We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for Royalty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A place for Royalty!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Palacio was wonderful! Actually is a small palace! Room was spacious with beautiful furnishings, and meticulously clean! Very interesting and fun just to tour the hotel. Antiques within the hotel and outside in back courtyard. Comfortable lounge to relax after a day of sightseeing in Pamplona. Also, can be served out in back courtyard. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful!
Breakfast was very good with large selection of fresh fruits, omelets, pastries, etc. Very good coffee!
Location is also very good; within walking distance of "bull run" and cathedral, and main Plazas. So happy I chose this hotel, instead of the other one I was considering.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAO738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    56
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
144
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This place really did it for me. From the arrival, the incredibly efficient check-in and the personal attention at all times, I was seriously impressed. Basically this place is a bargain for the level of service and attention to details. They parked my car, took my cases up to the room, and even offered a turn-down service where they make sure the beds are just right and place a little cake on the pillow just in case you're in need of a last bite before falling asleep in a most comfortable bed. Breakfast was a little pricey at 17 Euros each, but it is pretty good. We had dinner on one of our nights we stayed, and this was excellent. The hake and veal were both delicious, and the chosen wine to accompany was superb. Again all good value for the standard of food and service. Unsurprisingly, the place is also a favoured location for wedding receptions, by the way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is the perfect place to stay in old Pamplona. The property is exceptional, hyper clean, very pleasant staff, rooms are well-appointed, and the common rooms are furnished with antiques. A small collection of antique carriages are displayed. The location is ideal. This hotel can be recommended without reservation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChappySumRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed one night of our tour of Spain, it was a truly beautiful hotel, the whole hotel was immaculate, fabulously furnished, and decoration was some of the best I've seen in the world.
Would most certainly recommend it to all my friends.
Will stay at this hotel again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce180852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

As others mentioned earlier, we felt like royalty. The hotel and grounds have been lovingly restored/upgraded and the carriages and cars are beautifully displayed.
The room was elegant with a great king bed, good hot shower and all amenities necessary including bedtime cookies. The staff was welcoming and even arranged for a special blood test my husband needed. The location is great and no need for a car. My only "complaint" is that we were driving and using a GPS. When close to the hotel we noticed a sign pointing out the direction, but when we should have made a final right turn, there was no sign at all and we drove past the turn. They sent a staff member to accompany us for the lengthy and confusing return. Breakfast was much nicer than most we have encountered in Spain. We would definitely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As we approached the hotel on arrival, the door was opened for us and we were greeted by the bell boy who took our cases from us and whisked them up to our room whilst the receptionist checked us in. By the time we were checked in, the bell boy was back to escort us to our room and give us some history about the hotel and it's collection of historic carriages and cars. He then produced a map, on which he proceeded to point out the best places to eat and visit during our stay. We took his advice and we had a great couple of days in Pamplona. Our room was very nice (the green room featured on the website) and the beds comfortable. The hotel itself was very quiet- a bit like being in a library in the public areas! We had the breakfast buffet on the first morning. The trolley was kept fully stocked at all times. From the menu, we recommend the tomatoes in oil to have with toast. They don't make poached eggs though- we asked, but they only did boiled, fried or scrambled. The hotel is perfectly situated to explore the beautiful old town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev_D13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We arrived in Pamplona wet to the skin and muddy - we were on the pilgrimage walk and this was our stop point after days of snow and hail at the end of spring. My husbands walking shoes were so bad he took them off in the foyer and threw them in the bin - this beautiful elegant hotel welcomed us, washed our clothes instantly and we felt like royalty. The beds and rooms extremely comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff extremely friendly. Also the Hotel is in a great location and beautifully appointed. We spent an extra day here to rest and recover. The hotel organised an in room massage, well worth it!!. Gauchos is also around the corner - the best Pintxos (Tapas) ever!!!!

Room Tip: If you are on the pilgrimage walk worth getting a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieSydney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
0.0 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#6 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel La Perla
Gran Hotel La Perla
#3 of 37 in Pamplona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alma Pamplona Muga de Beloso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#10 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#7 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#4 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Guendulain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Guendulain

Property: Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Address: Calle Zapateria 53, 31001, Pamplona, Spain
Region: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio Guendulain 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 18th century by D. Sebastian de Eslava, Viceroy of New Granada, Palacio Guendulain is one of the most prominent buildings in Pamplona, located in the old part of town. Palacio Guendulain offers its guests a unique balance between the comfort of a modern luxury hotel and the history and charm of an emblematic 18th century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palacio Guendulain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing