We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoutful accomotation in perfect location”
Review of Luz Madrid Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luz Madrid Rooms
Ranked #36 of 285 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Only one mitunte walk from central Metro Opera Station, this hostel has easy access from both Airport (only two changes by metro) and Train station (straight from Atocha, walk 7-8 min from metro Sol station).

Hostel is in centre of Marid's different "Barrios (area/quarter)", such as Latina, Centro, Huertas, Chueca, Malasana etc...great choice in neighbor, restaurants, bars, shops, and Madrid's famous sightseeing spots --- Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, Royal Palace, Catheral, Monastries, and if you like to walk (we are !) you can go as far as to Madrid's three principal Museums (Museo del Prado..)

Room we had was quite charming, with violet wall, and very clean.
Had good matress and not bothered by noise in our courtyard side room.
Bathroom amenities was over our expectation on a "hostel" (hair dryer, shampoo, soap, shower cap, toothbrush/paste....)

No restaurant facility inside hostel but if your booking includs breakfast, you can take breakfast in a restaurant just two minute walk from hostel (Pastry or toast or Churros, hot drink, orange juice).

Free Wifi worked very well.
Has internet corner, one of three desktops is i-Mac.

Finally I mention that owner Marguarita seemed to be reserved,but very lovely woman.
Better you have some Spanish language knowledge (she seemed understand English but spoke Spanish).

Very thoutful in details, will be back in this hostel for next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had a lovely time in Madrid with my sister and the hostel was perfectly fine for our needs. The rooms are clean, albeit possibly need a bit of tlc (a few small scratches/stains on walls, dodgy looking power sockets with cracked covers etc). There were fresh towels and cleaning every day, and the sheets looked and smelled very clean. The shower looked feeble but was extremely powerful! There is also a safe and small TV in the room, plus a mini-fridge that we only discovered on the last day hidden away in a cupboard! A hairdryer too.

The staff were very friendly although spoke very little English, but we managed to get by, and they provided us with maps etc. There is free wifi in the rooms and also 3 computers available to use whenever you want in a little alcove bit in the corridor.

You get tokens for breakfast which is in a cafe about a minute walk away, which is basic but decent tasting - tea/coffee/juice, and either a spanish omelette sandwich (very filling and tasty), a ham sandwich, pastries or churros. And you can pay a bit extra (like under 5 euros) for something more substantial.

EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT location. About 1 minute's walk from Opera station, and 5 minutes from Sol which is like the Leicester Square of Madrid. Walking distance to the Cathedrals, museums, and the main shopping parts.

A couple of bad points - there is no sign for the hostel at all. We found the building alright but no idea what floor we were on and knocked at a couple of the wrong doors before finding it.

Also we had booked a room for 2 with 2 separate beds. However when we got there the woman had said (I think) that we had a double bed for the first night but could then switch to a room with 2 singles. However when I went to ask about this in the morning she said this would be 70 extra euros?! A bit out of order since this was our original request, but as she had limited English I couldn't be bothered to dispute this, plus the double bed was fine really. Just a bit annoying.

Would definitely stay again in the future if not bothered about luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woopwoop2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Location at Puerta del Sol in Madrid is a plus. The place is absolutely clean. The room was absolutely adequate with a window opening to a very quiet area in the back of the building. The fan/AC made the room environment cool when needed. The Hostal was booked during the six days we spent there, and yet it was very quiet at night. We were gone from breakfast until late in the afternoon/evening and did not experience the Hostal during the middle of the day. A continental breakfasts at La Traviatta restaurant was included with the price. In addition to breakfasts, we had dinner at La Traviatta one evening (spaghetti Bolognese and a green salad). The food was delicious and the salad fresh and tasty. Breakfast menu at La Traviatta is varied, but we stayed with the continental one included with our Hostal price. Other pluses, Metro Sol, the Opera, the Royal Palace, and many other eateries and stores are very close by.
Margarita gave very good suggestions about places to visit and places to eat. She knows Madrid well and is happy to share information with customers. I would definitely stay at Hostal Luz again. I found it reasonably priced for the location and services included.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the back, but this is the first time I stayed at H. Luz and do not know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TaniaB412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a B&B located in the old side of Madrid in a beautiful building only 5 minutes away from the famous Chocolatería San Ginés and near the metro Opera. It is close to shops and nice restaurants and has access to other parts of town. The Prado Museum is only 20 minutes walk away.

The service and facilities are not great. Unfortunately, because the B&B is quite small - like a flat with a few rooms and 2 bathrooms - it means that you can hear the host and the guests talking in the hallway. The noise and chatter can be heard until very late at night.

The lady who own the place is very nice, but cannot speak English so it's useful if you can speak some basic Spanish.

Overall the place is clean and the breakfast arrangements are ok. Usually you will receive breakfast tickets that can be used in a nearby cafe that has a limited, but sufficient range of food including spanish omelette, the traditional bacon sandwiches, coffee and juices.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms by the entrance as they are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillya a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margarita69, Propietario at Luz Madrid Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017


NO PUDO OR DO NOT OBSERVE THAT IN HOSTEL THERE ARE 24 ROOMS, BUT THEY LODGED IN the economic part
The next time we hope they can be better and they settle in the renovated part.
Thank you-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

How to get there

Go to Opera Metro station and walk to the McDonalds then walk a further block and to the right there is the street. In April 2014, there is scaffolding all over the building and it is not easy to see. It was also difficult to find the entrance buzzer for the hotel.

Location

This is a great location. There are some very small supermarkets and McDonalds close by. In terms of nightlife there are plenty of small bars and clubs around the Calle del Pez area - just walk around. There is a good "we rock" club on Los Angeles street, with vinyl record shops and also ocean rock bar on san vicente ferrer. There are also bars for other types of music too. I even walked to the 7 floor dance nightclub on Atocha called Kapital which is a former Opera house.

Value

There is no ensuite, but I found it great value for a single room

Facilities

Its got air-con. You get breakfast from a café close to McDonalds

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It was really nice stay,
-the rooms were clean
-big enough
-you can make your way around without knowing spanish even though a bit hard

BUT
-room service starts to clean the rooms pretty early, the noise can be annoying around 9.30-10.00am

I would suggest, location is great

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yylevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As often in Spain Hostals are apartments being converted in.. Hostal..
As I was by myself I got a really tiny room with shared bathroom. It is very simple, basic furniture, no thrill. The Hostal as two wings, the one with the shared bathrooms, by the way super clean, is the simplest no particular charms, it can be a little bit noisy, the other wing is nicer and newly furnished and en-suite bathrooms. So very simple but nice and clean. What makes it different is the people. It was one of the warmest welcoming place have been in a long time. There is a women team who are just fantastic smiling singing and really nice to talk to and with, in spanish...which is good. No need to go to the Tourist office Teresa will take care of you ! Then the location, it is in a quiet street off a shopping street, very convenient food to shoes (plenty nice and cheap) and you have a fantastic Market San Miguel if am right 5 mn wlk. Basically you are in the center, 5 min from the Opera Station Less than 1hr from tte airport. 20 mn to the Palace, museums. It was really easy to go around, pretty safe. I stayed 3 nights and wish I could stay longer so many things to do, to eat!!! Will go back!!!

Room Tip: the rooms with bathrooms are bigger and nicer !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#4 of 285 in Madrid
409 reviews
Centro
The Citadel by Pillow
The Citadel by Pillow
#29 of 285 in Madrid
84 reviews
Centro
Hostal Madrid Inn
Hostal Madrid Inn
#15 of 285 in Madrid
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Central Palace Madrid
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 285 in Madrid
539 reviews
Centro
Room007 Sol
Room007 Sol
#10 of 285 in Madrid
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Madrid Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Madrid Rooms

Address: Calle Fuentes 10 | City center: Plaza de la Opera, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hostal Luz)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: £44 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Luz Madrid Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Luz Madrid Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Luz Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing