We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very busy - great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Chata

La Chata
Ranked #1,313 of 10,534 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: La Latina
Worcester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very busy - great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visited as part of a group and had wine and tapas. We chose the oxtail which was very good and peppers stuffed with cod in a tomato sauce with goats cheese; also extremely tasty. The wine was excellent, too! Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hyacinth_Bucket_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    163
    69
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
333 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

They offer a tapas or pinxos with every drink you order, and they are quite good! We also tasted different tapas, with red peppers and cheese, jamon iberico, everything was really good.

Helpful?
Thank Borissov06
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon La Chata on a Saturday night looking for an authentic tapas bar among the many on Cava Baja. Only part of the kitchen was working but we still had fantastic food (tosta de Atun, jamon and pimientos de pardon were all delicious). And the wine !! Glass of the house Rioja was some of the best we had during our stay. Really friendly staff capped off a great meal. Would recommend upstairs to capture the atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Incredible food, great wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Wow. We came here on a recommendation following a food tour and were not disappointed. Arrived at 21:30 on a Sunday night when lots of tables were available but by 22:00 the place was rammed. I would recommend the pimientos rellenos (peppers stuffed with cod in a tomato sauce topped with cheese), rabo de toro (oxtail in a rich gravy) and the manchego & jamon. Service was excellent and they recommended a great rioja.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
603 reviews
496 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“I want more!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I loved this place! My boyfriend and I went there for a quick late bite. We had the tuna toast and shared the Red Peppers filled with cod. It was plenty for the 2 of us and absolutely delicious!!! We left the plates completely clean. The service was very friendly too and the restaurant itself is very charming!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrysteria64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Chata also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Chata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing