We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Recoletos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AC Hotel Recoletos
Ranked #129 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had 2 rooms. My kids room (2 twin beds) was really big so if you want a larger room go for 2-twin. Hotel is in a great location, nice quiet street, short walk to restaurants, 2 metro stations and a lot of attractions. Rooms were very modern and spotless clean. We had a deal with breakfast included and I would highly recommend that. Juices, fresh fruits, cheese, cold cuts, assortment of breads and pastries, yogurt, cereal, etc...was included and If you wanted eggs, omelette, bacon, you had to order out of menu. Staff were great at the front desk, breakfast room and cleaning. Jelly beans at the front desk were a nice touch and my kids loved them!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    226
    51
    14
    3
See reviews for
82
189
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights this past July 2013. The location is great. There is a 5 min walk to a metro station. It is also steps away from the "Retiro" Park which was great for us since we traveled with our 3 yr old daughter. There are several places very close to the hotel with good breakfast. The other perk of this location is the proximity to all the shops in Serrano and Goya streets, and the surroundings (if you like shopping). There is a pharmacy right in front of the hotel, and a small supermarket steps away. The Staff is friendly. The hotel is clean and modern. The hotel provided a crib for us which was big enough for our 3 yr old, so we did not have to use a toddler portable bed that we brought with us. The only thing we did not love was the fact that all rooms have hardwood floors. Even though it looks nice and cleaner, at times you can hear some steps from people above. Overall, we liked this hotel very much and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
307 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This Marriott hotel is pretty nice. Stayed here for five nights during a business trip in June. Really like the fact that we were close to a couple of different train stops. The train system in Madrid is really easy to use and pretty cheap!
The room was very modern. The bathroom is enclosed in fogged glass, which was cool! The bed was ok, not very fancy and not very soft. But since I was only getting about five hours of sleep a night anyhow, it really didn't matter.
The hardest thing to get used to was not eating supper until 9pm or later at night!!! But overall, I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cubgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Don't be turned off by the unimpressive lobby ... the rooms are lovely. The hotel is nicely located in a side street off Calle de Serrano, five minutes away from Calle de Goya shopping in one direction and five minutes away from the red double-decker bus in the other. Cheerful, helpful people at the front desk; spacious and bright room with a little balcony; hardwood floors; supermarket and restaurants across the street. The only problem is that it seems to be short-staffed: I sat at the bar one evening when it was supposedly open, but there were no servers. I finished reading an entire newspaper, and when still nobody had come to take my order I went up to the room and ordered room service instead. I was given the mysterious explanation that the server was "attending to another guest." Other than that, it was fantastic and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing the street, and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Budlapara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights. It is pretty well located near the train and the metro. The staff was really helpful and the room (we got the one on the corner) was really big with 2 showers. Great service!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaby810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We selected this hotel for four nights because of its reputation and location within the city of Madrid. Situated in the upscale Retiro neighborhood (midway between the US Embassy and the Prado Museum) the hotel is near the Retiro metro station (and Retiro park), and Ciebeles Palace. Our stay was perfect in every way. We enjoyed very comfortable, quiet rooms, and the assistance of a very capable staff. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I spent 2 weeks in Spain starting with an overnight in Madrid.

The location of this hotel and Madrid itself made us wish we would have stayed longer!

We were located across the street from one of the most beautiful city parks I have ever experienced. Major attractions were just 10-15 min walking away.

Our dinner was good but I wasn't 100% happy with the recommended restaurant from the hotel. Just a little higher priced for what you get. All in all my only slightly negative thing... And by negative I mean meeting our expectation rather than exceeding like everything else.

Tremendous value for quality, cleanliness and location!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Obsessed101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel One Shot Recoletos 04
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#25 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Paseo del Prado
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#72 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Recoletos

Property: AC Hotel Recoletos
Address: Calle Recoletos 18, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Madrid
#75 Business Hotel in Madrid
#89 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing