We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party time!”
Review of El Escarpin

El Escarpin
Ranked #1,264 of 10,909 Restaurants in Madrid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Party time!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We dropped in for a last sangria before bed and the place was so crowded that we could hardly get in the door. Great atmosphere! Can't rate the food because we didn't order anything, but they gave us a plate of ham to eat with our sangria. It was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcsayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    180
    85
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Madrid Experience”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

If you're looking for plush and posh, then look elsewhere...but if you're looking for a genuine place for excellent value drinks (the fabulous cider is a must - unlike anything you'll find in the UK), with a free tapa thrown into every round, with a buzzy atmosphere and friendly staff, then drop into this lovely little bar/restaurant. Each time we go to Madrid we end up going back here every day for at least one drink. The locals seem to love it too, which is the best recommendation that we can think of.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lezmark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good cider and tapas”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Good value and great tapas. Staff were very helpfull - they recognised us from the night before and were very welcoming. We stayed for a couple of drinks because the tapas were always different and good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waddychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great regional Spanish food.”
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Best value for the money. Everything is tasty (stews, chorizo and cheese). I can recommend to drink the sidre made from apples. The pastry "empanada" is absolutely phantastic. Service is quick and helpful. Try to get a table in the cellar, best place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vcandil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sidreria (cider bar) - a lucky find”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Chanced upon this Sidreria as it was a stone's throw from our Hotel (Francisco I). We visited every afternoon to enjoy their cider and accompanying tapas. Extremely good value for money. Two standard size ciders and a tapas for 2 came to 2.80 euros. Fabulous! So good had to stay for another round to try out a different tapas!! The hosts are good fun, very professional. There's a restaurant at the back which we unfortunately did not try. A constant stream of people popping in for a quick drink, quite a few locals as well. Spoil yourself and try it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cactusangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Escarpin also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Escarpin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing