We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,124)
Filter reviews
1,124 results
Traveller rating
416
529
143
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
529
143
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location car lift roman theatre superior room high step sea view underground parking city hall helpful staff pedestrian area lovely hotel within easy walking distance the main street old town beautiful town extra cost large terrace
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,124 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Staff at reception are very attentive and friendly and professional. The room was fine not very big but clean and comfortable. The only thing that wasn’t working well was the AC at night and morning the room was too hot.
The hotel breakfast is nice and staff very friendly.
The hotel location is excellent.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank lauravicsantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Gerente at NH Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Laura

I would like to begin by thanking you, as director of the NH CARTAGENA hotel, for the time you have dedicated to share with us, this opinion that you send us.

Thank you for your comments on the location of the hotel, as well as your comments about our hotel staff.

For us it is very important to know the score as well as the comments of our clients to try to improve in our day to day.

I remain at your disposal, and we hope to be able to count on your confidence in the future, and thus welcome you again, at the NH Cartagena.

A greeting

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Had just arrived in Cartagena so thought we’d check the hotel by having a drink at the bar to get the ‘vibe’. As we arrived around 4:00 pm ,at what was described as “funky boutique hotel “ , a young man was being ushered outside. Holding a beer ,followed by a young waiter . Can we have drink in the bar?,we enquired. “It’s closed “, he said. Strange that a hotel bar was not able to serve us U.N. 5he afternoon . We found somewhere else to stay

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dianeliversidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Gerente at NH Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dianeliversidge,

Thank you very much for the time spent in our channels depositing your impressions about your stay in Hotel in Cartagena, but I don´t uderstand exactly what was your complaint. Our Bar Schedule always is open from 11 to 24 hrs and it's very strange this situation.

If you don't mind could you contact with us to explain it?

Your opinion is valuable to us because it helps us to improve and it motivates us to continue growing.

Sincere Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights on my own, staff were friendly and very helpful. Great location near the port, shops and bars. Basement car park rather tight for my big car but managed without too much problem. Room was large and clean with a large balcony overlooking the sea. Really enjoyed staying here and felt safe in the city.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Gerente at NH Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer,
I am glad to know that your stay at NH Cartagena hotel has been at the height of your expectations.

We hope to continue to provide a high quality service so that your satisfaction is not diminished

We really thank you for your comments, it is something that helps us to grown and maintain that high standards of the company.

Also, I hope to see you very soon for new, do not hesitate to contact us if you have any further question.

Sincere Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

A great hotel, perfectly located for the harbour, roman theatre, shops & restaurants. The reception staff are friendly and helpful (and their English was good), the hotel is clean and the beds comfy.
There is an underground carpark accessed via a car lift - we didn't try it. However you can get a 15% discount for a local underground carpark, Plaza del Rey - just make sure to ask reception to stamp your carpark ticket and then pay at the booth not the machine. There is a small area in front of the hotel where you can leave the car for long enough to check-in.
We had 2 superior rooms with terraces but it really was too hot in August to make use of them so we would probably have been better to have gone for the cheaper rooms.
The hotel does offer free w-fi but it's really slow and what doesn't make sense is that if you've already tried the free service you can't then choose to pay for the premium service.
Breakfast was ok but they try to do too much and all in tiny portions - small cubes of spanish omelette! I certainly wouldn't pay Eur18.90 for it.
We would all happily stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireLMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Director General at NH Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Claire,
I am glad to know that your stay at NH Cartagena hotel has been at the height of your expectations. We hope to continue to provide a high quality service so that your satisfaction is not diminished.
We really thank you for your comments, it is something that helps us to grown and maintain that high standards of the company. Also, I hope to see you very soon for new, do not hesitate to contact us if you have any further question.
Sincere Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We are staying at NH Cartagena and we totally love it here! on arrival, our balcony room was in the shade so we rang reception. and they were only too happy to swap us to another room with a balcony in the sun! we were thrilled!

the location of this hotel is perfect! the rooms are gorgeous, the staff are very friendly!!!

we will be back!!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Director General at NH Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear customer,
I am glad to know that your stay at NH Cartagena has been at the height of your expectations. We hope to continue to provide a high quality service so that your satisfaction is not diminished.
We really thank you for your comments, it is something that helps us to grown and maintain that high standards of the company. Also, I hope to see you very soon for new, do not hesitate to contact us if you have any further question.
Sincere Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews