We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paco's”
Review of Casa Paco

Casa Paco
Ranked #2,378 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: La Latina
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Paco's”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you want steak that is hot on the plate, this is the place to go to. Arrive around 830pm for a glass of wine in the bar before the restaurant opens and let them know you want to dine also. The steaks are thick and seared on the outside, served on an extremely hot platter and are still cooking. If you want your's rare, it is ready. If you want it medium just cut slices and lay them on the platter to continue cooking. The staff is efficient and will help you make your selection. Senor Paco died many years ago, and his presence is missed. Many pictures of famous people who have dinned there in the past to peruse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank V Wayne Speedy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    118
    43
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOT worth it”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Personal opinion , Not worth of money and dont have any taste. everyone should be able to make it at home for 10 mins max

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Skydriver7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This review is for the steak only”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

zero ambiance, pretty bad service, other things on the menu are at best average BUT the steak is perfect. As good as any, anywhere at any time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonBinCT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spanish omelette”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I cannot speak to the other food or dining room but had a great Spanish omelette and a nice glass of wine at the bar. I am still thinking of that omelette and may have to stop one more time before we leave Madrid. It's a fun place for a drink!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mwoodrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is just mediocre - from ambiance to the food”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Well, well, I got the info from a colleague and following a short check on trip advisor, we decided to go there after a heavy working day! From some reviews, the place looks like as this is almost the best place in Madrid for having a steak.
One of us got the famous steak. It was served in a hot plate fried and swimming in grease, still frying on the plate. As per my colleague feedback, the taste was OK but nothing exceptional.
The other colleague and I had shrimp with garlic and chicken pieces with garlic. What a mistake this was sinking in oil (yes,not even floating) and almost taste less. Not to say that this was served without anything to accompany the dishes and we had to order a plate of salad and a portion of French fries.
To complete the picture, the ambiance is pretty unfriendly and so were the waiters.
The result was that we were all super disappointed and with the strange feeling of having paid an extravagant price.
For sure we will avoid to make the mistake to comeback (I am sure that there are better steak house in Madrid)!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Paco also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Casa Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing