We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price and location!”
Review of Hostal Condestable

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hostal Condestable
Ranked #184 of 277 Madrid B&B and Inns
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent price and location!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The price, location, cleaness, service and staff are amazing. In donwtown center, nearby many metro stations. Can walk by to major atractions like main square! And may bars and restaurants nearby. There are laundry services nearby and supermarkets to make easier for long time travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    33
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
9
29
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

+ location is so-so with good wine bars, but lots of b*tches around
+ clean

- extremely noisy street
- old window, not sound-proof, no sleep Friday-Saturday
- extremely small room
- extremely short bed (I'm 160cm, but my feet were off the bed)
- wifi never worked

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Birmigham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I have recently spent 5 nights at this hostal and there isn't one single negative comment that I could say about my experience here. The location is amazing. The staff were much obliging and really friendly. The rooms were clean and had everything that you would need for a stay in Madrid. The communal bathrooms were also spotlessly clean. There was free Wifi which was really efficient and for the summer months the rooms would also have air conditioning. What else does a person need?

Overall, this hotel was fantastic value for money and I would definitely, without a doubt, stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I've spent 3 nights in this averagely priced hostel. It offers a trully excellent location (only a few minutes of walking from Gran Via (main street) and Metro, maybe 7-8 minutes of walking to Sol - the very city center). Even though it's in the center, it's in a narrow street free from traffic, so it's not too noisy.

There were some recostruction works in the building during my stay, but it didn't affect the hostel (or me :)). There's a nice little cafe just accross the street, with a great atmosphere. Also, there are two small grocery stores/markets within a 100 meter radius that'll get you settled if you need some everyday stuff. Just ask the nice people at the reception to give you directions and a free map.

A bit of a warning here - although both the man and the woman are really, really kind and cool, they don't speek much english (okay, the woman speaks some, but the guy is spanish-only). Get a phrasebook and you should be fine :)

I've stayed in a twin room with ensuite bathroom. The room was great - comfortable bed, clean sheets and towels, wardrobe, nightstand, lamp, a small but working LCD TV with ~30 programmes (most of them are spanish) and an A/C. I guess you can hear some noise from the room nextdoor, but it didn't bother me. The wifi in the room was just awful! It depends a bit from the strenght of your device, but generally it was unusable. I did hang around at the reception each night (there's a big common space with some sofas and couches), where the WiFi signal was excellent.

The bathroom was clean, but really, really small. The bathtub just fits an average-height person, and there generally isn't much of space for manouvering your way around the bathroom. There weren't much bathroom amenities - just a small bar of hotel soap (no shower gel!). I did bring my own stuff, so I didn't even ask them to provide more.

All in all, I'd recommend this hostel to those who can live through without the breakfast and bear with the non-english speaking staff (although I understand that this can be a dealbreaker for some people).

Room Tip: My room was No 22 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damjanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Go to Las Musas hostel you will have a better experience trust me!
Okay where do I start?
Service: poor/inconsistent
- if you get the grumpy old man, he doesn't speak english and shrugs his shoulders a lot, never smiles and avoids solutions to problem.
- when I asked about the wifi not working he just shrugged his shoulders
- when I wanted to use the kitchen he said it was private for employees what type of hostel doesn't have an open kitchen.
- when I asked to get my towels changed they kept on insisting they changed it yesterday. It was until I was firm that they decided to change for me. Who cares just change it.
- only one lady speaks English at least she smiles
- the middle age man in the wee hours of night is very nice

Environment
- construction around the area. Based on what I have read from tripadvisor the construction has been in progress for at least 2 yrs boy they are slow
- drilling and hammering noise between 830am and 530 pm. So no afternoon naps and you better wake up early.
- creepy elevator and dust everywhere outside the hostel
- hookers near the end of the street but probably similar to any where on gran via

Rooms
- clean
- cheap locks on the closet don't lock, really? You advertise that you have luggage lock up.
- weird key policy you have to leave your room key at the front desk before you leave the hostel every day.


Pros
- I got my own room and bathroom (not all rooms are singles you need to check)
- wifi
- cheap tiny bar of soap
- cheap tiny bottle of bubble bath
- clean towels and hand towel
- clean rooms and area
- price maybe But I payed 64 euros per night for the private room
Goooo somewhere else like Las Musas Hostel!!
Unless u don't care about what I had issues with then go ahead

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chenjinfeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was a bit concerned after reading some of the other reviews but I don't see too much of a problem with this hostal at all. First of all you can't really complain about the location, within 2 minutes you are near Callao or Gran Via. It's a great spot to be. Yes, there are prostitutes nearby, but to be honest, anywhere you stayed in this vicinity or central Madrid there would be and it is not dangerous. (I feel safe). Second the building is undergoing renovation but this doesn't effect the hostal. The atmosphere inside is great, it seems quite new. The room is nice, with a desk sink and wardrobe, and is cleaned every day (they are very thorough about this). Also air conditioning and a flat screen tv. I am very happy to be staying here and I think it offers excellent value for money. The staff are very nice also. By the way - I expected the walls to be paper thin after another review, when I arrived they seem to be thick concrete walls and I don't hear my neighbours at all.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hostal are bound to be quieter, especially on a Friday and Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beyondtheglobe1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

good quality-price, to be downtown, so close to all the major madrid attractions, the metro station (callao) and the shopping area of gran via, malasana and chueca. lot of rooms, quite tiny but decent, clean. watch out, the walls are thin so you can easily listen to all the tv shows your neighbors are watching.. plan to have your earplugs with you.. they are quite necessary wherever you sleep in downtown madrid. in the end the prices are good, they dont offer you so much indeed but could worth the stay, it's way better than any other hostal in the same category

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#279 of 436 in Madrid
110 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Maria Luisa
Hostal Maria Luisa
#98 of 390 in Madrid
124 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Jemasaca-Palma61
Hostal Jemasaca-Palma61
#142 of 277 in Madrid
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Flat5Madrid
Flat5Madrid
#28 of 277 in Madrid
343 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Lamalonga
Hostal Lamalonga
#108 of 277 in Madrid
24 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Tokio
Hostal Tokio
#118 of 390 in Madrid
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Condestable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Condestable

Property: Hostal Condestable
Address: Calle Puebla 15 Escalera 1 Planta 2 Puerta 1, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Condestable 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Condestable located in the trendy Malasana neighborhood, near the Gran Via, becomes the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant stay in the heart of Madrid. It is conveniently situated to take a walk to the Royal Palace, Almudena Cathedral, Plaza Mayor or Prado Museum among others; and to shop around the shopping areas of Preciados or Fuencarral. It is an architecturally typical building in the center of the capital, with the recent renovation of its facade and elevator. Easily accessible by public transport, also you will find a parking with arranged price for guest just 3 minutes away. It has 22 bright rooms with private bathroom. In addition, outstanding services such as 24 hour reception, free WIFI throughout the hotel, air conditioning, heating, LCD TV, toiletries, iron and hairdryer on request, concierge, luggage, cots, offers everything you need to visit Madrid . It also has budget rooms with shared bathroom. It is a cozy and comfortable place, known for its attentive service, friendly and familiar, thanks to its leaders that will provide airport transfers, tourist information arrange tours, and daytrips if needed. Getting from the airport: • By Metro: Take Line 8 (pink) at the Barajas Airport to Nuevos Ministerios, then take line 10 (dark blue, towards Puerta del Sur) until Alonso Martinez, transfer to line 5 (light green, towards Casa De Campo) stop at Callao, exit to Palacio de la Prensa, the hotel is within 250 meters. • By bus: Option 1: Take the Airport Express line to Cibeles, the hotel is 15 minutes walk. Option 2: Take the Airport Express line to Atocha Renfe, take the metro line 1 (light blue direction Pinar de Chamartin) to station Gran Via, exit in Fuencarral Street, the hotel is within 250 meters walk. From the main train stations: • Atocha Train Station: Take metro line 1 (light blue, Northbound) to Gran Via, the hotel is within 250 meters. Chamartin: Take metro line 1 (light blue, south) to Gran Via, the hotel is within 250 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Condestable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Condestable Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing