We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special, luxurious and friendly.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio Guendulain

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Special, luxurious and friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute and did not know what to expect, we were mainly attracted to it's central location. It was a very pleasant surprise!

The foyer is spectular and grand (as is the rest of the building). We were greeted with friendly, helpful and English speaking service.

Our room (a suite?) was huge and beautifully appointed. The decor is modern and fresh but in keeping with the history of the building. Two balconies provide plenty of natural light. The chaise lounge was the perfect spot to read a book or watch goings on in the square below. The bathroom was spectacular! We loved the bath salts, the rain shower and the proper hairdryer!

Complimentary items in the mini bar and turn down service with chocolates were the little things that made the stay so lovely.

We didnt stay in high season and thought the rate was very reasonable. Don't hesitate in booking this place. We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCandTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    55
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
138
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel. We had a superior room and had lots of space, a very reasonably sized bathroom and a balcony, which was a bonus we didn't expect. The room was stylishly decorated as was the hotel. We wanted a quiet location and we certainly had this.
The service was professional and friendly and the staff helpful.
Soft drinks were complementary from the minibar. Not usual but a lovely touch and much appreciated.
The hotel does serve breakfast and other meals. Otherwise there are lots of bars and restaurants in the area. The hotel staff recommended Otano's and the Europa. Excellent choices.
The hotel is very well located and well deserves its 4 star rating.
If you have a car, parking is available around the corner in an underground car park at around 17 Euros a day. A little expensive I thought but seems to be the going rate.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Positioned in the heart of the old city. Great place to stay. Spacious rooms with king bed & a lovely bathroom. Pleasant staff, clean & beautifully furnished. Restaurant meal was outstanding with excellent service. Highly recommend. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItineraryAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Beautiful hotel. We had room 204 which was larger than most with a huge bathroom. Great service from the reception and door staff. Only tiny gripe was that breakfast is partly served rather than buffet with few staff which can make it a bit slow. Very reasonable room service costs. Nice bar next door. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbleandchic78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We visited during the famed San Fermin fiesta when Pamplona (iruna) parties big time and is possibly the worst time to visit any hotel, except it wasn't!!!!

Palacio Guendulain is just about 1 year old and it feels like it....in a good way. Great service, comfortable luxurious bedrooms, excellent beds and the chaise longue in ours a nice touch, good mini bar and quiet...even during one of the biggest parties in europe.

The location couldn't be better, a comfortable "we can easily get back if we forget something" distance to the excellent city sights, bars and restaurants. we often did go back for a siesta or to relax in the attractive rear courtyard next door to their house champagne bar!

On our final night we stood on one of the Palacio's balconies overlooking the square and listened to the sublime sound of Pamplonese locals and tourists joining in song right in front of the hotel. A touching and uplifting choral experience not to be missed.

if I have one very minor criticism it would be that the breakfast room, whilst serene was a little lacking in atmosphere and the service sometimes slow.

Overall though a very enjoyable, beautiful city centre hotel with well planned serenely quiet rooms.

Top tip: the guide books will tell you everything goes deathly quiet in the days immediately following San Fermin...that wasn't our experience. A few bars and restaurants were closed, but it was a nice contrast to the madness of San Fermin and lovely to see things in a different more laid back light.

Foot note: i have only given it 3 stars for value as they really do hike the prices for San Fermin (as does most everywhere) outside of this I would suggest their prices are 5 star reasonable (so five stars).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabbitpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

beautiful hotel, great staff/service. very quiet cozy hotel few rooms so much more private.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexTiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

This hotel far exceeds other 4 star hotels in Europe! It is a luxurious boutique hotel in heart of Pamplona. Rooms are beautifully decorated, very spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and included in our room rate ( it would be 15 Euro if not included). Friendly and efficient staff, too.

Room Tip: Booked through Expedia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DML_Lexington_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel La Perla
Gran Hotel La Perla
#3 of 37 in Pamplona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#7 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
1.1 mi away
AlmaPamplona Muga de Beloso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#6 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#9 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#4 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Guendulain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Guendulain

Property: Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Address: Calle Zapateria 53, 31001, Pamplona, Spain
Region: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio Guendulain 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 18th century by D. Sebastian de Eslava, Viceroy of New Granada, Palacio Guendulain is one of the most prominent buildings in Pamplona, located in the old part of town. Palacio Guendulain offers its guests a unique balance between the comfort of a modern luxury hotel and the history and charm of an emblematic 18th century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Palacio Guendulain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing