We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with potential to be even better”
Review of Room Mate Oscar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Oscar
Ranked #53 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice stay with potential to be even better”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel first days of May just when the roof terrace opened so there were many visitors coming and only one person at the reception managing lifts to the terrace, doing the check ins and outs so we waited for quite a bit.
Hotel has nice design but the small room is very small. We got an upgrade and the size of the room was much better but the bathroom and shower a bit unpractical as the shover is fixed and the water spread quite weak which makes it a bid harder to have a proper shower :-)
Breakfast was good but I had a feeling the staff could do more, see when there are no fruits, or plates or spoons left. We had to ask for many things. For the price we were expecting a bit more but location is great and staff still very friendly.

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms on 7th floor as all the guests of rooftop will pass by and definitely not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    726
    232
    89
    59
See reviews for
115
945
237
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Do you want to sleep with me and have sex & love on the lobby? Well then you're in the right place. This designer led hotel brand is slap bang in the centre of all happening things Madrid style. Close to historic buildings, landmarks & parks. Ideal for shopping and on the doorstep of the gay nightlife. The hotel lobby is more like a club with trance beats day & night. The rooftop bar must also be one of the most happening places in town with a constant queue to take the lift up to the 7th floor. Our room was a standard double - all patterned glass, cord carpet and the most comfortable king size bed I've had the pleasure to sleep on. Only downside was the lack of a proper outside window (central light shafts don't count) Cleaned everyday & with helpful staff in the lobby this place is a winner for the party cognoscenti!! Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roccosdad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very centrally located.
The building from outside looks more like a business plaza rather than a design hotel. There were only 3 points that made me think that I am in a "design" hotel: nice lobby, purple light in the elevator, bathroom with glass walls.
Apart from these 3 points, nothing made me feel that I am in a design hotel: absent and/or very average quality furniture (no armchair in the room, only 1 single ottoman), the most impersonal "Ikea style" table and closet, barren walls (not a single design object, painting, nor accessory), "Ikea style" plain grey carpet covering half of the room and the other half covered by very standard beige flooring. No water hose in the shower and no half capacity flush in the wc. No slippers and very limited stationary offered.
We had a spacious room overlooking the square. Good soundproof windows.
Standard breakfast for a 4* hotel. Only 1 delivery machine for coffee, so expect to queue for a good 10 minutes to get your coffee.
Reception guy could locate the hotel and direct us to the restaurant in the map in more than 5 minutes. Otherwise pleasant and very helpful staff.
This could be a good 3* hotel according to me but not a 4* and I do think that you need much more than purple lighting in the elevator to boast yourself as a design hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeTil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Room Mate Oscar is the best quality price ever; As an investor,a world wide traveler, not only this hotel is the smartest one, but the team is also brilliant, making you feel you are so special. Thank you so much. I will be back again and again.
There is no arrogance, but there is warmth, there is no show off, but there is style, there is no strict rules but there is energy, there is no disorder, but there is freedom... I love that place...If you are snob, arrogant, artificial, go away and live us our best hotel in town...
Thank to you all.

Room Tip: i love room 203.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Perfect for a long weekend. In my opinion the location is the best in Madrid. Short walking distance from every major tourist attraction, shopping and nightlife(2 blocks from Gran Via). Surrounding area is relatively quiet compared to area around Sol. The hotel has the concept of "Design hotel" taken a bit too far. Why is all the corridors almost dark? It gave a bit shady impression, like you were entering some shadowy backstreet bar. The rooms were kept clean and we had one of the smaller rooms facing the backyard. First time I saw a room without a proper bathroom. Toilet and shower were separated with tinted white glass from the room. The sink was in the other side of the room. If you have privacy issues with your traveling companion, avoid these rooms as you can see and hear everything. Room was also so small that there was barely room for two persons luggage and things. Luckily the bed was good, in the end that was what mattered as we only spend the nights in our room. Breakfast was served until noon which was a nice surprise, food selection was OK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko_Tampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Nice friendly hotel with a little different rooms than the traditional hotels. The hotel has a roof terace with great views. Ideal location to hit gay nightlife in Madrid... second stay here so cant be that bad :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our trip to Madrid. The hotel is quite modern with all the facilities you need. The room was a good size with a small corner sofa to relax on. Breakfast is served until 12 which is another bonus if you had a late night the evening before.

Only downside was the terrace wasn't open. When I asked, they said it opens in May which was understandable as the weather was mixed, although we had a few warm days.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the square are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 435 in Madrid
1,840 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,611 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 435 in Madrid
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#21 of 435 in Madrid
541 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Oscar

Property: Room Mate Oscar
Address: Plaza Pedro Zerolo 12, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Madrid
#64 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#139 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Oscar 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Madrid ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Oscar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Oscar Madrid
Room Mate Oscar Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing