We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Nicest hostel I was ever in.”
Review of Luz Madrid Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luz Madrid Rooms
Ranked #36 of 278 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location. Nicest hostel I was ever in.”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Great location. Lovely rooms. The first night I got a room which wasn't advertised on the website which wasn't as nice as I had expected but still fine. The second two nights I was put in a really lovely room. It was modern and clean and had a fridge and air con! I'd definitely stay here again and for anyone who wants somewhere above the usual hostel fare but at a great price, I'd suggest waste not your time and just book here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AingealA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    207
    42
    21
    30
See reviews for
80
231
101
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Hostal Luz June 17 & 18 and again on 25 & 26 and were very happy with most everything. The location is ideal and we were treated well. I do suggest you ask for a room away from the street for quietness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 456752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Excellent location. Essentially a very large apartment divided into rooms on the third floor of a four story building. With elevator. Small, but clean rooms. Not a place to spend a lot of time, but very close to some of the nicest parts of Madrid. We were supposed to have a room with two separate beds and had indicated that on the booking form, but the message had not reached the staff, so emphasize that in the additional comments section if that is relevant. Quite reasonable rates for such a well situated hotel. Three computer terminals available to guests. Wifi in rooms.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RbtdeStLoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Hostal Luz and liked it. We both speak Spanish, which is a must at Hostal Luz because the two ladies at the front desk (Margarita and Teresa) don't speak English and act annoyed when people speak to them in English. If you speak basic Spanish, you'll get by but if you only speak English, I'd recommend staying somewhere else because you might have communication issues with the staff. Rooms are nice and quiet with showers and toliets in each room (not all hostales in Spain have that). For breakfast, they send you with coupons to a nearby resturant (La Traviota) where you get a small free breakfast. If you want more, it's extra but not very expensive (about two or three euros). The food at La Traviota is good, with freshly-sqeezed juice and great coffee. The hostal is located at the edge of Plaza Isabel II near the Palacio Real and is just a 5 min walk to the Puerta del Sol down Calle Arenal, so its location is its main selling point. It's also just a couple of minutes walk up Calle De las Fuentes to the San Miguel market, which is a "must see" for anyone who wants to see a colorful, traditional Spanish market with a lot happening there. I'd recommend it, but be prepared to communicate in Spanish at Hostal Luz.

Room Tip: Room 320 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowhereman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here and found it a great experience and lovely homelike environment. Great room, clean and great value overall. Enjoyed my stay in madrid. Further it is located in the heart of the city so very close to many of the attractions around.

Room Tip: I was given the option to spend 8 euros more a night for the room with the bathroom in it and it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissykath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

A tiny room, very clean and comfortable and very cheap. Wonderful host MARGARITA. We had the use of 3 bathrooms. Located between Calle Arenal and Calle Mayor in the heart of Madrid. What more can you ask for. We walked everywhere. Metro was Opera and 5 mins from Sol. All attractions were a little walk away. B' fast was at La Traviata 2 mins away and the caballeros were great.I cannot understand how this place can receive bad reviews. I suppose these days people expect too much. Our Spanish was only about 3 or 4 months old but we go on famously with everyone. Would definitely be back. Mucho gracias Margarita and Co.

Room Tip: Save your money and enjoy the food and drinks. Before ordering always ask the price first. Then they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank1958490907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hostal Luz is in a really great location, has great amenities (including free computers to use, free wifi, and free breakfast), and is impeccably clean, but there are a few things to be aware of before you book a room here. First, the woman in charge of the hostel is an older woman who does not speak a word of English, so be advised that you should have someone in your group that can speak at least basic Spanish. Second, the clientele here varies greatly, with many of the guests being older travelers. So if you are a young traveler looking for a hostel where you can meet people to go out with at night, this may not be the place for you. Finally, this may have been unique to my stay, but my roommate and I had two male friends come up to our room who we knew from the US and had not seen for several years (just to hang out, no 'other' activities going on here) and the woman in charge screamed at us in Spanish saying guests are not allowed and accused us of 'street' activities. So be forewarned that guests are not welcome to visit you in this hostel. Overall I was very pleased with the hostel itself but a few other factors make me question whether I will stay there again despite its excellent location. Also, if you do stay here, the door is unmarked and particularly hard to find at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crugs05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#88 of 436 in Madrid
617 reviews
Centro
JC Rooms Puerta del Sol
JC Rooms Puerta del Sol
#18 of 278 in Madrid
501 reviews
Centro
Room007 Sol
Room007 Sol
#25 of 278 in Madrid
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Marlasca
Hostal Marlasca
#33 of 278 in Madrid
578 reviews
Centro
The Citadel by Pillow
The Citadel by Pillow
#31 of 278 in Madrid
69 reviews
Centro
Hostal Met Madrid
Hostal Met Madrid
#3 of 278 in Madrid
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Madrid Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Madrid Rooms

Property: Luz Madrid Rooms
Address: Calle Fuentes 10 | City center: Plaza de la Opera, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hostal Luz)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 278 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Luz Madrid Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luz Madrid Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Luz Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing