We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Lateral

Lateral
Ranked #503 of 11,429 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: US$18 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio de Salamanca
Description: Lateral is a group of a 17-year restoration that present in the gastronomic field of Madrid with a unique and new concept which is a selected variety of skewers, which traditional recipes and cutting edge creations made ​​with excellent quality products merge.Lateral has 6 restaurants in Madrid:LocationCalle Velázquez, 57Calle Fuencarral, 43Calle Arturo Soria 126-128 (c.c. Arturo Soria Plaza)Plaza de Santa Ana, 12Paseo de la Castellana, 42Paseo de la Castellana, 89Schedules:12:00 - 24:00 Sunday to Wednesday12:00-01:00 Thursday to SaturdayThere is also a cocktail menu which can be enjoyed every day from 19:00.
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We ate at this restaurant with two teenage children during our recent trip to Madrid. Our friend who lives in Madrid recommended it. Would eat there again when we visit Madrid another time as the Tapas was really good and the service was great. We had a wide variety of dishes and we sampled a large percentage of the menu! All dishes were excellent. We ate outside and lots of locals eating which is always a good sign.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 166 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We loved our tapas at this cafe. We sat outside (and luckily avoided having smokers nearby). Service was perfunctory and spotty, but the chicken salad was fantastic. The servers were bickering, and initially our server sought to wait on the table next to us (who had just arrived) rather than on us. Fortunately, the other patron told to server to wait on us first. When we received our bill, the server who arrived to swipe our credit card did not speak English, and consequently, we were billed in dollars rather than Euros...the only this happened to us on our trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERAL_REST, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Lateral, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks for visiting!
We hope to live a pleasant experience "Lateral" and throughout the trip.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Food here is reasonably good. We decided to sit outside where it was pretty empty but for some reason the waiter put us beside two people who were smoking, these people were incredibly polite and volunteered to move so their smoke wouldn't disturb our children. Why the waiter didn't think of this I do not know, also getting service was difficult as a group of 5 waiters were in a bunch telling jokes to each other.

Thank Les D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERAL_REST, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Lateral, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hello!
Thank you for your comment!
In "Lateral" attend all complaints and customer complaints one by one and yours will also be analyzed. Our waiters must remain respectful to customers.
We hope your next visit will be more enjoyable.
We also expect our products to their liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The restaurant has a trendy vibe to it and as it is in the less touristy area, it had more of a local feel which was good. Our first waitress did not speak English but she had the decency to ask one of her colleagues to help us due to our limited Spanish. The waiter and other staff were excellent throughout and the tapas was, overall, very good. As always we enjoyed some dishes more than others but the veal meatballs and the avocado tartare were sublime. The wine list was limited but very well priced as was the whole meal. If you're in the area and fancy some decent tapas at a decent price, go for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HarperzMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERAL_REST, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Lateral, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks for your comments!
Everything you said is true, but the best side are your customers! ;)
On your next visit, try one of our cocktails!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place was hit and miss. Mostly miss. We ordered a bunch of courses. The tataki was terrific, the salmon/avocado was OK. Pizziola tasted OK but it was kind of no better than a microwave pizza you get from an elementary school lunch. Finally, the chicken burgers tasted fine but they were undercooked so I didn't eat more than a few bites for fear of contracting e.coli or salmonella.

Service was OK and was not terribly expensive. You can probably do better elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERAL_REST, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Lateral, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hello! Thanks for your comments.
We appreciate your visit.
after seventeen years of activity, we have not had cases of poisoning, we also have a lab that makes us regular checks of all our products to be in perfect condition.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lateral also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Lateral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing