We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, roomy with friendly staff”
Review of Room Mate Oscar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Oscar
Ranked #52 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Phoenix
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient, roomy with friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Property is located in central Madrid, very easy to get most places within a 15-20 minute stroll. Subway stops not too far, but not next door either. All staff encountered were very friendly and helpful. Hotel itself is comfortable. Hallways are dark, lights come on as you walk down the hallway, but never really lit up brightly. Room itself was of good size, with unique design. Bathroom (toilet and shower) were in a glass room in the middle of the room, with the bed up against one of the glass walls. Even with the design on the glass and the sheer curtain, would not be truly comfortable if traveling with another person and using the facilities. Whilst the design is cool, it does not allow anywhere to hang your towel after showering, nor anywhere other than the floor to place soap/shampoo. Room had good space, with in room safe. Would stay here again when traveling solo if price is right. Breakfast was good for price with various options.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    707
    228
    86
    59
See reviews for
112
915
233
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great hotel, near city center. You can walk to all the nice things Madrid is offering. We got a upgrade because the first room was not nice at all: smells like someone smoked. Staff was very friendly and helpful after we complaint. Nice bars and restaurants are near the hotel. Will come back for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arno756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

great location at the center of madrid. a walking distance from all the sites. wonderful staff, always there to answer any question and always smiling. spacious room,beautifully designed and a very comfortable bed. we were staying at the first floor, you can vaguely hear the music from the bar downstairs, didn't bother our very good night sleep. this is one of the hotels you enjoy to come back to after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natti d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Natti,

A huge thank you for your beautiful words about Óscar and about us!!

We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel and Madrid,

Hope you can repeat with us soon in the early future!!

Best regards from all the team to you and Tel Aviv!


Támara López
Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very nice hotel located perfectly two blocks from Gran Via at beautiful Square Plaza Vazques.
Walking distance to many sites of interest.
Spacious rooms. Nice breakfast
Friendly and helpful staff. I will definietly stay at Oscar when I return to Madrid.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flaxenvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear flaxenvik,

Thank you very very much for your words!

We look forward to have you again (and soon) with us in Óscar!

Best regards from all the team,

Támara López
Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staufen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

In case you like to stroll around in walking distance to all the great museums, excellent restaurants, funny bars and feel fine in the area of shopping delights: there it is, a modern design hotel, lovely service, good looking people with kindest manners and as central to your kinky desires as you can wish!
Don't miss walks in C/Barriquillo (shopping), Plaza Santa Ana (cafesito), Academia dellas Bellas Artes (GOYA!!!) and the cosy restaurants in C/Libertad: "Bazaar" and "Carmenzita" with best food ever!
The only thing we missed was a coffee machine in the room, the rest was splendid, we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: # 702 spicy + lovely view over the roofs of roaring Madrid # 602 for shorter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Tom W,

Wowww, I am quite.... wordless! with your review!

Thank you very much for your words, there is nothing that makes us feel happier than reading these kind of comments from our guests stay,

We look forward to welcoming you again so you can keep enjoying our beautiful city!

Best regards from all the team,

Támara López
Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROSSE POINTE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

There are not enough superlatives to describe this hotel. Staff went totally out of their way to make us comfortable. They were extremely friendly. Laura and David at the front desk made us feel like family. The restaurant breakfasts were great: lots of choices. The location is wonderful, we were able to walk to almost everything for everything is only 30 minutes away by foot. The place is clean and modern and NON SMOKING.
I will put Room Mate on my list of preferred hotels. I couldn't ask for anything more. They anticipated all our needs.

Room Tip: Madrid likes to party so they stay up late having a ton of fun. So an inside room is best for you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUD O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Bud O,

Wow! I'm speechless, what a beautiful review you have written! Thank you very very much for your words, specially the ones for the front desk team ;)

We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and nothing would make us happier than having you again in Óscar, so please, come back soon!

Best regards from the whole team,

Támara López
Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I've stayed here many times as I'm usually in Madrid 2-3 weeks every January - and usually other times during the year. I think I'm over this place now. Its mainly the little things - the windows in the rooms to the backyard needs to be closed always due to constant loud noise from the kitchen on the 1st floor that has its windows open. That goes on to after 1 am every night. The sofas in the exterior rooms are unconformable - basically 2 plastic covered mattresses. But I do agree they look very pretty. The beds feel "worn" - time for a mattress upgrade. Asking for having your room done at a (fairly flexible) time (as I work a lot from the room and go out for lunch) failed basically every other day on my last visit. Laundry service that is guaranteed within 24 hours took 40 - with the excuse that traffic was bad. Yes, Madrid traffic can be tough...but not 16 hours late. The limited breakfast buffet has been exactly the same for as long as I can remember.

Room Tip: the interior rooms are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hroald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonzalo L, Gerente at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Harald,
Thank you very much for being an Óscar fan. We are very proud of having guests and friends such like you.
We are very sad because you did not feel at home in January, which is a very bad new.
Nevertheless, as we have talked through email, we are looking forward for your next visit in May. I am sure that your experience then will be a Room Mate experience, totally different than the one you had in January.
During 2013 we have changed all the mattress of the hotel. In addition, we have improved our breakfast with hot meals (eggs, bacon, and sausages), variety of breads, nutella, range of pastries… All this wide offer for only 8,95€!
Regarding the laundry service, we have talked with our partner and they are going to guarantee a service of 24 hours.
Since we know a guest wants the cleaning service early, we do that as it is requested. Sorry for those days the cleaning service wasn´t at the time you expected.
Please give us the chance in May to show you how is a Room Mate experience.
Sincerely,
Gonzalo Ladrón de Guevara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#41 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Oscar

Property: Room Mate Oscar
Address: Plaza Pedro Zerolo 12, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Madrid
#64 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#139 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Oscar 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Madrid ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Oscar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Oscar Madrid
Room Mate Oscar Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing