We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been to a zoo like this before in Europe”

Terra Natura Murcia
Ranked #11 of 92 things to do in Murcia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Terra Natura Murcia is a zoo with animals which come from the AFRICAN SAVANNAH and the IBERIAN PENINSULA. More than 400 animals in a natural and authentic scenery. Do not lose the oportunity of visit the most Murcia's wild section just fifteen minutes of the citycentre. Moreover, you could complete your visit in our acuatipark AQUANATURA during the hottest months in summer.
Santa Pola, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Never been to a zoo like this before in Europe”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Very nice zoo. It is not an ordinary zoo like many others one can see in Europe.

Animals here are somewhat free to co-exist. Not in cells and cages but in open space. You can walk among goats, for instance, literally touch the giraffe, look in the eye the tiger or the bear (if they are not lazy in the shade). Superb experience.

There was a cafeteria and a restaurant - didn't try it though. There are only a couple of vending machines and many picnic areas so maybe you can bring some drinks and food with you to enjoy the nice weather. The weather was nice now but maybe in summer it is too hot with almost no shade, anywhere.

There are often promotions too - now we got a pass for entering the zoo for free until Jan 6. In the summer, i think the ticket is for both the zoo and the water park, or for 3 consecutive days. good experience for adults and children alike.

It took us about 2 hours to see all animals - did not attended any shows though. There are plenty of educational talks at certain times; for sure good for your kids.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    157
    115
    41
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something to do.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The zoo had a wide selection of wild animals, some that we had never seen before, so there was lots to see. If there was somewhere to get a drink from along the way round it would have been better as it's very hot walking around the park as it's quite large. A lovely day out though would definitely recommend... Just make sure you have cool drinks with you!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great couple of days entertainment!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We chose to go to Terra Natura whilst staying in Spain because the weather was uncharacteristically cloudy with a threat of rain, so not pool or beach weather. We went at the end of August and were very pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was. No queues!! This also meant there was no need to hire our own floats as there were plenty we could use that were free.
Our children are 10 and 12; perfect ages for Terra Natura. They went on all the slides and made some use of the lazy river and swimming pool. We didn't go in the lazy river again as there was something floating in it that wasn't very pleasant!!
There is a lovely family atmosphere at Terra Natura and the staff were welcoming and friendly.
It cost us 90 euros on the first day and we had the option to go back on 2 consecutive days. We came back the next day to go to the zoo. This was laid out brilliantly and we bought food to feed some of them with. We stopped for a drink at the Lunatic express which is a very impressive looking new restaurant over looking the animals. Unfortunately the menu was very limited and far too expensive for us to stay for something to eat. We took a picnic on both days we were there. We liked the fact there was a dedicated picnic area which meant that there wasn't food on the floor around where you were swimming or sunbathing.
The highlight of the two days was swimming with the Sea lions - a very special experience for the kids. We were told on entry to the park that our ticket included everything and when we showed our ticket at the Sea lions we were let in. But, when we turned up the next day we were told it was an extra 30 euros each!! The photos of you with a Sea lion was another 6 euros.
Because of the weather we didn't hire sun loungers and we were busy all the time we were there so they would have been a waste of money.
I wouldn't necessarily recommend the park to families with children under 120cm as this would mean not being able to go on any slides and the other swimming activities were limited. They would love the zoo though.
We would go again and it was the highlight of our kids holiday!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 37Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

This water park made our holiday! Paid in once an got 3 days of the park for the 1 price absolutely fabulous went there on opening and left when closing really entertaining for children an lounges for adults even the slides are great for the adults! Overall fab fab fab!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mcguire89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

While staying in Mazzaron Country Club we made a day trip to Terra Natura, Murcia. There was great excitement among the children in advance as the attraction boasted both a zoo and water park.
We visited the zoo first, which was fine. It was an extremely hot and sunny day in mid July and everyone was struggling. One small irritation was that at various points around the trail the refreshment facilities were closed - I would have expected in mid July they would have been in full swing. The odd vending machine was available but we wanted a bit more. To get our snacks/treats we had to make our way back to the entrance area.
The water park was also fine although with kids of 9,6 and 4 there were limitations to what they could entertain themselves with.
Not being well organized we neglected to bring a picnic and headed in to one of the restaurants. A combination of price and food quality drove us straight out. It was awful!
Overall (including a discount ticket given to us by a person we met on the holiday) we got the family of 5 people in for the day for just €50, which to be fair was very good value.
Be aware that you must pay for any sunbeds, floats etc in the waterpark.
We drove for roughly an hour to get there and didn't feel it worth going back the next day for free - in fairness it would have been fantastic value if we had.
Overall, price-wise very good, but entertainment-wise average.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terra Natura Murcia also viewed

 
Murcia, Region of Murcia
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 

Been to Terra Natura Murcia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing