We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another must of Madrid”
Review of El jardin secreto

El jardin secreto
Ranked #24 of 166 Dessert in Madrid
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Malasana
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another must of Madrid”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Pretty nice and cozy I aggree, but lovely environment as well. They have a lot of different drinks, really well made, great desserts pretty well picked and to be honest I have never eaten there, but for drinks and sweets is a constant for me. A long cue is awaited so maybe it's better to make a reservation first.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    248
    89
    47
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not worth it”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It is a nice and cozy place but to expensive. and the food (at least what i tried) it was not that good, small portions and the flavour was ok. nothing more to say.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and desserts but disappointing main courses”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Came here for a birthday dinner after hearing a lot of hype about this restaurant, it's a beautiful restaurant with a charming ambiance and resembles being in a forest. The menu has incredible cocktails which we started our meal with. We shared a number of dishes amongst us.

The menu sounds delicious offering Venison with four cheeses which when brought to the table was stone cold and tasted like beef in gravy (10.95 euros)
We ordered The Farm Project which is semi-wild duck legs with red wine sauce which again was stone cold. (10.95 euros)
The dim sum and the brochetas were passable but were not very inspiring.
The salad with flowers was delicious but a little bit too sweet and had pansies, baby leaf salad kiwi and something that resembled strawberry jam which made the salad to sweet and cloying.
We also ordered the hojaldre de salmon with brie cheese which was quite good if a little bland and the risotto was a little flavourless also.

The only saving grace in the meal was the dessert, famed for their chocolate brownie named the orgasmo we ordered the various different types on the menu. They were delicious. With fruits of the forest ice cream and bathed in chocolate these rich brownies are truly "orgasmic".

Having savoured most of the dishes on the menu I would advise to come for the teas, coffees, cocktails and brownies but skip this restaurant as a dining destination. The price and the food was highly overrated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quirky restaurant packed with locals!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Ate in here with my partner in May 13. Showed up at 10.30 without a reservation so were lucky to get seated!
The waiting staff were very pleasant and the restaurant itself very interesting with quirky decor!
Food very tasty - would recommend the ravioli and the tasty desserts.
Excellent value for money too - give it a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Make a Reservation!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The food is amazing and they're known for their drinks. They have great dinner selections and desserts. It's a really charming atmoshpere but it's typically full on weekends so make a reservation!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaErin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El jardin secreto also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El jardin secreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing