We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming place for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Esteban

Esteban
Reserve with
Esteban is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,046 of 10,540 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: La Latina
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming place for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The staff were welcoming and attentive. There was a good selection of tapas available and the meal seemed well priced. It felt like an authentic Spanish restaurant and I would happily eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GordonWhitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    78
    20
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice traditional tapas restaurant on busy street with reasonably priced good food and attentive service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tapas too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Too expensive tapas, poor choice, very poor portions...we stopped here just to eat while seated but we realized immediately why it was empty!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gius G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I ended up here for a dinner as Botin (unsurprisingly) was full. And I am glad I did, despite my disappointed that they were out of pick suckling. Had a wonderful stew of bull's tail and was served a very decent glass of rioja. The place is relaxed and cosy, and the service is perfectly attentive, polite but still informal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious traditional Spanish fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We entered this restaurant in "old" Madrid because we were in the area, and the exhibit in the window (partridges) looked good. The waiters greeted us affably and SINCERELY -- with joking formality ( we are Spanish speakers...). The exhibit at the bar was a wonderful-looking lechona asada -- roast baby pig -- which I ordered, and it was even better than it looked: THE BEST lechona I've ever had! My husband had ox-tail, which he claimed was as good as at home; dodn't remember what the rest of the group ordered. All in all, we had a wonderful time, eating, drinking a good Rivera del Duero, and chatting with the waiters -- so give this traditional looking restaurant a try!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Esteban also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Esteban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing