We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Ranked #59 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

We spent two nights here after getting a terrific online non-refundable rate. The promised room was a small interior one, which we deemed sufficient for our first two days in Spain. We were upgraded to a slightly larger room in the same class with windows to an exterior courtyard. Everything in the room was very modern, and the bathroom shower was outstanding. The bed was comfortable. Be advised that at night light does shine through the opaque bathroom door, and might disturb a light sleeper.

The location was excellent for exploring Madrid on foot, and visiting the main museums. The Plaza Santa Ana is ringed with small restaurants that provide outdoor service on the square. The staff at the hotel do everything possible to assist you and make your stay pleasant. They speak excellent English and can make reservations and answer questions about the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portia08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    832
    245
    93
    89
See reviews for
282
1,355
150
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bettembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

This chic hotel provides an excellent location for visiting Madrid along with warm attentive service, well designed rooms with exceptionally comfortable beds and great views!

We found the front desk staff to be warm and friendly and all the staff always greeted us were ever we were in the hotel… even the housekeeping staff. Check-in was very welcoming, quick and efficient. The front desk agent even escorted us to the elevator! We booked a deluxe room directly through the hotel website for 118€ and had the good fortune of being upgraded to a superior room facing Plaza Santa Ana. This upgrade was likely due to our being enrolled in the MAS program. The room was great!

The aspects of the room that we appreciated were that there were no electrical cords to be seen: the floor lamp outlet was in the floor under the lamp base (very clever), the room offered exceptional and flexible lighting, the floor to ceiling windows had shears drapes as well as black out curtains and a sliding door that provided additional soundproofing from the hallway (although we encountered no noise issues).

The room has a nice sized marble shower room (no ugly bulky bathtub) with modern finishings and very strong water pressure. The bed provided ultimate of comfort… although we were excited to explore Madrid each day we had to force ourselves to get out of the comfy bed!

The windows are double-paned and open up to let fresh air in as well as the happy and bustling sounds of the plaza outside. The views from the rooftop (The Penthouse) are wonderful too!

The plaza outside offers a mass of cafes with outdoor seating. Meson Cinco Jotas, the place with green chairs to the left as you exit the hotel, offered very affordable and delicious tapas. Most places open at 9Am or later so it can be hard to find a coffee and morning bite for us early risers. There is a nice place to start the day at the far end of the plaza on the right side.

The location is perfect for exploring Madrid. One can walk to all the main sites and back. There are tons of cafes in Madrid so it is easy to rest and enjoy a drink on the way. We walked to Campo de Moro after visiting the Palace Real and did not want to walk back to the hotel from there so took the nearby dark blue line metro from Principe Pio to Tribunal and then transferred to light blur line to Anton Martin back to the hotel area. The final stop is only a few minutes stroll from the hotel. The metro was very simple to use. We only used it this one time as we found the city very accommodating for walking everywhere.

The Catalonia Las Cortes and the Hotel Room Mate Alicia are both at the far end of the plaza, but the ME dominates the plaza area over these other properties. The Urban is a few blocks away too, but again the location of the ME is far superior.

We were concerned that the hotel might be a little to hip and trendy for us and so we were very pleased to find that, although hip and trendy, the hotel is a very welcoming and accommodating place for everyone!

The ME reigns supreme!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

Stayed in room 309 (3rd floor) – Supreme Double, booked via hotel website at standard rack rate. Travelled for both business, city break & catch up with old friends.

The very good:

Friendly and efficient check-in service in a modern and spacious hotel with interesting history. We were a little early for check-in so sat in the bar while the room was being cleaned but waited only 20 minutes. Superb location in the centre of the city with great tapas bars and restaurants; Retiro Park; all the museums and shopping areas of Gran Via, Chueca etc within walking distance. Wonderful views of the Plaza from big floor to ceiling windows and the soundproofing is excellent. And if you want to hear some of the atmosphere from the square below, with its various musicians and people chatting and having fun, it is also really nice to be able to open up the windows and let fresh air and the sounds in.

Both hotel bars are very nice and with great friendly service, if a little pricey, but no more than any other 4-5 star hotel bar. We spent more time in the Midnight Rose bar because the weather wasn’t very kind, but managed to reserve space in the Penthouse for both nights, in case the weather changed (it didn’t) even though it still got busy and there was a private function in one part of the bar. The Penthouse would be a fantastic place to spend a balmy Madrid night outside with its great views over the city, but the atmosphere is better in the downstairs bar if the weather is bad and you are stuck inside. We also tried a couple of bar snacks in the Midnight Rose bar – the breaded deep fried gambas with teriyaki sauce was especially delicious. And you could keep goldfish in the size of glass you get with a gin and tonic!

Thought the room size was very reasonable, plenty of space to move around with seating by the window and at the desk and good size closet with safe. Large comfortable bed with aircon & lighting/sound system controls at arms length on the wall. Spacious bathroom with double shower and nice toiletries. Good air conditioning system. Could perhaps do with a make-up mirror on the desk in the room as the lighting isn’t very bright in the bathroom.

The not so good:

We always travel with some portable speakers or an iPod dock but left it behind this time because of the entertainment system in the room, but had quite a few problems trying to get it working (and couldn’t find any instructions in English). There was no lead (jack) at first to hook up the iPod to the system, so had to ring down for one. Then that didn’t work so had to wait for maintenance man who had to repair the wiring in the back of the panels while we were out. When we tried it later the 4 speaker panels worked to listen to the radio on the amplifier, but only one speaker worked with the iPod. Bit disappointing. Also, we stayed for 2 nights and didn’t receive a turn down service on either night, so no candles, chocolates or adjusted lighting… The lighting ‘system’ is a nice idea but is really just a couple of pink neon recessed lights at either end of the room. The TV worked fine but was a bit fiddly really for what it offered.

Could maybe do with a dedicated concierge or information desk in reception rather than queuing with the people checking in/out each time you need a map or some information etc.

As others have mentioned, the maxi-bar prices are indeed extortionate. Five euros for a packet of crisps! Breakfast also very expensive. If you like chocolate y churros, one of the best places for it Madrid is in a side street just up the road towards Plaza del Sol and there are plenty of savoury options nearby.

So a few niggles but really nothing that would even remotely put us off returning to the ME Madrid, especially in good weather. It offers a good measure of luxury; glamour and 5 star quality and room rates are not excessive. Hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

I had an amazing stay at the Reina Victoria. I'd say that this property is the best in Madrid if you're looking for the best of both worlds in luxury and location.

* I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone looking for the perfect mix of luxury and location. *

LUXURY

The Reina Victoria is a stunning property. It's a strikingly large and elegant building. As we were approaching in our taxi, I was surprised to find that this was our hotel. It looks almost stately. It also provides quite a nice backdrop for Plaza de Santa Ana in the evenings as it is lit up in a purple hue from top-to-bottom (refer to my pictures).

With a stately look to the exterior, I was again surprised to find that this property was very modern on the inside. The lobby was filled with plush couches and lounge music. The bar on the ground floor as well as the impressive penthouse bar were always quite packed with people. The good was just fine and breakfast was quite EXTensive, although also very EXPensive.

The room was amazing. Flat screen TV built into the wall with an integrated stereo system. Lighting was also interesting. There was a lighting remote control of sorts that allowed me to customize which lights were on the in the room (i.e. over the desk, over the bed) as well as the color of the lights based on my mood. The bathroom was covered with large ceramic tiles including the glass shower with head-to-toe shower jets. The bathroom also had heated floors, which was nice touch.

LOCATION

The Reina Victoria sits directly on Plaza de Santa Ana, which is very lively during both the daytime and evening hours. The plaza as well as the surrounding streets are filled with tapas bars that are reasonably-priced and well worth your time and money. Puerta del Sol along with the metro station are less than 5 mins away by foot. Plaza Mayor and the Gran Via are slightly further, about 15 mins away by foot.

* Again, I had a perfect stay at the Reina Victoria and would recommend this property to anyone looking for the best location and luxury in Madrid *

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulmates33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

Booked the hotel for the honeymoon: good choice!

Great location; a walkingdistance to everywhere.

Excellent modern room with comfortable double-bed and tv. The room was a bit small but the bathroom was spacious and there was also enough space to empty your suitcase into the closet.

Be careful for pocket thieves on Plaza Puerta del Sol; I nealrly got robbed there.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

OMG!!!! This hotel was GREAT!!!!!!!!
Its located right in the center of Madrid with walking distance to all major sights. Its in this amazing square that has bars / restaurants right outside to enjoy the views and great food.
The service was amazing and so were the rooms. Although, the standard room is very small and has no view (you're looking into the wall of the other side of the building) it has all the top ammenities. If u dont mind spending a little extra money, upgrade to a better room. We wound up getting their Level Room - amazing view of the square outside and ALL of Madrid, big room and HUGE bathroom. They provide Aveda bath products so you dont even need to take anything with you. We didnt hear anyone walking in the hallways or making any noise.
Staff is very helpfull and nice and go out of their way to serve you.
They have a great bar on the roof with amazing views of the entire city.
Overall, we absolutely enjoyed our stay there and I would only tell my friends to stay in this hotel. It has absolutely everything you need, great locations and excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCchick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

We loved this hotel and the city! the hotel is situated in a pretty piazza in the centre of Madrid, there are nice bars where you can sit out in the sunshine and enjoy a meal
the building is very impressive, modern and the service is wonderful

our bags were swiftly taken off us upon arrival the checkin was friendly and the receptionist was very friendly and took an interest in our trip

the room was lovely a bit small but that didnt matter as who comes to Madrid to sit in a room all day. the bed was so comfy I literally had to drag myself out of bed in the mornings! the facilities are excellent, power jet masage shower, lovely Aveda beauty products and big fluffy towels, telephone, bath robes and slippers

in the room there is a wide screen tv with pay to view movies, internet, dvd player and music (That could be heard in the bathroom if you wanted there is a volume button

nice mini bar but expensive so we went to the super market down the street and got our breakfast and drinks .

I would stay here again and we got a great deal on last minute

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#27 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME Madrid Reina Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME Madrid Reina Victoria

Property: ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Address: Plaza de Santa Ana 14, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#10 Green Hotel in Madrid
#25 Business Hotel in Madrid
#27 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#46 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#47 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ME Madrid Reina Victoria 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ME Madrid Reina Victoria is strategically located in the heart of the city, with easy access to the major attractions such as the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum, Retiro Park, Congress building, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace and the city’s shopping and business areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ME Madrid Reina Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Madrid Reina Victoria Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing