We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Ranked #65 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2009

ME Madrid is a modern, fashionable hotel in Madrid. I stayed there for 4 nights in late March. If you’re looking for a classic luxury hotel, then this isn’t for you. However, if you want a “trendy”, clean, well functioning hotel with a great location then this is definitely it. If the price is right, I would definitely recommend it to all my friends when they visit Madrid. In my case they honored their best rate guarantee and took 10% off of the quote I found.

Location can only be described as perfect! Facing the lovely Plaza de Santa Ana, the hotel is within a walking distance to most sighs, restaurants and shops. Santa Ana square is also lovely for sitting on a terrace and drinking wine / eating. If you’re driving to the hotel (as we were) get a GPS or a very good map. Most of the roads leading to the hotel are very narrow or one way.

We had a supreme room with a wonderful view of Plaza de Santa Ana. Room was modern, clean and had an impressive list of equipment, such as a 32” plasma, free wifi, cd/dvd systems, safe, good lighting, bathrobes and an iron and a board. The room isn’t big but suited us well for 4 nights. Minibar is called Maxi Bar and it takes out a rather big space of the already small room. It was well stacked, but I found it to be rather expensive. Bathroom was clean as well, had a large mirror, shower and good selection of toiletries. We didn’t hear any music from the bar upstairs, some noises from the Plaza in front of the hotel, but not enough to bother us.

Breakfast at the ME (as in most hotels) is expensive compared to the local price levels in cafes etc. However, as a member of Solmelia we got breakfasts 2 for the price of 1 which made it affordable. It was very nice with a number of different juices, cereal, cheeses, etc etc. A nice touch was that there wasn’t too much, but enough and most of the plates and jugs for juices were rather small. This made sure that product didn’t stand there for too long and thus was always fresh.

We didn’t try the hotel’s restaurant as there are many outside close to the hotel. We had drinks at the bar upstairs but it seemed quiet (it wasn’t season just yet). Great views, and probably a nice place to sit for a while in the evening.

Service at the ME was very efficient. Although I really can’t complain, as the check in was swift and was handled with a smile, I missed something overall. The staff would seem to focus so much on ME’s everything is possible brand that they forget the personal touch, which I appreciate. This however, was a minor detail and didn’t affect our stay at all.

All in all, a great stay, lovely room / view and a perfect location. I will definitely stay there again when visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,572 - 1,578 of 3,090 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2009

What a beautiful hotel! Terrific, modern decor throughout the hotel. The room was a decent size, look out over Santa Ana Plaza and we got a terrific deal. The staff was wonderful and couldn't be more helpful. We had drinks at The Penthouse Lounge at the top of the building and it was really nice to look out over the plaza and have a nice view of the city. It was extremely convenient having the plaza right at the doorsteps given there were a few good restaurants. It was nice to be just a little off the tourist path. Defintely recommend the ME.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gjb6774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

I was gonna write a longer review on this fantastic hotel, but noticed that a previous review entitled "Excellent Hotel and Great Location -- Would definitely visit again" perfectly resumed our thoughts.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FESG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

I've been to Madrid a couple of times and this is by far the best hotel in Madrid and in the best location! This hote is, genuinely, at the centre of all that is modern and cool about Madrid. The rooftop bar is among the most popular in the City and is full every night. The hotel is also facing on to the best square in Madrid, opposite the theatre and with plenty of cafes in it.

The room was perfect and the staff couldnt have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Madrid where we stayed at the Me Madrid. The hotel is located in Plaza Santa Ana which is a perfect location from which to visit all the popular sites in Madrid. It is very centrally located between the royal palace and the museums and is still within walking distance to the very trendy Salamanca shopping/restaurant area. It is also just a short taxi ride to Atocha train station (approximately 5 minutes). The plaza in which it is located is very charming and lively as well, filled with lots of outdoor cafes.

The hotel itself was wonderful. Very trendy and modern, but not in such a way that those who aren't very trendy or modern feel like outsiders. We booked a level room but were upgraded to a studio suite upon arrival (which is essentially the level room plus a living room). Had we not been upgraded, the level room would have been sufficiently large (e.g. plenty of room to have your suitcases laid out in the room and still walk around). The room has more technology than you've likely seen -- there's a gadget for everything and the staff takes time to make sure you know how to use everything when they show you to your room. The bed was luxurious as was the bathroom, and the Aveda amenities were a great touch.

After reading the reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor, I was concerned that the noise from the Penthouse bar might keep us awake at night. Our room was on the first floor (there are 6 floors in the hotel) and the noise from the bar did not keep us up, although the street noise was definitely noticeable on the weekend. That said, the windows are double-paned and do a great job of miniminzing any street noise.

Although we checked out the Penthouse bar, we did not have a drink up there. It's a beautiful setting and is filled with beautiful, trendy people. Not really our scene, but definitely made for great people watching. Guests of the hotel don't have to wait in line to get into the bar, too, which is nice; you simply use your hotel room keep to take an express elevator to the Penthouse bar floor -- bypassing the line.

Finally, the service was impeccable. From the minute we checked in, every member of the staff was incredibly attentive and helpful with any request. From restaurant recommendations to airport information, the advice was always spot on and exactly what we were looking for. The hotel also has an "experience manager" whose job it is to ensure that you have a great experience at the hotel. While a bit strange in my view, the manager was incredibly friendly throughout our stay and even knew our names. Very nice touch in my opinion.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for luxury accomodations and a great location from which to sightsee in Madrid. Do not be put off from this hotel if you worry that it's too trendy. It is trendy, but not in any way that would make you feel uncomfortable or regret booking.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khdatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Very trendy, with restaurants and rooftop bar. Rooms very clean and modern but not very spacious. Excelent location in Madrid if you are a tourist.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

If you want a change from the run of the mill chains - try the newly refubished ME Madrid - a very well located boutique hotel right in the heart of Madrid. Beautifully appointed rooms with CD players, wide screen TVs and well appointed bathrooms. My room overlooked the pedestrianised square in front of the hotel - be warned though the Spanish eat very late and you can hear some noise from the square in the early hours unless you ask for a room on a higher floor. Especially recommend the trendy roof top hotel bar with great 360 degree views of the city from the plush comfy sofas. Large meeting room in the base of the hotel with all the usual av facilities including wireless internet. Buffet breakfast very good with attentive staff - you are spoilt for choice for tapas and traditional Spanish restaurants within a short walk of the foyer - ask the very helpful and mulitilingual reception staff to make a recommendation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#43 of 437 in Madrid
1,283 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#10 of 437 in Madrid
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 437 in Madrid
1,991 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#37 of 437 in Madrid
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria

Address: Plaza de Santa Ana 14, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#10 Green Hotel in Madrid
#25 Business Hotel in Madrid
#27 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#47 Family Hotel in Madrid
#50 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £117 - £858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lifestyle hotel in the heart of urban Madrid. Located next to the city’s main theatres, boutiques and nightclubs, this lifestyle hotel boasts an innovative, luxurious design reflective of the urban culture of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Madrid Reina Victoria Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing