We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST RESTAURANT IN MADRID”
Review of Yerbabuena

Yerbabuena
Ranked #333 of 11,003 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro
Figueira da Foz, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“THE BEST RESTAURANT IN MADRID”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This reaturant was probably my favourite thing in Madrid. It was AMAZING! I loved every single thing I ate. The food had lots of flavour and was very well cooked. No matter if you are vegan, vegetarian or even if you eat meat. You will love it I promise you.
I want to go back to Madrid just to eat there again!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ivansimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    186
    46
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vegan meal ever.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This was so good that I can't even describe. I think everyone should try this restaurant. For those who aren't vegan it's a proof that you can eat a delicious meal without animal cruelty. For those who are vegan and worry about what you eat, it's a place where you can enjoy yourself because overall we are what we eat. The menus have great combinations of meals and a great price. It includes two dishes, one dessert, a drink and a tea. Everything it's delicious, the dishes are beautifully prepared and the staff is nice and friendly. Don't miss this place when you visit Madrid! :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Joana D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Most welcoming & delicious place ever”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were welcomed by the owner and felt at home immediately. This place is created by someone with passion for his job and this shows to the tiniest detail. His pride shows in his recommendations as well. When we asked him which wine he would recommend, he did not recommend the most expensive bottle, but his house wine. And right he was.
Delicious 'amuses' were served first. They changed every day. A menu which makes it almost impossible to choose because everything seems delicious and indeed is. On top of that a lot of attention is being paid to the way it is served. Every dish looks like a piece of art. Being a vegetarian for over half a century and considering myself a good cook, I can hardly be surprised, but at Yerbabuena I WAS! Every day, because after the first experience we returned 3 times.
Particularly delicious were the aubergine tempura, the salads, the mexican tortillas, but it is not fair to mention particular dishes, because everything was superb.
The last day of our stay in Madrid, we had lunch and did not have time to have a dessert. When I wanted to pay, the waitress came with a little present for us: two nicely decorated home made praline-cakes in a box. "For us to eat at the airport". Highly recommended, not only food-wise but also hospitality-wise.
Pros: welcoming atmosphere, creative and delicious food, excellent wine and very affordable

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simgi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good veg restaurant in Madrid”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This restaurant is in the city cente, near Plaza Mayor, and it's really nice with its colours and environment. We had an appetizer ( "nachos fritos de maiz" ) which was really HUGE and after taht we were already full... In fact, the tapas they gave us first ( offered by the restaurant ) were an appetizer themselves... Then we had "veg moussaka" which was really good ( a little bit too bèchamel in it ) and "pastel de calabaza" which was made with pumpkin. Everything was well cooked and very tasty. At the end, we had infusions to start our digestion ! We'll certainly come back in the future !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeDFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“great vegan place”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The place only opens late in the evening. It had great options for vegans and vegetarians.

For those looking for such a place its is a great option specially in Madrid.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yerbabuena also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Yerbabuena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing