We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AC Hotel Recoletos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel Recoletos
Ranked #138 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
220 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our first visit to an AC hotel and from the moment we walked in, we loved it. We checked in and went up to our room -- and amazingly enough there was a glassed in shower kinda' in the middle of the room. This was a design first for me however it was new, modern and fun.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel however each day they had a wonderful breakfast buffet that would satisfy anyone. They had everything you'd want, including some delicious Iberico ham. The staff are all helpful, especially when recommending places to go and see in Madrid.

This hotel is centrally located and between the Madrid subway and their excellent bus service we roamed the city and museums with ease. The Prado isn't far away -- and many, many great restaurants are in the area. There are several options for buying all day tickets on the subway and all of the signs are in English, so it's very easy. They also have a wonderful city-tour bus company that allowed on-off stops around the city on two routes. Great value and the best way to beat Madrid traffic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    230
    51
    16
    3
See reviews for
82
193
34
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Location, location, location.... This hotel is in the middle of the action, just a block from "Puerta de Alcala" and "Parque el Retiro" which are fantastic places, also there is a lot of restaurants near by for you to eat with great prices. Madrid is a magic city and in this Hotel the experience is even better.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanjomunoz_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a real winner - it has a great location and the design is superb with stylish rooms including wood floors and relaxing design. The staff was very professional and friendly. My bathroom had a shower and a separate bath. The hotel is small and very cool.

I was here for 3 nights over New Years. The location is a posh neighbourhood, Salamanca, and is near El Prado and the Thyssen museums, close to Grand Via and close to a subway, near good restaurants and on a quiet street.

The breakfast option with the room is worth it and allows a la carte orders in addition to the buffet. The gym is tiny.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVancouverites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is cute on the outside and very updated on the inside. The staff were outstanding, providing prompt service and lots of helpful tips for Madrid. The location is great for the Prado and the other museums in the museum quarter, and the hotel is less than a ten minute walk from a metro stop.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the AC Hotel Recoletos in Madrid for five nights during the end of October. I used my Marriott reward points for the stay and was given a room on the 5th floor. It was very quiet in the hotel and the skylights with the window shades made the room very dark for sleeping, which was great help in dealing with my jet lag. The morning I arrived, a room was ready for me by 11:30. The location is in a quieter part of Madrid, I spoke to people during my trip who stayed in more of the heart of the tourist area, and they said it was very noisy at night, so Recoletos was definitely a good choice. A five minute walk to the metro station, which is an excellent way to get around Madrid. I recommend the Mallorca food shop/restaurant which is located a block away for some good food, especially if you don't want to have to wait until 10 pm for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel was so easy to get to via Metro from Airport. I would recommend it to all. It was very clean and the staff was SO helpful. The location was about 15 walking distance to the centre of Madrid. There are lots of places to eat and drink 2 mins from the hotel. We never ate or drank in the hotel so can't tell you anything about that but small reastaurant on the corner from hotel was a great stop from breakfast.

Room Tip: When we checked in our room was not ready so we opted to wait. They held our bags and we went for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was a nice hotel right in the heart of the golden street and walking distance to gran via. Rooms were of a high quality, fit for a 4 star property. The front desk were very attentive to our needs and made sure that we were well looked after. Spacious toilets and comfortable bedding.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinLee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel One Shot Recoletos 04
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#25 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#72 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Luxury Suites
Luxury Suites
#196 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Recoletos

Property: AC Hotel Recoletos
Address: Calle Recoletos 18, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Madrid
#75 Business Hotel in Madrid
#95 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing