We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Museo del Aire

Museo del Aire
Ranked #89 of 748 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

When I planned my holiday, I made sure that I visit the Aviation museum. I checked several sites about the museum to find out where it is situated and when it is open. They all gave the impression that the museum is open all year round. On arriving there, after a 20 minute walk from the nearest Metro station, the guard told us that the Museum is closed in August and will reopen in September. It is really a shame that there were no notifications when this Museum is going to be open, otherwise we would have planned our holiday accordingly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank manuelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    80
    10
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile visit (if you are into aviation)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I am amused by visitors who complain that all this museum has to offer is "a few aircraft". This is flatly untrue, there is a large number of exhibits, some quite unique. In fact, even though the museum is large, it does feel somewhat cramped, except for the many open air exhibits.

And by all means, skip this visit if you are not into aviation, because that's all they have, lots of airplanes and related memorabilia.

The museum is in the outskirts of town, rather hard to find and rather hard to reach, so plan carefully, whether you drive your own car (especially if you drive your own car) or use public transportation, which can be confusing, even for a local. Also, be very sure not to confuse it with the FIO (Fundación Infante de Orleans) collection, which is located across the one runway of the Cuatro Vientos airport. If you go to the wrong place, you will have a very hard time correcting your mistake, unless you carry your wings with you.

There is no entrance fee or donation of any kind, and the museum is usually very quiet, probably because of its location. Hours of operation are limited, and the place looks just a little forlorn, not unkept by any means, just slightly worn and unglamorous.

In summary, if you are an aviation buff, do not miss this, but plan ahead of time. If you aren't, go to the Prado.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have been to air museums the world over and this one did not disappoint. The collection is extensive - some outside and some in hangers. Entry was free. Several of the other posters have given fantastic descriptions of the museum - so will not repeat.

We followed the advice from other posters on TA -- took the subway line 10 to "Cuatro Vientos". Go to street level and make sure you are on side of the freeway next to the train tracks. You will be walking on the dirt path against traffic -- traffic on your right, train tracks on your left (the buildings of Madrid should be behind you). Totally safe and easy. A good 15-20 minute walk. You will see the footbridge over the highway and turn left to enter the air base. You have arrived.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank katgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Museo Del Aire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

They have seven hangars, at an old airfield, to visit, plus a large outdoor area.

The hangars contained ;

Aircraft representing every era of flight. Turn of the century up to jet fighters. An extensive collection filling seven large hangars. Missile and weapons displays.

A large selection of bi-planes from the earliest times of flight, even wood and string aircraft.

Modern jet plane simulator, flight deck, ejector seat, and cut away sectioned jet engines.

A large selection of piston engine configurations.

A large display of wooden propellers of different shapes and sizes.

Gliders, autogyros, rescue helicopters and passenger airliners.

The outside area had about 40 full sized, redundant aircraft. Heicopters, large civilian aircraft with four piston engines, some rare, even unique, aircraft. 14 jet fighters from the 70"s, 80"s and 90"s - Phantoms, Mirages, Saab, Mig.

I would critisize ;

1) The only guide is in Spanish, no other languages. Unusual for a major museum, and making a visit frustratingly less informative.

2) There is a cafe, but small and with limited choice.

3) They do not like anyone walking on the grass. They are a bit British about that. They do not seem to follow that you have to step back to photograph large things.

4) Hard to find?. It depends on how you travel. I took the line ten subway train to "Cuatro Vientos". Upon climbing to street level, I found myself facing a busy freeway. No signs for the museum at all. A bus stop with large information boards, but nothing about a museum. Even a large scale street map, with the museums position within. But no museum?.

To the right is Madrid,you can see the black towers. The museum is to the left. There is a dirt track between the freeway (keep to the right), and the railway line (keep to the left). This dirt track must be followed for about 1.5 Kilometres. Just before the first footbridge over the freeway, the museum is on the left. A single track road over a bridge. Only then do you see museum signs. The guide book told me to take my passport. However,no one asked to see it. Walk past the guardhouse, no need to report to them.
But be warned, if you visit the navy museum, they actually do require a passport?.
There is a massive sign on top of a water tower, alas, this cannot be seen approaching from the North.



Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank DirkPitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Come fly with me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

I took my ten year old son here and enjoyed it as much as he did! The museum is a bit hard to find so I recommend going by taxi and then asking the staff to book a return taxi as we did.

The collection is remarkable and well displayed. Even more amazing: it is free! We had a sense of owning the place as there were very few guests present. The museum closes at 2PM so come early and then have a classic Spanish lunch back in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo del Aire also viewed

 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo del Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing