We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Santo Domingo
Ranked #22 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Tirana, Albania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place and location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

With my friend we stood there a weekend, but everythig was very good. Its easily reachable from Cibelles where usually the express bus leaves you. Very close to the metro station , just few steps from Gran Via, and on the back side of the hotel there is Malasanga. No better location.
VERY RECCOMENDED

:)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnKeLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    124
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
225
49
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed there for my weekend in Madrid. It's hard to find anything better at this price! Location is great, close to shops, cafes and metro. The room was small, but clean and nice. I haven't seen double rooms, but my single was just the best fit for a solo traveller. There were no problems with fecilities. Staff was very friendly and helped to look about. I'd love to stay there next time and would definitely recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: Take rooms rather far off the laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A very good option if you are on a budget. The rooms were simple but clean and practical, the location is excellent in the city centre with very good access to the tube and the staff very friendly and helpful. As we visited Madrid during the Champions League, we even found a polite note with advice about where to ge the bus to the airport based on which team wins!Staff spoke very good English and provided us with a detailed map with recommendations. Overall, very good value for money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Artemis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

At the risk of making it more difficult to get a room here, I will sing the praises of this hostal. I have over 30 years of experience traveling in Spain and my philosophy has always been "why spend a lot on a room when the point is to be out on the street and enjoying life, anyway?" Especially in Madrid, for heaven's sake! For the past few years I have been staying at a different hostal in nearby Chueca, but this time it was booked so I branched out and found this gem. Many newcomers will like the fact that it's located right above the Gran Vía, but for me the draw is that it's located right below Malasaña, one of the most interesting neighborhoods in Madrid from the perspective of a tourist who hates tourists. Like all hostales in Madrid, this one has the traditional, well-worn, wooden stairs leading up from the street. But once you get inside the hostal proper, you get a much more contemporary vibe, thanks to the tasteful, modernist remodeling it underwent some years ago. The staff, which mans the reception desk 24-7, is as friendly and helpful as you will find in Madrid. The rooms are well equipped and wonderfully quiet; at least mine, which faced away from the street. But I suspect the noise level is modest even for the rooms overlooking the little plaza out front, given that it is not one that is dominated by bars or "terrazas." It has a playground and that's about it. And if you're concerned about security, the policia nacional occupies the building on the opposite side. All is all, a great find.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canilupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great hostal, with a perfect location near shopping, restaurants and metro. Overall, we experienced a great service provided by receptionists, and the rooms where very clean and comportable! We stayed in a standard room, which was suitable for our weekend trip.
Recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regnbuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent location just off Gran Via and in full view of a huge police station for security at night!
This modest hotel in the redlight district looks unprepossessing from the outside, but offers comfortable, modernised rooms and exudes hospitality. Warmly recommended. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KulturaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The location was close to Gran Via and central to getting to the popular sites in Madrid. It was quiet, clean, and the staff was friendly. The room was small but we weren't planning to spend much time there. It was exactly what we needed: comfortable bed, shower, and toilet. We stayed 2 nights and it was a good price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 409funtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#150 of 436 in Madrid
518 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#109 of 436 in Madrid
2,700 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#95 of 436 in Madrid
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#59 of 436 in Madrid
2,198 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#35 of 436 in Madrid
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santo Domingo

Property: Hostal Santo Domingo
Address: Calle Luna 6, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Santo Domingo, located in Madrid's Maravillas district, was first opened in 1962. Over the past 50 years it has provided a roof for thousands of visitors. In 2007 refurbishments were completed, transforming this pleasant Hostal into a comfortable and modern place to stay. All rooms have different decoration styles and their own bathroom, hairdryer, t.v. and telephone. Central heating, air conditioning, Wi-Free and cromotherapy are also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Santo Domingo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing