We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little disappointed”
Review of Suites Viena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suites Viena
Ranked #28 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Pros: hotel was environmentally friendly with lights on automatic timers, etc. Cons: parking was 25% of our total cost, no washclothes in bathroom, and "two separate beds" in english apparently means "one large single bed" in spanish. Room was clean, but small. People working reception were not terribly helpful providing directions to the hotel over the phone.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank navygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night early in March 2010
This hotel was quite basic – but clean! The colours scheme is neutral but they have no pictures / prints up in the room as decoration – this would add a bit more character!
Just two minutes walk to the Placa de Espana (metro) – just on the end of Gran Via.
The kitchenette is a great idea – all you have to do is ask for crockery, kettle etc and it would be brought up to you.
The staff were friendly and helpful – even when my room developed a leak – I was re-located within 5 minutes – excellent service!
I would definitely stay here again when in Madrid – Really good value for money!
The only downside is the school (playground) located directly in front of the hotel. This was not much of an issue for me as I was out and about, but If I were staying longer I would request a room at the rear of the property so as not to be disturbed too much.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nubianlaydeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We had a great suite with a huge terrace overlooking the school which was no trouble in terms of noise. The location was lovely and quiet and we had two great nights sleep. We felt very safe in the local area. The kitchenette was useful and we only had to ask reception for cutlery, crockery and pans and they were provided free of charge immediately. The room was immaculate with one of the cleanest bathrooms we have seen in some time. There is a local pizza/pasta restaurant we tried called "Ginos" which is nice and quiet (although popular with locals after 9:30pm!), good prices and with friendly staff - a bit like an upmarket Pizza Express.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanaryWharfLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

First, let me say, I loved my week in Old Madrid - and I felt sad leaving my "home away from home" at SV. It was the most relaxing vacation I've had in my lifetime and this room was quiet, comfortable and perfectly located. I did miss having dishes and silverware in the kitchenette, and, an iron and ironing board. But that's okay. I liked the sounds of the children and music playing in the school playground below my room and will always associate them with my pleasant stay at Suites Vienna. Others might not find that charming, but I did. I liked being within short walking distance of TWO Metro stations and having easy access to restaurants, tapas bars, shops, ATMs and parks in the immediate area.
It sounds hard to believe, but the vending machine sandwich I had there: chorizo and egg on white bread, was the best sandwich I had during my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeurop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Though the staff was a bit surley, this place was great. Comfortable large rooms, nice baths, easy walking distrance to restaraunts, entertainment, and the subway. The one thing I didn't quite understand is why you have a stove top in the rooms but don't provide any pots or pans? Will stay here again when I get back to Madrid.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZacharyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We went to madrid for a 5 day trip (incl Toledo), we spent close to a month looking for a good, affordable and centrally located hotel and this hotel had all those points. The room was clean and spacious. The room had everything along with a little kitchen and stove to cook however the bathroom was a little small. Nothing too fancy but staff was quite friendly but the best of all was the absolutely perfect location. Almost all the major attractions were a 15 min walk. The metro was about a 5 min walk. Lots of restaurants close by. the main shopping district was within walking distance too. We didnt try the breakfast there, it was alot of toast, muffins, coffee ets for 10 euros but we found a little retaurant close by that had great churros and breakfast for 3 euros.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottawanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Our three night stay was right on target. The hotel is very well run, clean, rooms are bigger than normal, back side is very quiet, the breakfast looks well appointed but higher than we wanted to spend, and the location was perfect for touring and jogging. Once you get your bearings, you will find that the hotel is four short blocks from the Plaza de Espana or Ventura Rodiguez metro stops , light food supplies, and cafes are right down the block or a couple of streets away depending on your tastes and budget. The Temple de Debod (Egyptian Temple moved piece by piece in 1968) and continuous parks were truly amazing for morning running/walking and evening strolls. The staff answered every question presented with enthusiasm and a real desire to serve as requested. It is also nice that you can use your credit card in USD or euros. My credit card doesn't charge the 3% if our various hotels submit USD amounts versus foreign currencies. I give this hotel a high rating. I have already recommended this hotel to a number of my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 437 in Madrid
1,346 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#49 of 437 in Madrid
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#64 of 437 in Madrid
1,744 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,697 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 437 in Madrid
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Viena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Viena

Address: Calle Juan Alvarez Mendizabal 17, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Madrid
#13 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £67 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites Viena 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Viena is a cosy Hotel located in a quiet Street in the Centre of Madrid. Only 200 metres separate Suites Viena from Plaza de Espana and in less than a 5 minute walk you are in Gran Via, Debod Temple or the Royal Palace. Suites Viena is a modern building (2007) with 50 Studios, 5 Junior Suites (with a terrace) and 2 Senior Suites (with a separate living room. Every room has AA/Heat (all year), working table, safe, free wifi and satellite TV. Also, there is a little kitchen in every room, equipped with a microwave, a small fridge, cooktop and extractor. Kitchen facilities are handed in, free of charge, to all the guests who demand it. We have special added values you can benefit of through our official online page. Buffet Breakfast is served by the Traditional "Viena Capellanes". Private Parking, connected to rooms through the elevator. Free Wifi in the whole building. Business Corner: free use of PC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suites Viena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viena Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing