We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of AC Hotel Recoletos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Recoletos
Ranked #138 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Minorca, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel is located on a sober, tranquil street and neighbourhood. It takes only 15 minutes walking to the busiest part of town. The rooms aren't big. The decoration is neutral, funtional and gives a feeling of comfort. We were luky to have one of the few balcony rooms. The toilet is very indiscreet. Only non smoking rooms (I smoked in the balcony). I recommend to have brunch at Pastelería Mallorca, just around the corner (croissant with avocado and shrimp and a glass of Cava is a must!).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexxcampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    230
    51
    16
    3
See reviews for
82
193
34
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I can't think of a better hotel choice when visiting Madrid. The staff was very responsive to our needs, which included a room change. They provided us with good directions and alternatives for moving around Madrid. The location is ideal,close to metro, train and several good restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countryfan6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Our family just returned from a trip to Spain, which included four nights at the AC Hotel Recolettos. This is wonderfully located property, near the Prado and walking distance from the center of the city and numerous neighborhoods and two metro stations. As nice as the hotel is physically, what stands out is the outstanding service and friendliness of the front desk staff- front desk manager Patricia worked tirelessly to help us with various travel logistics, making numerous phone calls on our behalf, checking reviews, and clearing up a very confusing set of circumstances surrounding football tickets. And Monica helped us out when we left some money in our room and discovered this at the railroad station, making arrangements to retrieve the cash and arrange for it to be credited to our account at our AC hotel in Barcelona. Great property, staffed with terrific employees.
On a

Room Tip: Go for a high floor facing the side street to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidLido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Overall a good stay. Rooms are average size but updated fairly recently. Beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is a frosted glass enclosure - if traveling as a couple that may be an issue, traveling alone - not an issue. Hardwood floors so I got some neighbor or upstairs noise early one the days I was there. Some limited exterior noise as well, courtyard or higher floor rooms are likely safer - I was 1st floor.

Breakfast was good. Exercise room is very limited but the Retiro park is around the corner so it's very convenient for a jog. Metro station is close and many restaurants are walking distance.

Mini 'bar' is complimentary which is nice.

Room Tip: Courtyard or high floor or you'll likely get exterior noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I picked this hotel partly because it is part of the Marriot chain, so I was able to earn reward points, and partly because of the location. The hotel is within walking distance of many of Madrid's must see sites: the Prado, the palace, the park, "old" Madrid and the indoor market. There are also many restaurants on the street. I wasn't sure what the room would be like after reading other reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. Although the room was not huge, it was probably one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have stayed in. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the room had a nice work area, and large closet. The bathroom set up was a little odd, in that, as others have mentioned, the bathroom walls are frosted glass so you can see through them. This is something to consider if you are sharing a room, but would be fine for someone staying alone as I was. The free items in the mini bar were a bonus-water, tomato juice, Coke, and even beer. I really liked the hotel overall, but did not give 5 stars for a few reasons: no coffee maker in the room, no iron/ironing board, and a charge (12.95 Euros/day) for the wireless internet which seemed very steep (there is free wireless available in the lobby). Free wireless and the other amenities are common in most hotels and as part of the Marriot chain, should be included in the AC Hotel Recoletos.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the street. The room was noisy when the window was opened, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed in Madrid for 5 days with wife & young son. Excellent location. Very close to Retiro park & the Prado. Nice, comfortable, moderm room. Free mini-bar (soft drinks, beers ) which was very welcome. The glass walled bathroom is a bit weird since even tho we've been married a good number of years now we all need an element of privacy - tho I suspect our son thought it was amusing! Excellent links to Barajas airport from Recoletos station + Reriro metro very close. Hotel staff very friendly & helpful. Free wifi in hotel lobby area which was very quiet during our stay. Decided to eat out for breakfast since at €18 each that would have been a small fortune each day for us 3! Good selection of cafeterias/bars nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near two metro stations on the edge of lovely Salamanca neighborhood. The room was nice and clean with comfortable firm bed; small minibar had excellent selection of complimentary soft drinks. As Marriott gold members we had free WiFi in our room, otherwise it’s free only at the lobby of the hotel. Helpful and professional receptionist equipped us with Madrid map and directions to the major attractions.
Before booking we read prior negative reviews about the glass enclosed bathrooms at AC Hotel Recoletos. Traveling as a couple the privacy issue didn’t bother us, but in a morning when I turn the bathroom lights on to use the shower, the entire room lit up, and my husband couldn’t sleep and was quite annoyed with the whole situation.
We used two free nights and paid for additional one night. With the similar offer or if traveling alone I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel One Shot Recoletos 04
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#25 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#72 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Luxury Suites
Luxury Suites
#196 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Recoletos

Property: AC Hotel Recoletos
Address: Calle Recoletos 18, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Madrid
#75 Business Hotel in Madrid
#95 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing