We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish heaven!”

La Lonja Restaurante
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 4/20
20:00
Ranked #762 of 12,466 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: US$60 - US$72
Neighbourhood: Austrias
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Austrias
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Go upstairs to private dining for 10 at lovely round table overlooking former palace of the King in pink flower square.

Order shared starters (mussels, pink prawns, pate) and desserts (Crete brûlée outstanding) and choose fish specials from a trolley explained by a hugely knowledgeable maitre d, for some of the best fish and seafood I have tasted, very fishy!!

Turbot for two in champagne sauce, filleted at the table, sturgeon with tapenade, sea bass, you name it, its all fab.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 757mariannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Located opposite of Royal palace this restaurant has outside terrace and 2 floor space inside.
Interior is nice and rest room spaces are clean and neat
Now food
We have offered with fresh fish brought for us to see and choose, nice touch I think.
Service was professional and timely executed.
We drink cava and start with risotto on pesto with red prawn on top
Then we have grilled sea bass with vegetables, food was prepared really good.
Desert we took one tribute to chocolate and other was with ice cream and forrest fruits
Coffee was complementary given.
We are recommending this restaurant

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank AngeloB971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Service was fantastic, its manager knows how to run the place and treats people astonishly well. We had an incredible " tiradito de mero" (raw grouper), fantastic grilled octopus and red shrimp carpaccio.
Location is great in front of Teatro Real. I would suggest a night at the opera with dinner at La Lonja. I´m looking forward our next opera night.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jyartu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Food great, nice location with lots of sun, but service wasn't great. Nice views of the palace. It's very hard to come up with 100 characters

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank mjcdowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

The stylishly decorated restaurant and the menu prices that were on a high side, got our expectations high. We ordered grilled octopus dish for starter and two different fish courses with grilled vegetables on a side, for the main entry. To put it lightly, we were underwhelmed with the bland taste of the fish dishes that had with a few microscopical vegie items on a side (three pea seeds). We would not return or recommend to this restaurant to a friend.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tatyana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Lonja del Ma... M, Gerente at La Lonja Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017
Google Translation

Buenos días, respetamos la naturalidad de nuestros pescados salvajes, nunca utilizamos potenciadores de sabor que desdibujen lo que el mismo mar nos aporta.
Sentimos mucho que su experiencia con nosotros no fuera positiva. Les invitamos a poder volver a intentar disfrutar de nosotros en otra ocasión el día que deseen.
Nuestra casa siempre abierta para ustedes
Un cordial saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Lonja Restaurante also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Lonja Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.