We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great central hotel”
Review of Maisonnave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maisonnave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

everything about this hotel was wonderfull excellent rooms wonderful staff and great food.The hotel provided secure underground parking (pay) which was well worth the cost. This hotel is right in the centre of the old town of Pamplona and all major attractions are an easy walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for Maisonnave Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for just one night. The room was contemporary, clean and comfortable, wooden floors (which I prefer to carpet.) Comfy bed, really everything you would expect. Wifi was free, but a bit hit and miss in the room (Ok on the toilet curiously).

The staff were very helpful.

I will however focus on the food!!!! We were enroute to France, so fancied Pamplona as a stop over. Its a nice town worth a visit, but by early evening we hadn't spotted a restaurant we fancied so decided to try the hotel grub.

The restaurant is not huge and being early was fairly empty. I expected standard fare, but was I wrong! We had the menu del dia, three courses plus wine and coffee. Whilst we waited they served us an samll appetizer of soup in a shot glass. For a starter we had a faux rice (fresh pasta) dish with gorgonzola and roasted goats cheese salad. I wish I knew what they did to the goats cheese, it was fabulous. We went and bought some pasta to try and recreate the faux rice at home.

For main we had a cod dish and a beef steak dish. Both were exceptional and washed down with a bottle of house red, really good. We both had a cheese mousse dessert, very light and fluffy, then coffee, served with chocolates.

Service was attentive and very professional. A lovely experience.
Heres the good bit, the whole meal was 21 euros (each). I thought this was stunning value.

Breakfast was included, there was a wide choice of standard cold meats etc plus warm food. My fave was a leg of ham from which I carved what I wanted.

Would I stay again...you bet, would I eat there again? Absolutely.

The hotel has its own underground parking nearby. If you have heavy bags you can drive to the front door, however it is a one way street, so you have to go around the block to get back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was a larger hotel than many that we are staying in on the camino but was very well done, and the rooms were clean and modern. Great value and nice amenities but we didn't really use them as the nearby tapas bars beckoned. Easy to find on the Camino.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelownatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This is a great spot right in the heart of Pamplona. The hotel has a sort of old school charm. Our room was small but stylish, perfect for a one night stay. The staff were helpful and it was nice to be right around the corner from some good food and drink. A nice stay in a cool part of Spain.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank towertumbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We wrapped up a 3-week vacation of Spain in Pamplona just in time for the Festival of San Fermin. Who knew running with the bulls was on my husband's bucket list? The prices during this time are very high, but we wanted to be close to the action and not break the bank. The Maisonnaive was perfect, located a few blocks from several main squares, restaurants and shops, the bull ring, and most importantly, the bull run.

The hotel itself is located on a side street and has an inviting lobby and bar area. Our room was quite spacious for European standards with a charming view of nearby rooftops. We were right over the street at the front which was crazy 24/7 but once the windows were closed we slept well. We had a perfect view of the nightly fireworks show.

The front desk staff was fantastic especially in recommending local restaurants when we wanted to get out of the ruckus. The bellman at the front were outstanding, polite and friendly, even during the craziest times. One even ran after our cab for us (he was unable to get to the hotel because of the crowds). The hotel restaurant was a welcome change from the spring break atmosphere. The setting was elegant, the wine list was extensive, and the food was delicious with some interesting choices we'd never tried before.

As I said, the hotel is in a perfect location, especially if you really want to experience San Fermin. But we also left the immediate area and were able to find some quiet spaces to sip sangria and eat tapas.

San Fermin is exactly what you expect: a massive spring break party with everyone dressed in white and red (although we passed on that particular tradition and were fine). Sangria is flying through the air, folks break into impromptu song, bands are playing constantly. Yes, there is A LOT of inebriation, but we were there for 3 days and didn't see one fight. If you know what's up, you can really enjoy it. It was not my thing but my husband had the time of his life. He staked out the bull run for the first two days, and joined in on the third. I slept through it all. So, I can recommend the Maisonnaive both for the adventurous and the sleepy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We booked this hotel based on reviews and location. Myself and my husband shared a large triple/quad room with our daughter who is starting uni in Pamplona. The room was spacious with a double and a double sofa bed round the corner in a large L shaped room with 3 windows on the top floor with good views. It was opposite the gym. It was very quiet and clean. Lovely bedding and towels etc. But ..... there was no mirror in the main room and the dressing area (wardrobes etc) was part of the bathroom. There was also no tea/coffee facilities and the wifi in the room was intermittent at best. The location was great, very central but quiet, the staff were helpful. We did use the cafe but not the restaurant/breakfast. You can get a great coffee and huge danish for breakfast at any one the numerous cafes for about 2.50 euros (or less).

Room Tip: We were in 601, quiet and spacious, great for a family
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

In august we stayed 2 nights in this very good located hotel, the room was very
quiet, the breakfast perfect and the inhouse restaurant was super !
They where so proud of the wine from the region that they even refused payment
for it !! We will come back for sure, Hugo from Utrecht

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugoarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
1.1 mi away
Alma Pamplona Muga de Beloso
1.0 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#5 of 38 in Pamplona
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#9 of 38 in Pamplona
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel La Perla
Gran Hotel La Perla
#3 of 38 in Pamplona
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit Pamplona
Hotel Zenit Pamplona
#7 of 38 in Pamplona
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#8 of 38 in Pamplona
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maisonnave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maisonnave Hotel

Address: Calle Nueva 20, 31001, Pamplona, Spain
Region: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pamplona
#4 Business Hotel in Pamplona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pamplona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pamplona
Price Range: £72 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maisonnave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Maisonnave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maisonnave Hotel Pamplona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing