We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Madrid”
Review of Hostal Comercial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Comercial
Ranked #214 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Madrid”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

- Great location - right outside Metro station SOL
- Close to various attractions and happening plazas
- Close to main market area/shopping zone and eateries and bars
- Clean and nice rooms
- Great room service and very good hosts
- They even allowed us early check in and guided us about the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvyrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    87
    26
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
102
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

CONVENIENT. That word completely describes this Hostal.
Is it quiet? Not really.
Are the rooms large? Sort of medium.
Is the proprietor friendly and helpful? YES, but you have to understand the he only knows a few words of English but I communicated well with a map and pictures and the knowledge of a little Spanish.
Does it have an Elevator? Yes!
It ALS has a refrigerator in the room which was handy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A little bit noisy from street below at night, but this was a small price to pay for such a great location. Just a 5 minute walk from Metro Station "SOL" and 5 minutes in the opposite direction found you in Plaza Mayor.
We were a bit sceptical choosing a "Hostal"..but we were delighted when we saw the room. It was in a typical Spanish building and had everything and more that a big hotel had to offer (even a small balcony) but for less than half the price. Room was small but cleaned every day and coffee etc replenished every day..and lets face it with so much to see and do in Madid you are only really using the room to sleep in. Hosts were welcoming and friendly. When we go back to Madrid, we will certainly be staying here again.
We have only marked 3 for Sleep Quality based on the fact that the room we were in overlooked a busy pedestrianised area, but as I said before it was a small price to pay and I would be very happy to stay in that room again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

One of the highly rated hostel in Madrid, with excellent location to both Plaza Mayor and Sol. The room is adequately sized with free mini breakfast (croissant and tea sachets). The in room heating system is particularly useful for winter months.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The place is family runned and they are all incredibly nice and friendly, overwhelming our expectations ! Special wishes were attended without any problems, a room to the back, no smoking, a corkscrew in the room ...
Very pleased with everything! Ah and very good beds and the rooms have a powerful heating which we had even to turn it down! THANK YOU All ;))

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very very centrally located. Within 30 meters you are located on what of the busiest and biggest streets in madrid. A 30 second walk away you're in literally the city centre and very close to a metro station.

The food impression you get of the hostel is a very clean and tidy place. It is very evident that the owner is very proud of the place and does his best to maintain it in anyway possible. The rooms are nice and the beds are quite large and super comfortable. No real complaints from me besides just be wary that the rooms are quite small (well mine was so others I would guess, would be too)

Very warm rooms also so good in the winter. Would return if returning to madrid!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lucachizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The location of this hostel is great. It near Plaza Mayor and it is not far from the airport. It is also near a metro station. The hostel is clean and it has a good connection of Wifi. The price is also reasonable and the host is helpful. I would stay here again if I go to Madrid next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#274 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#235 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#95 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#184 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Centro
Hostal Adriano
Hostal Adriano
#231 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Centro
Hostal Gala
Hostal Gala
#156 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Comercial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Comercial

Property: Hostal Comercial
Address: c/ Esparteros 12 - 2o, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#51 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Comercial 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Comercial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Comercial Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing