really pleased to read that everything went perfectly during your stay and that you would stay again.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Madrid.
Sincerely,
Miguel A. Molina
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the room, spacious and stylish...lovely touches. Staff were friendly and professional. We enjoyed our lunch sitting outside, food and service was super. Would happily return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dancingjuicylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you a lot for having chosen Hospes Madrid and for sharing such a great review!
I am really happy to read that our rooms, staff and terrace pleased you so much. I will personally congratulate the team for the good attention they gave you.
I thank you once again for your comment and also for recommending our hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.
Kind regards,
Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hospes Hotel with my husband.Excellent location and easy walking distances to most attractions,great place to sit and watch the world go by.Rooms well appointed and breakfast very good quality.
The hotel staff however are what made me give this a five star rating, they were very welcoming and friendly.A brief conversation in passing with a staff member in the lift resulted in a recommended a little hidden alleyway full of delightful restaurants to eat in at night that we would never have found by ourselves.
We asked to move rooms due to an oversight on our behalf when booking as I needed a bath due to mobility problems and the room we were given had a shower. The staff saw to this as soon as possible and returned from our day out to find all our luggage moved and our room upgraded at no extra cost.
I have no hesitations on recommending this hotel and only wish our stay could have been longer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for sharing such a review !
We are really pleased to read that you loved our hotel and our team. I will personally congratulate them for having made you feel comfortable.
Thank you again for this review and for recommending our hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon in Hospes Madrid.

Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#40 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#25 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#10 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Property: Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Address: Plaza Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
#19 Family Hotel in Madrid
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing