We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem very close to the centre of Madrid”
Review of AC Hotel Recoletos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Recoletos
Ranked #129 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden gem very close to the centre of Madrid”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Superb service by the staff at this hotel, especially Lidia who was incredibly helpful and pleasant to deal with. Very clean hotel with good sized rooms. Just a couple of minutes from Puerta de Alcala and 10 minutes walk to Puerta del Sol. I would thoroughly recommend the AC Hotel Recoletos to anybody whether on business or leisure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    237
    54
    16
    3
See reviews for
86
197
34
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very clean, modern hotel. The hotel is down a side street off of the main streets. The area was quiet... the hotel itself looks like it was completely redone. The front desk is super friendly and helpful. The bar area is small, and the restaurant is in the basement. Due to the size of the hotel I do not think the bar is used much (though it is SPOTLESS) we did not dine at the hotel. The room was nice size for spain and again, very clean and modern. The bathroom used a glass "smoked" enclosure... so if you are in bed, you can see your spouses outline on the toilet. NOT a huge deal but might be if you were traveling as a family. Due to this being in a quiet residential area there is not much of a view from the windows but we were VERY happy with our room. The hotel is close to everything we wanted to see and close the metro station. NO pool, but that is common in a hotel of this size. I would definitely recommend this place. Walking distance to Prado, and the park, quick train ride to Las Ventas, decent hike to Puerta Del Sol. We came into Atocha and got a cab, we left via the airport and took a cab (best options for both)

Room Tip: We stayed in 308 but I am sure all the rooms are nice. Front desk people were all very helpful. Wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were visiting our son, a student, in Madrid. We needed an easy walking, safe neighborhood, close to attractions, and his apartment. AC Hotel Recoletos was perfect for our needs. Rooms are fairly large for Spanish hotels, very clean and had lots of basic amenities in the room ( hairdryer, shampoo & conditioner, things missing in some other hotels). They also had free Wi-fi, a nice plus. AC has a wonderful staff that spoke very good English, a big plus for us, as we needed help renting a vehicle. The staff got the van we needed, held our luggage while we traveled through Spain for a week and had our cases in our room when we returned. Great service. We found the decor charming and although we are not big fans of the "frosted glass" bathroom, it was roomy,clean and had plenty of towels. The only negative we found, was the breakfast option- all or nothing - $18 Eu per person, lots of nice choices, including eggs to order, but a couple mornings we just wanted something light, and that felt pretty pricey for coffee and a croissant. Still it was a lovely experience and we would stay again. We recommend this hotel for adult travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if available, just feels more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel offers you everything you need in terms of good rest, amenities, and functioning a/c, curtains, etc. which are not always so standard in every hotel in Spain. The in-room internet also worked, another improvement over other places. Most importantly is the neighborhood it is in. It was in a safe and beautiful area, right next to Retiro Park and only a 10-15 minute walk to both the Prado Museum and Puerta del Sol. There is a hop-on-hop-off bus stop around the corner and cabs are easy to get.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, but highly incomplete of the basics and what is expected of a Marriott hotel. For example of some of the items missing: iron, coffee pot washcloths, electronic keys, safety latch, desk, sufficient electrical outlets, conditioner, functioning elevator 100% of the time, etc. It's a nice little hotel but not for this price level and expectation level.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia P, Front Office Manager at AC Hotel Recoletos, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear madam,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the comments about our hotel, which helps us to improve our service.

Iron and iron board can be provided if requested in front desk; the hotel has electronic keys for all the rooms, and also every room has a safety latch. Our selection of amenities includes shampoo, gel, body lotion and conditioner among others, which are replaced every day.

Also, we would like to clarify that our elevators work all the time, but we apologize in case you suffered an unusual break down.

We regret very much we did not meet your expectations

In spite of these inconviniences, we hope you had a comfortable stay in Madrid and thank you for your confidence in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
182 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was a pleasant suprise. It was on a quieter street though just a short walk to the main park and to the main tourist areas. I appreciated how helpful the staff was about ensuring you knew where you were going and they all spoke very good English, not always common in Spain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is located on a very quiet street but is very close to the Prado Museum and the Hop-On, Hop-Off stops. We were extremely impressed with the staff and the room was very large. It features a room screen which we were able to roll down in June during the day to take a brief nap after a 17 hour traveling to Spain. If you check the hotel's web site, you will find it is extremely helpful in planning your stay in Madrid. We will visit it again!

Room Tip: Check the hotel's web site!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel One Shot Recoletos 04
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#23 of 436 in Madrid
537 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#66 of 436 in Madrid
614 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Recoletos

Property: AC Hotel Recoletos
Address: Calle Recoletos 18, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Madrid
#75 Business Hotel in Madrid
#89 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing