We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fairytale” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El jardin secreto

El jardin secreto
Ranked #17 of 160 Dessert in Madrid
Price range: US$15 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Malasana
Firenze, Italia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A fairytale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

As you enter this place, which takes its name from the novel by Francis Burnett, you lose the connection from the real world and enter in a magic land.
It reminded me to a kids' bedroom, everything is beautiful in the smallest detail, it's a dream for kids and adults.
I had a Chocolandia - hot chocolate with cream and red fruits - absolutely exquisite.
You just can't miss it if you're a lover of teas and chocolate.
Actually you can't miss it in any other case.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    224
    84
    41
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Paella is Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel in Madrid. It is small in size (cozy), but large in friendliness and the food was some of the best that I have had in my over 30 years of travel. It only has 7 tables, family owned and operated and very nice. I do agree that I would make a reservation. The couple that own this restaurant are very proud of their establishment and it shows. I read comments that it was high priced. I obviously do not know what those individuals were comparing it to, but we found it to be very reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another must of Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Pretty nice and cozy I aggree, but lovely environment as well. They have a lot of different drinks, really well made, great desserts pretty well picked and to be honest I have never eaten there, but for drinks and sweets is a constant for me. A long cue is awaited so maybe it's better to make a reservation first.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

It is a nice and cozy place but to expensive. and the food (at least what i tried) it was not that good, small portions and the flavour was ok. nothing more to say.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and desserts but disappointing main courses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Came here for a birthday dinner after hearing a lot of hype about this restaurant, it's a beautiful restaurant with a charming ambiance and resembles being in a forest. The menu has incredible cocktails which we started our meal with. We shared a number of dishes amongst us.

The menu sounds delicious offering Venison with four cheeses which when brought to the table was stone cold and tasted like beef in gravy (10.95 euros)
We ordered The Farm Project which is semi-wild duck legs with red wine sauce which again was stone cold. (10.95 euros)
The dim sum and the brochetas were passable but were not very inspiring.
The salad with flowers was delicious but a little bit too sweet and had pansies, baby leaf salad kiwi and something that resembled strawberry jam which made the salad to sweet and cloying.
We also ordered the hojaldre de salmon with brie cheese which was quite good if a little bland and the risotto was a little flavourless also.

The only saving grace in the meal was the dessert, famed for their chocolate brownie named the orgasmo we ordered the various different types on the menu. They were delicious. With fruits of the forest ice cream and bathed in chocolate these rich brownies are truly "orgasmic".

Having savoured most of the dishes on the menu I would advise to come for the teas, coffees, cocktails and brownies but skip this restaurant as a dining destination. The price and the food was highly overrated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El jardin secreto also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El jardin secreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing