We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cider and tapas”
Review of El Escarpin

El Escarpin
Ranked #1,235 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centro
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good cider and tapas”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Good value and great tapas. Staff were very helpfull - they recognised us from the night before and were very welcoming. We stayed for a couple of drinks because the tapas were always different and good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waddychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    176
    84
    37
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great regional Spanish food.”
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Best value for the money. Everything is tasty (stews, chorizo and cheese). I can recommend to drink the sidre made from apples. The pastry "empanada" is absolutely phantastic. Service is quick and helpful. Try to get a table in the cellar, best place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vcandil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sidreria (cider bar) - a lucky find”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Chanced upon this Sidreria as it was a stone's throw from our Hotel (Francisco I). We visited every afternoon to enjoy their cider and accompanying tapas. Extremely good value for money. Two standard size ciders and a tapas for 2 came to 2.80 euros. Fabulous! So good had to stay for another round to try out a different tapas!! The hosts are good fun, very professional. There's a restaurant at the back which we unfortunately did not try. A constant stream of people popping in for a quick drink, quite a few locals as well. Spoil yourself and try it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cactusangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not sure about this one!”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This place gets lots of praise, but I'm sorry folks, but it didn't rock my boat. I found the place to lack ambience, and the staff lacking personality. I bought drinks, but waited a while before I got any free tapas. When a tapas finally arrived, which was chorizo sausage and potato, and extremely delicious! So i'm mixed feelings on this place........you decide!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank yonniestephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
665 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Asturian food!”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Such a unique cuisine, and such a lovely place to eat. I loved the beans with clams, went back a couple of days later and had it again. The shrimp dishes were amazing. The service was helpful, warm and informative, and proud of their offerings.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Escarpin also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Escarpin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing