We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable”

La Lonja Restaurante
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 4/20
20:00
Ranked #762 of 12,466 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: US$60 - US$72
Neighbourhood: Austrias
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Austrias
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We sat on the terrace overlooking the park, and wanted a slow, gentle afternoon after a busy morning so came back here to have a lunch, having been here earlier in the week just for a morning coffee, and on another occasion early evening drinks watching the Opera-goers assemble in their posh frocks. The service was fine - attentive and tolerant of my pseudoSpanish ordering technique, and not rushed. It was hot, so the shaded shelter was very welcome. The food - curried mussels and fish with bean salad - was lovely, beautifully presented and cooked perfectly. We decided to come back one evening, but at 8pm found the place deserted and the staff having a break and decidedly unwelcoming. We came to the conclusion that it doesn't start serving dinner until 9pm.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WFG2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

We organized a family dinner in a private dinning room the day after a family wedding! Great help with our menu, good service and lovely atmosphere!,
We had salt fish!,,, Excellant!,,

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Molly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

This was a group dinner for 30 and it was a fixed menu that we had to select weeks in advance. There were definately too much food as portions were too large for 4 savory courses + 2 dessert courses.
Main ingredient (star of the dish) was very well prepared and would have been immensely enjoyable if not smothered in some overly sweet sauce
Every dish! Salmon Tartar in Mango jam, Beef cheeks in coco-oporto (super sweet) and duck in apricot and passion fruit.... You get the picture
Service was very slow and some members of the staff had an attitude.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank JVDZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerente951, Gerente at La Lonja Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017
Google Translation

Buenas tardes,

Sentimos que el menú que concretamos no se adecuara a sus gustos,tanto en cantidades como en sabores.

Tomaremos nota de sus apreciaciones para posteriores eventos.

Muchísimas gracias por su atención, sin duda alguna nos hará mejorar en todos los aspectos.

Quedamos a su completa disposición para cuando vuelva a querer compartir una experiencia con nosotros.

Reciba un cordial saludo.

Carlos Gutiérrez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

This restaurant is located near the royal palace of Madrid with beautiful views from the windows.
As we were seated we were presented with an amazing catch-of-the-day tray with an amazing selection of fresh fish and sea food.
We chose a shrimp trio which included sashimi style fresh shrimp, boiled heads and a purée of something orange which unfortunately I didn't catch the name... it was a very good dish, perfectly handled which kept the shrimp taste. In addition we had giant white clams in a garlic champagne sauce. They prepared it at the table and the smell of the sauce was fantastic although it tasted a bit too salty.
I had a sturgeon in a soy sauce which was one of the best pieces of fish I tasted. My colleagues had the sea bass and the hake which they said was excellent too.
For dessert we had the strawberries with cream, the grilled pineapple and the cheesecake flan. All were great.
Really enjoyed an excellent dinner.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amnon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Attended a business dinner here with colleagues. The real strength of the place is the atmosphere and setting. Our table had a beautiful view if the Illuminated Royal Palace. The seafood is fresh and well prepared. Service was efficient and friendly. It felt a bit like an old classic - in a good way.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank gosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Lonja Restaurante also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Lonja Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.