We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite tapas stop.”
Review of El Escarpin

El Escarpin
Ranked #1,236 of 11,010 Restaurants in Madrid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro
Prophetstown, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Favorite tapas stop.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We wandered in to this pub on a Monday night. It was not crowded and there were only 2 others in the place around 9 p.m. The cider is good, but had a fermented taste that we were not used to. They served us fried pigs ears with the cider. I am certain they were the excellent for fried pigs ears, but this is the first (and last?) time we tried them. We had potatoes in a blue cheese sauce that were wonderful. The service was very attentive. Do not expect them to speak english, this is a local place. We had a fun evening eating and drinking our way through several tapas bars and this was a favorite. I love to eat this way and it took us back (way back...) to the old college days of bar hopping. Nice way to see the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foreveronward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    185
    85
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
2,018 reviews
726 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,288 helpful votes
“Busy tapas place”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Bustling busy even on Wednesday night this tapas place is happily crowded every night. It is famous of its high quality cider and there is a ritual of pouring it. The tapas are great and quite a variety. Loud, noisy and full of life! A good place to spend a part of your evening on tapas "bar hopping" night the great Spanish cultural tradition.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Crispy cider, central location, decent tapas”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The key selling points of El Escarpin are the atmosphere and the excellent cider. The good quality tapas are a very nice add-on, though elite class gourmet it ain't. The location is very central and thus the place is busy every night - though on the lateish evening we ended up here almost all the tables in the back were empty. Regardless of that, it's better to stay close to the counter, where we also witnessed an old patron showing off "the right way" to pour the cider to the glass from the bottle. This alone was good entertainment in its own way. In all, really enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoreTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Party time!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We dropped in for a last sangria before bed and the place was so crowded that we could hardly get in the door. Great atmosphere! Can't rate the food because we didn't order anything, but they gave us a plate of ham to eat with our sangria. It was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcsayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Madrid Experience”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

If you're looking for plush and posh, then look elsewhere...but if you're looking for a genuine place for excellent value drinks (the fabulous cider is a must - unlike anything you'll find in the UK), with a free tapa thrown into every round, with a buzzy atmosphere and friendly staff, then drop into this lovely little bar/restaurant. Each time we go to Madrid we end up going back here every day for at least one drink. The locals seem to love it too, which is the best recommendation that we can think of.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lezmark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Escarpin also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Escarpin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing