We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I had imagined, and better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Secreto del Agua
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I had long wanted to visit the city of Murcia and was in a position to make a trip to Spain in summer 2013. Rather than stay in the city itself, I chose El Secreto del Agua to be by the water... Staying here was a really great choice.

Correspondence prior to arriving was quick and friendly, and service from the desk staff (particularly Sara) was equally friendly and helpful.

As I was traveling alone, I chose a studio facing the water... Plenty big for one, even two people... It had a fully stocked kitchenette, a big bed, table and chairs and a spotlessly clean bathroom. The decoration is simple/minimal and that's just what I like.

The complex has a snack/tapas bar, an Italian restaurant, and a sort of outdoor evening lounge area... I had tapas at the snack place (standard fare, well priced) as well as one great meal at the Italian place.

The beach is right there, steps from the rooms. Water is lovely but there were jellyfish, for sure... Still, it was nice to take a dip every now and again and then to sit in the sun. If you don't want the beach, there's a huge sun terrace available for the rooms without private balconies... Great views from the terrace.

And finally, the price was right... Quite affordable for what I paid. Granted, there's not much in the immediate neighborhood but a few cafes and a well-stocked grocery store, but if you've got a car you can easily get around. The beach itself was populated by Spanish families and and it all felt very local... Simple, quiet, nothing over the top at all.

I myself didn't have a car and was amazed that Sara drove me, on two occasions, to the little train station nearby so I could get around. It didn't really seem to be a big deal to her, but it was a huge deal for me. Thank you, Sara.

All in all I had a great week at El Secreto del Agua and rate it highly for the kind of accommodation that it is.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room facing the water - either a loft or a studio...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank MAWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Maela De S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank A3450DTmanuelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaulAlonso, Propietario at El Secreto del Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank syjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartagena
12.8 mi away
NH Cartagena
NH Cartagena
#1 of 12 in Cartagena
978 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Cartagonova
Hotel Cartagonova
#3 of 12 in Cartagena
301 reviews
12.1 mi away
NH Campo Cartagena
NH Campo Cartagena
#2 of 12 in Cartagena
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Entremares
Hotel Entremares
#3 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
1,329 reviews
2.6 mi away
Servigroup Galua
Servigroup Galua
#1 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
752 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Manolo
Hotel Manolo
#9 of 12 in Cartagena
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Secreto del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Secreto del Agua

Address: Calle Ribalta 3 | C/ Ribalta, 3, 30384 Cartagena, Spain
Region: Spain > Region of Murcia > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: £38 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Secreto del Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a different place next to the Mar Menor, full of new sensations. A corner where every second is a unique experience .. A place where everything is illuminated, is full of life, large, upscale, quiet ... Where laughter, discover, live and dream. This is where the senses are. Discover our facilities in La Manga del Mar Menor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your El Secreto del Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing