We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but some drawbacks”
Review of AC Hotel Recoletos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Recoletos
Ranked #140 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in AC hotels in Barcelona and Madrid and do not feel they are level 6 Marriott. Not prudes but the "so-called see through walls" of the bathroom as StevieB1975 put it are a little strange and uncomfortable. This hotel would be OK for a one or two night stay but not 5 nights as there is no storage other than a small closet. The room is very cramped. Noisy neighborhood.

The staff was helpful and the location is great but we would not choose an AC hotel again for
a 5 night stay. We did not feel that we were treated as Marriott Reward members and have
stayed in hundreds of Marriott hotels.

Room Tip: higher floor probably better for keeping out street noise
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for AC Hotel Recoletos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel has become my common reference when traveling to Madrid either for business, or family visits.
Location is great just a few blocks from Renfe Recoletos station which can take you straight to the airport in minutes. Also close to the Metro station.
The staff goes all out in terms of service.
The room is spacious, modern and clean. If you are a Marriott Rewards member free Wi-Fi and amenities will just improve your experience.
Overall ... this is a must in Madrid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luisdelatorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

surpased my expectations and the only thing I will ask them to improve is the single beds arranged to appear to be a queen bed..not the best solution.

everything else was excellent..near "puerta de Alcala" walking distance to many other cultural attractions "fuente de jupiter", puerta del sol etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Overall a great well appointed hotel, with attentive staff. We used this as a base for our 3 day trip to Madrid in Sep 2013 and we loved every minute. We got a room with a balcony overlooking Recoletos street and it was great to watch the world go by.

If you've been reading some of the other reviews, then you may, by now, be somewhat concerned about the so-called see through toilet walls. The only question I would suggest you ask yourself is how uptight you deem yourself to be. The glass walls are opaque you can't see through them except for vague shapes and quite frankly the design is stunning with a lovely soft glow coming from the bathroom when watching TV at night.

The gym is small but then what do you expect from a fairly small boutique style hotel.

Great location for the museums and also Retiro park and only a short walk to the shopping areas.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevieb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our stay here was as good as it gets. Excellent location friendly helpful staff, clean room sized perfectly for two people. We arrived from the air port very early and the Hotel held our luggage as we walked just over 10 minutes to the Prado. When we returned our bags were in our room. We always ask for a quiet room and our room was on the top floor with modern skylights instead of windows. There was plenty of sunlight. and remote control skylight shades .The bed was larger than queen and very comfortable. the bathroom very functional with good water pressure .The room was modern, attractive and functional. there was a safe . House keeping did a good job as we left each morning and found our room clean and made up whenever we returned. For breakfast on mid week mornings we simply crossed the street to Delinas( a small coffee shop chain) . Light breakfast for two including tea, rolls , pastry and fresh squeezed orange juice was approximately $8 euros total . Within 15 minutes you can walk to the Prada, Retiro Park, Hop /On off Bus stops, Botanic Gardens , Rena Sofia and the Train station( the old section with trees and a turtle pond inside is very interesting).There are restaurants nearby , and you can cab to almost anywhere for about $ 10 euros. Very safe upscale area and you see people of all ages and genders able to walk along safely at night. This Hotel was excellent

Room Tip: We liked the top floor- no street noise what so ever
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgod1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 miserable nights in September. We are leaving now and I cannot wait.
Whoever designed these rooms should be fired. It is impossible to go to the bathroom. No sound or light insulation. Putting a glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom and placing the toilet right on the side closest to the bedroom is some kind of a joke. Unless you are traveling alone, good luck using this bathroom for its intended purpose. Parts of bath/shower glass door falling off while in normal use.
They charge you for in- room wifi - who does this anymore? Especially surprising as this is obviously a corporate type hotel.
No drawers, very limited shelf space, no tissues, very, very old and tired towels and bathrobe (which I had to request several times before it was actually brought), no coffee/tea maker, a horrible looking tiny gym below ground, and a very small and dangerously laid out parking garage. Hated this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had a room with a small window over an empty courtyard. You could have this hotel room anywhere in the world. It was dark and I always had to switch on the light. The bathroom had glass walls. Okay when you are alone... I enjoyed the location and surroundings of the hotel, less than a minute from the Parque del Retiro and with nice restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel One Shot Recoletos 04
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#28 of 438 in Madrid
559 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#73 of 438 in Madrid
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Recoletos

Address: Calle Recoletos 18, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Madrid
#75 Business Hotel in Madrid
#97 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £130 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AC Hotel Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing