We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, no frills”
Review of AC Hotel Recoletos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Recoletos
Ranked #139 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a fantastic location, very central in Madrid. The Mariott brand lends this hotel credibility. However, this was a fairly no frills experience. The room and bathroom were quite basic and plain. It's a room to sleep at night, and not much else. Plenty of eateries and shops nearby, so the hotel has barely anything in it. The kitchen closes quite early. Bar was very quiet, not many people there.

Stay here if you just need a clean and comfortable place to sleep. For charm and character, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderwoman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for AC Hotel Recoletos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Its location gives AC Recoletos a massive plus. It is very handy for all of Madrid's central attractions. That said, i found the price quite high given the level of service/amenities. For the same overall price (internet and breakfast are not included) you can find better hotels in Madrid but without the location advantage.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of June and were not disappointed. The hotel was well maintained and is in a very good location. The rooms are a decent size but the glass bathroom walls are a bit weird. This is the first time we have ever experienced this design and were not overly thrilled. The rooms do have a safe and refrigerator which is an added bonus. There isn't a coffee pot or tea kettle in the room which I feel should be included. The location is great for walking to most sights you would want to see. We did a lot of walking and found some beautiful spots! We did eat the breakfast one morning and it has a good variety. However, we had an employee discount so it was much more reasonable, I would not pay the price they usually ask! Overall a very good hotel and in a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goingbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I've stayed here a number of times and every experience has been excellent. Staff is great, rooms are clean and good size and there isn't a better location in Madrid. Breakfast is typical Spanish and served until 12:00. On the corner of two quiet streets. About 100m to the RENFE which is a €2.50 and a 22 minute ride to the airport. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We checked in early and asked for assistance with out bags, which they did not have. The man behind the counter then had the female come out to help which i would not have. I carried the bags in myself. You think a man would do the rolling, not even lifting, all of our suitcases are rollers. I found that to be rude.

The room was small, which is normal for Europe. I did not receive an upgrade due to Marriott Gold which was shocking since the hotel seemed dead during our stay. There was a constant knocking noise for our two nights which we told the front desk about 4 or 5 times. They seemed like they could care less.

I would not stay here again, i would stay at the AC hotel Palacio del Retiro, they are closer to the park and seems more quite and a little more upscale. The breakfast was overpriced and it is a shame since we would have eaten there since there are very few breakfast places around.

Room Tip: Don't stay on 1st floor, go for higher one- maybe you won't hear the noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia P, Front Office Manager at AC Hotel Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Mr. Hand,

Thank you very much for contacting us.

The hotel has no bellboy during the whole day but our front desk staff try to help guests with their luggage everytime. In the hotel women and men are the same so if a guest ask for help with bags and there is no men at that time of they are busy we will help exactly like them.

The hotel has no superior room, that is why you didn´t get an upgrade. As a gold member you got a room at 8:23 am instead of 3 pm, which is our check in time. I would like to inform you that the hotel was fully booked during the whole weekend.

I also want to remind you that AC Palacio del Retiro is a wonderful hotel nearby; it is a 5 star hotel where you will pay a price of a 5 star hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here in April and really enjoyed the hotel. It is a perfect location for visiting Madrid. Close to all the attractions and just off the bustling Paseo de Recoletos. It is a modern design with fairly spacious rooms. Some might have an issue with the all glass bathroom and shower - but that did not bother me. It is frosted glass for a bit of privacy. Rates were excellent for a property in this location with similar amenities. I paid 149 euros/night.

The bar serves both food and drink - although not a huge menu, the food was good. While we were there, they had live music once a week - a nice treat! Stayed for 8 days and was very comfortable. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAbendhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Good location just off Independence Plaza. Very close to the beautiful Retiro Park. Nearby Retiro metro stop makes public transportation convenient. Nothing too fancy about the hotel, but modern style and all the basics. Better priced that properties directly adjacent to the park. Would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank texasag00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel One Shot Recoletos 04
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#28 of 438 in Madrid
559 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#74 of 438 in Madrid
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Recoletos

Address: Calle Recoletos 18, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Madrid
#75 Business Hotel in Madrid
#96 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £130 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AC Hotel Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing