We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right location....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Murcia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The Rincon is a hotel I have used many times over the last 10 years.I have used it for both business and pleasure, staying there with colleagues, family and friends. It's location is the reason for the choice, it is centrally located and everything is with walking distance.Murcia is a city best explored on foot.

I have used other hotels in the city, a hotel is a bed for the night. As I have stayed here many times I always ask for a room on the higher floors, in fact, it is a request I make in most city centre hotels.Business hotels tend to be more noisy during the week, the very nature of a hotel means people are coming and going, not all of us are perfect.

There has been some refurbishment to the rooms over recent years. All rooms have wood floors in the bedroom and tiled bathroom floors, which can be noisy for those beneath, thus the choice of a room on the top floor!!!

The hotel does have a casino, I'm not a gambler but the casino has never been a cause for concern.

I have used both the Barra and the hotel restaurant in the past, although not on my most recent visit. I do always find time to take a drink ot two in the La Muralla bar, which is downstairs and features the old arabic city walls, when full it is a fantastic location and very atmospheric. When empty just enjoy your drink and take in the history.

The front desk staff can be a little brusque, most Spaniards I know tend to get to the point, it can be misconstrued as rude, maybe we British are overly polite.

I've never really had any problems when staying here, I must have used the hotel on close to fifty occasions.

Enjoy the city, it is one of the few undiscovered parts of Spain.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mobile_mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was a very adequate hotel in a wonderfully central location, less than a minute's walk from the cathedral, and maybe a minute and a half from the Glorieta, the central park situated beside the river.
The hotel appears to have been recently refurbished, as there was no evidence anywhere of the worn-out fixtures or fittings that have been mentioned in previous reviews. Instead, the lobby, the rooms and the corridors all appeared to be bright and new. In fact, our room had no mirror at the dressing table or pictures on the wall, suggesting that its refurbishment had been very recently completed. The air conditioniing was fully functioning, and the bathroom was adequate. The TV had plenty of channels, mostly in Spanish, but including BBC World.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, for example giving us directions to a local restaurant when we asked for them. City maps are available free at reception.
The Muralla Bar, on the lower ground floor, contained a part of the ancient city wall, although its cocktail bar style seemed somewhat incongruously modern considering the bar had such an interesting and important relic of the city contained within it.
There is also a casino in the building, and entry is free to residents, as well as which, as a resident, you are given a voucher for a free drink at the casino bar.
The only downside of the hotel would be for those requiring to park a car, as the cost of this was exhorbitant, at 15 Euros per day in October 2011. In fact, it cost us more to park the car than it did to hire it! Also, the car park is located around five minutes walk away. This is understandable, however, as the central city streets were not built for road transport!
Forget about the overpriced breakfasts offered in the hotel, as there are several excellent cafes within a few meters of the front door that will fill you up for a fraction of the cost.
All in all then, this was a fairly good hotel, reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. It's best feature was without doubt its location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfaetrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We chose this hotel because we were only spending one night in Murcia and it was centrally located in town. The hotel itself has seen better days, things are a little worn now. Our room was spacious and clean. We had two double beds squished together to make a king bed. The bathroom was good sized and the shower was hot. I mean, what do you want for $87 USD a night? My biggest complaint was the cigarette smoke pouring in from the room next door and the banging of doors. Other than that it was a decent place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytrails2uall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Some families could find this hotel inappropriate.

High proportion of men using the casino, left mother and daughter feel uncomfortable. the hotel was noisy through the night with doors banging.

We couldn't wait to leave.

The first room we were given smelt unbearably of sewage, the second was better until the loo was flushed.

Goodness knows what the hairdryer had been used for, it smelt AWFUL.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clancy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Stayed here for weekend break. Good standard accommodation in excellent location. Breakfast included in our rate was very good with excellent choice. Only downsize parking charge too expensive and not next to hotel. Did not have dinner in hotel as many restaurants close at hand with excellent Italian La Taglliatella nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Honestly, this is a terrible hotel. Its ok as for room and breakfast but if you try to eat at the restaurant you will be ripped off. They always try to make you order the most expensive course and its hard work to try to avoid the extreme pressure. We ended up paying 80 Euro pr person for meal that I will not say was anything special. It all about the hotel policy. Iternet is extremely expensive, buisness center is completely overpriced and the rooms are not at all 4 star as they claim to be. Conclusion: DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL. IT IS AS CORUPT AS THE CASINO IT HOUSE!!!

Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
4  Thank trygvskiorpio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This hotel is ideally situated close to the cathedral and within walking distance of all the main sites. Our room was small but very comfortable and the bathroom was huge! The complimentary bottle of water had unfortunately been opened and filled with tap water and so had one of the other bottles in the fridge. The hotel immediately changed these for us - hopefully the previous occupant was the person responsible, but housekeeping should have picked up on this. Included in the room rate were complimentary drinks in the Casino, which we decided to try. Good fun and we made enough profit to pay for the somewhat expensive tapas meal we had had in the hotel restaurant that morning (see separate review).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murcia hotels
0.7 mi away
Nelva Hotel
Nelva Hotel
#1 of 28 in Murcia
934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Conde de Floridablanca
0.2 mi away
Occidental Murcia Siete Coronas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Amistad Murcia
NH Amistad Murcia
#5 of 28 in Murcia
838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zenit Murcia
Hotel Zenit Murcia
#11 of 28 in Murcia
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agalia Hotel
Agalia Hotel
#4 of 28 in Murcia
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe

Address: Plaza Apostoles 34, 30001 Murcia, Spain (Formerly NH Rincón de Pepe)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Region of Murcia > Murcia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Murcia
#3 Business Hotel in Murcia
#4 Family Hotel in Murcia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Murcia
Price Range: £48 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in city center, within a short walk from cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Murcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing