We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality-price, but don't expect anything else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Condestable

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Condestable
Ranked #189 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Good quality-price, but don't expect anything else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

good quality-price, to be downtown, so close to all the major madrid attractions, the metro station (callao) and the shopping area of gran via, malasana and chueca. lot of rooms, quite tiny but decent, clean. watch out, the walls are thin so you can easily listen to all the tv shows your neighbors are watching.. plan to have your earplugs with you.. they are quite necessary wherever you sleep in downtown madrid. in the end the prices are good, they dont offer you so much indeed but could worth the stay, it's way better than any other hostal in the same category

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    33
    27
    8
    8
See reviews for
9
28
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Even if this hostel is on 5th floor, it's been one of the most possitive experiences for accomodation when thinking about a place where to stay in Madrid. Located just a few blocks away from Gran Via and Chueca points of interest, this place has perfectly clean single rooms with nice beds, AC, a huge space to keep your clothes and luggage. Owner is an amazing woman an employees will clarify any inquiere you may have, being totally customer focused oriented.
I was coming from Ibiza after a crazy party week (July, 2011) and this was the perfect place where to stay and rest.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Good location near metro, but it was quite difficult to find and the hostel's sign was sooo small I walked pass it many times. We had to check the address to make sure and finally found it. The room was clean but rather small and we couldn't open the window because the construction outside the window made it full of dust so the room was not so well ventilated. There are 2 shared bathrooms which is also clean. And they were always available we didn't have a problem of waiting to use it. On the saturday night it was so noisy because there was a pub near the hostel.

One thing is, we were told to leave the room key in the box near the door when we go outside which we dont understand why? This box was not in the front desk and I noticed that sometimes there were no staff at the front desk. How can we be so sure that nobody pick it up to enter our room. I asked the staff for the reason but he spoke only spanish. We left the key then, because we don't have any valuables left in the room anyway.

So i recommend this hostel for a budget traveler who spend most of the time outside the hostel and be sure to carry your valuables with you when leaving. And for those who have no problem of sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We booked this place based on positive reviews on tripadvisor. I don't know who wrote them, but my experience was quite different. We booked room number 19 for a two night stay. The elevator was large enough to accomodate one person only. There was ongoing construction right outside our window. When I say outside, I mean that you could shake hands with the person working on the scaffolding outside the windows. The "very helpful" attendant assured us that there will be "not much noise". The banging went on forever. The full tub measured 2 by 3 feet (no, not meters). The room looked liked it had not been painted in decades. I don't know where they got the pictures they posted on the net, but they are clearly not from this hotel. Last time we stayed at Hostal Astoria in Madrid and found it clean, bright and charming. So why did we not stay there this time? Trying to save 30 euros, stupid I know.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Traveler2011S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Montevideo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

It was just a nice hostal, small but great...excellent location, just a few blocks from the Gran Via, and 4 blocks from Plaza del Sol. Lot of fun around, the agency to take day trips was about 7 blocks...metro station just 3 blocks away.
Clean & the stuff was nice...for such small hostal I have to say that the price is very worth it and affordable. Nothing to complain about it.
Clean, room for one person very comfortable, TV plasma...a kind of noisy during night time because of the bars around but it was OK, after long days you don't see a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcoiris12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Everyone has written about the hookers in the area so I will only comment that hookers are in many tourist areas in Madrid. My husband and I were never bothered. The hotel is only a five minute walk from Gran Via and another five minutes to Plaza del Sol--excellent location. The room was extremely clean, although it was small and the bathroom was very small--nothing unusual for Europe. We stayed there three different times over the course of a month in Spain. Twice we had a room with a private bathroom that faced the courtyard, which was pretty quite at night. The last time we stayed their we had a room with a shared bathroom and our room faced the street, which was a little to noisy. We would stay there again.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

I arrived at the Hostal Condestable after a long journey across Madrid from the airport by Metro. I would advise using this as on my return I took a taxi from Gran Via Metro costing me 24 Euros- very pricey. I must admit that I found it very difficult to find the Hostal which is in fact very easy to find as it is only a stones throw away from the Gran Via.

The Hostal is quiet and run by pleasant, helpful folk- do not expect anybody to speak English! However, with some rudimentary Spanish and a phrasebook you'll get by. My room was clean, simply furnished and adequately decorated. the two small bathrooms were opposite so it didn't matter that I couldn't get one of the en- suite rooms.

There are many prostitutes in operation within the immediate vicinity of the hotel, however, they didn't bother me and I was a single guy travelling on my own. You would have thought that if anybody was going to be hassled by them, I was. The area has many small bars and cafes which are frequented mainly by local people and families.

I was impressed with the hotel as high standard budget accommodation as it was clean and comfortable and trust me I have stayed in some dives, so I know. I would stay there again without hesitation, the street it is on is virtually free from traffic which is important in Madrid. I would also recommmend this hotel to friends.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, access to Madrid centre
  • Disliked — It is in the Red Light Quarter but so is much of the centre of Madrid it seems!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank seanog_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Maria Luisa
Hostal Maria Luisa
#104 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Excelsior
Hostal Excelsior
#87 of 283 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Tokio
Hostal Tokio
#108 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hostal Montaloya
Hostal Montaloya
#42 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Centro
Hostal Luz
Hostal Luz
#35 of 283 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Centro
Hostal El Pilar
Hostal El Pilar
#64 of 283 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Condestable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Condestable

Property: Hostal Condestable
Address: Calle Puebla 15 Escalera 1 Planta 2 Puerta 1, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Condestable 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Condestable located in the trendy Malasana neighborhood, near the Gran Via, becomes the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant stay in the heart of Madrid. It is conveniently situated to take a walk to the Royal Palace, Almudena Cathedral, Plaza Mayor or Prado Museum among others; and to shop around the shopping areas of Preciados or Fuencarral. It is an architecturally typical building in the center of the capital, with the recent renovation of its facade and elevator. Easily accessible by public transport, also you will find a parking with arranged price for guest just 3 minutes away. It has 22 bright rooms with private bathroom. In addition, outstanding services such as 24 hour reception, free WIFI throughout the hotel, air conditioning, heating, LCD TV, toiletries, iron and hairdryer on request, concierge, luggage, cots, offers everything you need to visit Madrid . It also has budget rooms with shared bathroom. It is a cozy and comfortable place, known for its attentive service, friendly and familiar, thanks to its leaders that will provide airport transfers, tourist information arrange tours, and daytrips if needed. Getting from the airport: • By Metro: Take Line 8 (pink) at the Barajas Airport to Nuevos Ministerios, then take line 10 (dark blue, towards Puerta del Sur) until Alonso Martinez, transfer to line 5 (light green, towards Casa De Campo) stop at Callao, exit to Palacio de la Prensa, the hotel is within 250 meters. • By bus: Option 1: Take the Airport Express line to Cibeles, the hotel is 15 minutes walk. Option 2: Take the Airport Express line to Atocha Renfe, take the metro line 1 (light blue direction Pinar de Chamartin) to station Gran Via, exit in Fuencarral Street, the hotel is within 250 meters walk. From the main train stations: • Atocha Train Station: Take metro line 1 (light blue, Northbound) to Gran Via, the hotel is within 250 meters. Chamartin: Take metro line 1 (light blue, south) to Gran Via, the hotel is within 250 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Condestable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Condestable Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing