We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to be EXCELLENT, try being consistently GOOD first!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Bistro - Plaza Mayor

Metro Bistro - Plaza Mayor
Ranked #40 of 10,439 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Centro
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
464 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“If you want to be EXCELLENT, try being consistently GOOD first!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had read about this downtown restaurant, liked the sound of it, and with the help of "recepcion" at the excellent "Catalonia Las Cortes" hotel, had booked a table for Friday night dinner. Still adjusting to local late-eating habits, we were the first to arrive on the night - it's a modern, well-appointed premises on Calle Imperial, with predominantly black/white decor + beaty music.

Our welcome was friendly, and we had the distinct advantage of being able to pick a table. The Menu indicated a reasonable choice of Starters : my "Better Half" M selected a "Hummus" dish, while I went for the "Home-made Foie Terrine". The choice of Mains was disappointing : Squid, an obscure Japanese Fish, "Spanish style" Sweet & Sour Pork, Steak Tartare, and, believe it or not, Hamburger! Em, we both felt our only reasonable option was the Hamburger, despite the fact that we've eaten in more than a few restaurants with widely varying influences. As for wine, we attempted to order the seemingly better of the Rias Baixas offerings, but had to settle for the lesser option, making us wonder how much of the presented list was actually available?

Anyway, we ordered, and as a preliminary we were presented with a "Celery Mojito" - our Server glowingly talked this up (a practice we discovered is part of the restaurant's approach) and it was quite tasty. As for our actual Starters, M pronounced her Hummus "very tasty", and my "Terrine", while beautifully presented, suffered from being too chilled, obscuring the flavour.

Style, presentation and description are clearly "big" here, and we'll come back to that. Our Burgers (!) were in a kind-of layered format : M's was cooked as requested, while mine was nothing like the "medium-well" I had asked for in both Spanish & English. With a bit of "theatre" my Burger was taken back and replaced - one of the layers this time was about right, the other not.

We sampled one of the Desserts - an apple crumble - again introduced to us with elaborate, glowing descriptions of its ingredients, and it was fair enough. Before the end, we were presented with fancy pastille-type sweets, on a special piece of stone (of course!).

Our conclusion about this meal + our experience at "Metro Bistro" is simply this : you're clearly aspiring to be something "different", but before you get to be "excellent", you need to consistently get the "basics" right. For example, your choice of "Mains" is poor, and if you insist on including Hamburger, get the cooking right ; secondly, ensure that when the customer needs cutlery, he/she has it ; thirdly, if you're bringing a meal course to the table, make sure the last course has been cleared, if only for space reasons. And above all, don't confuse "talking-up" and "fancy presentation" with delivery of a good food & service product!

Our Bill (pre-gratuity) was a very reasonable Euro 66-60, and we would commend our main Server Michaela for her good-humoured efforts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gooner10_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatiasyLida, Propietario at Metro Bistro - Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your opinion! Thank you for trusting us to rely on the sound that I was reading our criticisms and also to trust that the reception staff excellent Hotel "Catalonia Las Cortes." We will consider all advice and we love knowing that the treatment of Miahela been to your liking and especially the humor that characterizes you leave a nice finishing touch to your visit. We will be happy to receive on future visits to Madrid. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    292
    64
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 thumbs up !!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

never changed.... still the same price- quality i enjoyed two years back.. the innovations are still there. And now with their new bigger site...much more spacious but.. the passion to offer quality dishes still remain. Thanks to the entire bistro team...KUDOS !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatiasyLida, Propietario at Metro Bistro - Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion! Definitely a pleasure after two years continue to enjoy our cuisine, all the Team strives to make our work philosophy always continue on the same path even opening a new site!
Always Happy to welcoming you at both Metro Bistro!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull England
Level Contributor
350 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great New Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Visited 24/05/2014 having pre-booked from England.
This is one of the nicest places to eat in Madrid. I had the Tasting Menu and can only describe it as sublime presentation taste and textures where to die for. The second sweet "death by Chocolatte" would be the most heavenly way to go ever.
Please give this place a try when next in Madrid you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithGHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatiasyLida, Propietario at Metro Bistro - Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion! It certainly is a pleasure not to disappoint when trusted us according comments from TripAdvisor users. Knowing that ye enjoyed our meal so the flavors and textures as the presentation is a satisfaction for the whole team!
Always Happy to entertain you in both Metro Bistro! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant Where the Locals Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Always trusting Trip Advisor, I checked this website for the best restaurant in Madrid, Spain. Up popped Metro Bistro at the top of the list, and for very good reason. Outstanding service, authentic Spanish food (or American fare) served in the most creative presentations you could imagine. How about French fries with three dipping sauces, a hamburger without a bun stuffed with potatoes and the best short ribs I have ever tasted. This restaurant has a "Must Eat Here" status.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatiasyLida, Propietario at Metro Bistro - Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion! It certainly is a pleasure not to disappoint when trusted us according comments from TripAdvisor users. Knowing that ye enjoyed the burgers and fries is a satisfaction for the whole team!
Always Happy to welcoming you at both Metro Bistro because, as you say, when you're in Madrid, "You must eat here!"
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went here after reading t a reviews. The restaurant was practically empty when we went which was a surprise as it was SO good. Probably the best value tasting menu at €34 anywhere! Waitress was lovely and spoke excellent English. Food was interesting, delicious and different, celery mojito to start delicious . You have to go here !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mumblebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatiasyLida, Propietario at Metro Bistro - Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion! It certainly is a pleasure not disappoint when trusted us according comments from TripAdvisor users.
We are happy to always receive both Metro Bistro! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metro Bistro - Plaza Mayor also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Metro Bistro - Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing