We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never to be forgotten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe El Torrao San Juan - MOVED

Pepe El Torrao San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Never to be forgotten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Found this place a bit by accident and will never forget the meal we had! Was a bit early in 'the season' so was quiet but this did not detract from the atmosphere and the service was above and beyond! Chose fillet with blue cheese and this will for ever go down as the BEST steak I have ever had and would go back just to have it again!!!! Waiter was friendly and attentive without being 'over the top'! An amazing meal in a wonderful setting!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    71
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“very good local restaurant ... great rices and fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

During a trip from Madrid to La Manga (Murcia) we stopped in the city to do some sightseing and went to this restaurant following the recommendations from tripadvisor. It was a gret choice and we enjoyed a very good meal. They are specialised in fresh fish and rices (paellas) and also fresh vegetables coming from the "garden of Europe" (Murcia). We really enjoyed all of the dishes that we ordered, with special mention to the rice with seafood and lubina. The environment is smart casual with outdoor seating (covered) or inside. The staff is very friendly and the owner tries to make sure that all guests are happy with the meal. We will come back if we return to Murcia.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
527 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,270 helpful votes
“Outside in October.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

The square in which this restaurant is located, is always busy there are many restaurants and bars competing for trade. I had not eaten here for sometime,we choose it because it was the only one with free seating outside.

It was a balmy October evening, what better than dining Alfresco. I had been in Spain a couple of days, with meetings each day and some hearty Spanish lunches, the choice was easy Steak amplied supported by some red wine. No starters, no messing about, let the big fella see the the prize.It took all my will power to dodge the classic combo, Jamon y Queso,but give two days of Spanish hospitality, something had to give.

Food and service were excellent, there was even a fire eater in the Plaza that night. I won't wait so long before going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mobile_mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We come regularly to Murcia/Mar Menor and when we are not here I dream about tapas at this place, sat inside with a glass of wine, great service it never lets you down. Let them recommend something and go slow, 2 tapas at a time and use your imagination, look at what others are having and what fresh ingredients are in the chiller. Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulyCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant location, good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This restaurant is in the Plaza San Juan, and we sat outside as it was a hot July evening. We got there about 10:30pm and decided against the tasting menu as being too much food for that time of the evening, so instead we chose from the menu. At first we were a bit concerned that the restaurant wasn't very busy, but by 11:30pm the terrace had filled up! Good, tasty food, good portion sizes, wide selection of wines and at a good price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juli_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepe El Torrao San Juan also viewed

Murcia, Region of Murcia
 
Murcia, Region of Murcia
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 
Murcia, Region of Murcia
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing