We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay for a night”
Review of Maisonnave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maisonnave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Okay for a night”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we were only one night in Pamplona for the running of the bulls. arrived at the hotel after 2 and we were told our room would be ready in 20 minutes, so we went for a wander and a few drinks, came back about 45 minutes later to find the room still wasn't ready. Being hungry we decided to try out the restaurant, not a chance, although the majority of the tables were empty the 'doorman' said no availability, off we went for another drink!!
Once we made it into the room it was ok, nothing special, clean and overlooking the front. 2 single beds pushed together, not quite what I expect in a supposed 5* establishment.
on our later wanderings we picked up local numbers for balcony rental and asked the hotel if they could call for us - my Spanish is ok but not good enough for phone calls! Instead of making the call they told us they have a deal with a guy who has an apartment with balconies, so we booked that instead, glad we did, he was a really nice friendly old man called Javier, he made us very welcome, provided coffee and biscuits and his balcony was on Estafeta so we had a great view

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piglet_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    461
    91
    19
    5
See reviews for
176
410
42
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from 3 nights at Hotel Maisonnave during the running with the bulls and this is the place to be. Its all about location and crowd and this is where its at. You are next to everything, restaurants, bars, the running is right down the street. The rooms are a little small but nothing different than other hotel rooms in Europe. The service is great and the staff is very helpful during the festival as things are fairly crazy, they are helpful and keep the property fairly secure with people at all entrances checking who enters. Rooms are a little basic but if you want a clean, nice, great staff in a prime location this is the place for you.

Room Tip: stay off the main street for San Fermin so you can try and get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MK75NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent only one night here.The hotel is right in the "parte vieja" in a quieter area, very convenient: you can walk everywhere. The rooms are quite small considering the category, at least the one we were given: we got one on the first floor with basically no view. The subterranean parking (14 euros) is very close. Concierge not very attentive but no particular complain on the service. Bottom line good quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marconap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent location (walk everywhere), clean hotel with good sized rooms. Friendly staff. Interior perfectly fine if a little impersonal compared with other hotels of this class.

The hotel parking, while welcome, is a very tight underground space so you will need confident parking skills. Also note there is stairs only when you want to get out so it may be an idea to drop off your luggage first.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discovering_the_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel by chance what a gem, great location, good room, clean and great service. Will come back here again ..... If Pamplona is a stop at a reasonable price book this hotel. Parking extra but worth it.....

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymondo838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I don't like crowds and I don't like bulls - not the perfect recipe for visiting Pamplona you might think...but what the world forgets is this city of 200,000 people is alive and well outside of its famous bull run festival of San Fernan. It has great places to eat, a wonderful cathedral and the Navarre museum and is a joy to walk around, especialy with the views from the ramparts.
Hotel Maisonnave is very convenient being centrally placed and is blessed by its own car park for residents, just a stones throw underground. I don't believe this hotel is truly a 4 star as it maintains, but it is clean, has a free gym, use of safe and 24 hour security.
The rooms are comfortable, although we could do with some art on those dull beige walls and maybe a better satellite dish to improve the TV signal. There is aircon to the room which is a bonus. The buffet breakfast is a bargain at 12 Euros, and less if you eat in the well lit cafeteria next door.
Value for money is great as our double room for a Saturday night in June was just 85 Euros, but if you really must go when every inch of cobble-stone is packed with drunks and the bulls chase you down the streets, expect to pay arund 400 Euros per night!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here on the recommendation of our previous accommodtion because it was one of the Posadas del Camino. This hotel was a good, four star hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean, it was close to the centre of Pamplona. The breakfast sounded pricey to us, so we went to their bar/cafe in the hotel and had a perfectly adequate (for Spain) cafe con leche and tostada.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
1.1 mi away
Alma Pamplona Muga de Beloso
0.2 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#7 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#4 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#9 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel La Perla
Gran Hotel La Perla
#3 of 37 in Pamplona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
#5 of 37 in Pamplona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maisonnave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maisonnave Hotel

Property: Maisonnave Hotel
Address: Calle Nueva 20, 31001, Pamplona, Spain
Region: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pamplona
#4 Family Hotel in Pamplona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pamplona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maisonnave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maisonnave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maisonnave Hotel Pamplona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing