We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Hostal Triana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Triana
Ranked #46 of 390 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Great location, sparkling clean room & bath room. Beds were very comfortable. Good sized twin room with closet and doors to balcony overlooking Plaza del Carmen. Did not need A/C. Can be noisy if you like the doors open -- ask for an interior room if you want quiet. Staff were excellent! Made and then modified reservation via email. I would stay here again. Recommended in Rick Steves' guide book. Some street parking, parking garage under plaza.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony for a view or interior for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazardClassMage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    76
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
53
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I just loved this hostel! The location is great and the staff was so friendly and nice. I moved from Best Western Los Condes wich was terrible and hostal Triana got a room ready for me in 20 minutes! I got a double room with a bathroom. The room was homie, clean, and comfy. Book it! :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regnfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This was a very nice hostal in Madrid in front of the Plaza de Carmen, which is a few minutes from the popular Puerta del Sol. You are minutes away from restaurants, bars and tons of shopping!

We had a triple room overlooking the Plaza de Carmen. The room was very clean, had a private bathroom, free wifi and the price was a good value. It was noisy in the middle of the night due to all the people leaving the bars in the area. The employees were very friendly and helpful, and we only encountered one person who did not speak english. I would definitely recommend this hostal for your next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jess_779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Very nice hostal in Madrid. You can walk to just about anywhere and are surrounded by restaurants and bars. We purchased a 10 ticket subway pas, but only ended up using it a couple of time.

Free wifi and basic clean rooms, for the price, you can't do much better! As others have mentioned, the walls are very thin so if you have some loud neighbours, this can be an issue. Also, Victor was very nice, but sadly this was not really the case for other employees.

These little details aside, I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gohabsgo2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

It's located in 5-minute walk from Puerta del Sol - heart of Madrid. Very clean, the staff is very helpful, but they don't speak English.
The beds are comfortable, but you can't sleep well because of the noise from outside. Although our daughter, 10 years old, didn't hear anything and slept tight. :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishka60645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Price was very good for such a good location in Madrid. But you kinda get what you pay for. It was just a basic room, double bed, tv, no a/c, on the 2nd floor of a building that had some other hostals and apartments in it. Saw a cock roach in our room one night, but otherwise clean. 24hr front desk staff was friendly. Wifi from Triana didn't seem to work, but from a different hostal it did.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VanTrvlGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My friend and I stayed at Hostal Triana for two nights. The rooms were clean with a TV (not that we watched it) and beds were comfortable. The staff were helpful and learned quickly what room we were in making us feel welcome. I did ask for an interior room on the third floor based on what others said about it. As a result, we had peaceful nights sleep. The location is great - just up from Puerta del Sol and the Sol Metro stop. And the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#104 of 436 in Madrid
714 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#153 of 436 in Madrid
588 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 390 in Madrid
224 reviews
Centro
Hostal Mendoza Madrid
Hostal Mendoza Madrid
#45 of 277 in Madrid
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Triana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Triana

Property: Hostal Triana
Address: Calle Salud 13, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 390 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Triana 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Triana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Triana Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing