We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“madrid”
Review of AC Hotel Recoletos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Recoletos
Ranked #126 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“madrid”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

this was a nice hotel with a good location. Had never been to Madrid before and this was a weekend visit before business. the room was okay, typical hotel, but the breakfast was good and the staff was nice and helpful.








Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dampa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    234
    52
    16
    3
See reviews for
86
195
34
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The gym was a bit basic, especially after the description in the in-room-directory, but everything else was exceeding expectations. The room was of a high standard, especially highly appreciated the wooden floor throughout. As a was staying in the room alone, the opaque glass-walls of the bathroom didn't bother me, otherwise they may be a little inconvenient at a nightly visit. Very nice & helpful staff and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xerxenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel was a surprise to me. I was expecting an average accommodation. There was nothing average about it.
Front desk was friendly, rooms were clean with comfortable beds ( I had 2 rooms). Breakfast was available with plentiful food and attentive server. Work out area downstairs was modest but adequate. The price of the rooms were very reasonable.
Its location is also a plus. The neighborhood has a nice feel to it and there is a good restaurant just a block away.
My only criticism is that the ceiling over the shower had been only partially and poorly repaired from an obvious leak above.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyagerFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The key to this hotel is the fantastic location. It is 1 block from the Retiro park and an easy walk to the Prado museum and many good and lively cafes. The staff was accommodating as well. I understand some of the people's issues with the opaque glass separating the bathroom, however, I've seen this in other fine hotels and it isn't a big problem. My first room wasn't what I wanted and the staff promptly accommodated my request for a different room.

Hints - there is a fruit store next door, buy fruit and keep it in your room. There is also a small supermarket, buy your snacks and water there because it is much cheaper. Directly across the street there is a cheap breakfast place along with a nice little restaurant for tapas. Down the street is Mallorca, a pastry shop with food.

Housekeeping was very good and efficient as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rockemsockemrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

For our trip to Madrid this hotel was in a perfect location. We could walk to most locations and sites. The Prado is very close as well as every location we wanted to see. The Metro is very close also. The accommodations were small but typical for Europe. Breakfast was expensive but we fund a sidewalk cafe a block away that was perfect. The bar was a good meeting place for visitors and the car park while expensive served us well.

Room Tip: You can walk anywhere from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RibMountain60370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in AC hotels in Barcelona and Madrid and do not feel they are level 6 Marriott. Not prudes but the "so-called see through walls" of the bathroom as StevieB1975 put it are a little strange and uncomfortable. This hotel would be OK for a one or two night stay but not 5 nights as there is no storage other than a small closet. The room is very cramped. Noisy neighborhood.

The staff was helpful and the location is great but we would not choose an AC hotel again for
a 5 night stay. We did not feel that we were treated as Marriott Reward members and have
stayed in hundreds of Marriott hotels.

Room Tip: higher floor probably better for keeping out street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel has become my common reference when traveling to Madrid either for business, or family visits.
Location is great just a few blocks from Renfe Recoletos station which can take you straight to the airport in minutes. Also close to the Metro station.
The staff goes all out in terms of service.
The room is spacious, modern and clean. If you are a Marriott Rewards member free Wi-Fi and amenities will just improve your experience.
Overall ... this is a must in Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luisdelatorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel One Shot Recoletos 04
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#25 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#70 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Luxury Suites
Luxury Suites
#199 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Recoletos

Property: AC Hotel Recoletos
Address: Calle Recoletos 18, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Madrid
#75 Business Hotel in Madrid
#87 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing